Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie in top form on (maybe) his last tour
This is an excellent performance from Bowie's Reality tour filmed in Dublin in the autumn of 2003. Bowie is in top form, and is accompanied by a band that may be his best ever. The audience is very enthusiastic, and the song list is long and very well put together with many of the well-known classics (Fame, "Heroes", Ziggy Stardust), some very good oldies that are not so...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bowie
Quite a good DVD with good sound and decent song selection.The band is very good and Bowie is in quite good form.I am not sure about the filming,the lighting and the way the cameras were used.Perhaps I am getting old.Knowing DB since the 70's I never have a chance to see him live.Old films and videos are now quite amateurish and I always like these new DVDs qualitywise...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by Vasilios Pandis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie in top form on (maybe) his last tour, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is an excellent performance from Bowie's Reality tour filmed in Dublin in the autumn of 2003. Bowie is in top form, and is accompanied by a band that may be his best ever. The audience is very enthusiastic, and the song list is long and very well put together with many of the well-known classics (Fame, "Heroes", Ziggy Stardust), some very good oldies that are not so well known (Fantastic Voyage for example), a couple of really interesting reworkings (Loving the Alien is fantastic in its downstripped version), and several songs from Bowie's later work that I really appreciate like Hello Spaceboy, I'm Afraid of Amercians and several tracks from the brilliant and IMO instant classic Heathen. The performance is maybe slightly less theatrical than on some of Bowie's earlier tours, but there is still plenty of stuff going on on stage to watch. Some people don't like the somewhat busy and trendy editing, but I think it suits the performance.

I saw Bowie twice on this tour, both times in Oslo. The first time was indoors about a month before this was filmed, and I must say this dvd is very close to how I remember it. The last concert was at the very end of the tour in a park. That concert was probably even better. Sadly, Bowie suffered a heart attack only a couple of weeks after that, and I doubt that he will ever undertake such a major tour again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie and the band in greatest ever form., 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The Reality Tour dvd would be the single best way to showcase the talents of David Bowie and this fabulous band. Many artists look back on their best years, but Bowie seems to have aged better than any, capturing a youthful performance of his oldest and newest hits in one concert. Filmed perfectly and sound enhanced to the highest quality, you can almost feel the sensation of being there yourself, and to be entertained in this way by a master of his craft surrounded by top musicians, friends and colleagues makes this a special album. Best advice is to buy it yourself and relax with what will become a classic collection in it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Bowie A reality Tour, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Amazing DVD well worth the money, brought this as a present for my partner he loved it, picture quality is excellent, sound is brilliant, would recommend this to any David Bowie fan, brilliant production as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Live!, 12 July 2014
By 
Stotzy (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It is hard to believe that Bowie was in his mid-50's at the time of this concert because his voice has never sounded better than it does here! He is at his imperious best & his band aren't too shabby either! He mixes his classics with newer material from 'Heathen' & 'Reality' & it's all wonderful stuff! The highlight is a spine tingling duet with bassist, Gail Ann Dorsey on Under Pressure!

You don't have to be a fan of Bowie's to enjoy this, just a fan of great live music!..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 2 May 2013
By 
T. KELLY "timjkelly23" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bowie in one of his last ever concerts and at the top of his game. Picture quality is great for a DVD and the sound is excellent. Buy this DVD and enjoy the legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top Bowie, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this for a friend who is a big Bowie fan and although he has all of his records/cd/tapes etc does not usually buy dvd's as he prefers to attend concerts in person. He was not able to get tickets for this concert but did manage tickets for London the very next night where unfortunately the concert was curtailed by half an hour due to Bowie having exhausted his voice at the Dublin gig.

This concert dvd was well received and enjoyed as the live atmosphere was captured extensively and Bowie seemed to be having a ball. Sound and picture quality is excellent and at some 140 mins long extremely good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concert, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Sound and picture quality were good. Good mixture of tracks. Well worth the money. Good example of Bowie late on in his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Bowie A reality tour, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
definitely recommend this if you want a laid back jeans and tee bowie. all the old faves at an informal gig different to Ziggy but just as good. would buy more tour dvds or vhs on strength of this. been great to see at the V&A. Heroes is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie on top form, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was very sceptical when I heard this was to be released and the amount of songs included in the set lit, wondering how Bowies stamina would last throughout a 2 hour and 20 minute show....well I need'nt have worried. From the opening bars of "Rebel Rebel" tastefully reworked here to the closing "Ziggy Stardust" I was captured and enthralled by his performance. Looking lean and like a guy at the peak of health, his energy and zeal put into every song made for an arresting show ( having seen Tina Turner previously it just goes to show that the older rockers can give the new ones a run for their money ) he genuinely looked like he was having a good time not like some of his contemparies who moan and mumble through out a performance. Highlights for me, "Hang on to yourself", "Heathen .. such a beautiful haunting synth line, "Reality" "The Loneliest Guy in the world" " Hallo Spaceboy" much better than the PSB collaboration here, original outside version and Gayle Anne Dorsey duetting on Under Pressue absolutley phenomenal boy can that girl sing....

With a tight band, great visuals, Bowie at his electric best and an over enthusiastic Irish Audience this is well worth watching... now if only he will announce those Tour dates for "The Next Day".... fingers crossed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greate, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Great video. I bought this along with the mp3 reality tour. There is nothing I can fault about the gig/video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008]
David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] by David Bowie (DVD - 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews