Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars79
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2009
We did a lot of research before buying this our first coffee maker.Very happy with it,only one small complaint - it's quite hard to remove the filter basket from the holder. Easily fits two cups on the grid which can be kept warm on the top of the machine.Pleased with our coffees and can also make great hot chocolate with the frothy milk.We tend to use espresso pods for convenience. More choice buying these on line where you can get double-shot pods as well as single-shot.One word of warning though - never forget to use the filter basket with a pod.Very messy, it's amazing just how far the coffee travels!
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
The Baby is a very smart-looking machine, in a plastic housing with metal accents (The front metal panel is a purely decorative plate stuck to the plastic housing) - The build quality feels excellent despite my personal preference for metal.
Having previously had an old metal bodied Gaggia, I was quite pleased to find how much quieter the newer model is.
The back water-reservoir is removable and easy to refill, complete with a fold-down carry handle. I was impressed by the ingenious touch of a valve in the base that seals it whenever it's removed from the machine.
The only minor - and it's very minor - issue is that while the pump and steam switches are on the front, the main power button is tucked around the back.
All-in-all, an excellent machine.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
I've had my Gaggia Baby Coffee Maker for over a year. It gets used 2-3 times a week for morning coffee.

For the money, it's the best on the market. Professional standard head and heavy chromed brass holder, unequalled at this price point, and the heavy duty innards mean this coffee maker outperforms anything in the same price bracket - excellent espresso, lots of steam for milk frothing. The controls are simple and easy to use and it feels much more solid than any competitor.

Lots of really clever little features - The (generously sized) water reservoir, with its flip-up handle and the two dimples in the reservoir cover to lift it off, illustrate the Italian love of elegant but functional design nicely.

Quibbles? It can leak a little water into the drip tray (I understand this is normal), the removable crema pin in the holder is tiny and easy to loose in the washing up - and if you don't include it the machine will squirt coffee out at either side. However, it does mean that it is easy to clean the holder properly - this isn't possible in competitor devices where the attenuator for the coffee flow is built-in and non-detachable. All-in-all, this machine is very practical and cleverly designed for easy use and cleaning.

Some people have criticised this machine for having a plastic body but in practice it is very rugged and easier to keep clean (especially finger marks and grease) than a metal finish.

Strongly recommended if you want a simple, elegant, no-nonsense, high quality coffee machine at a good price.
22 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
We bought 1 of these a couple of years ago. It makes great coffee & is easy to use. However, yesterday the pump stopped working. We've been told it's probably due to the failure of a substandard part that Phillips substituted after they bought Gaggia. Total repair cost approx. same as buying a new machine. So if you want a machine that won't have a major breakdown after 2-3 years avoid this 1.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
This is the second Gaggia I have owned. Reliability is a problem. The latest machine is being repaired for the second time in 18 months.
So far it has been 2 months and we are still waiting. Apparently a circuit board was required from Italy???
The Phillips repair centre has not replied to my last email 2 weeks ago.I will not buy another Gaggia.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Looks very good, but intermittent faulty switch right from out of the box. Threw away the box and used it so couldn't be bothered to return it to Amazon. May well pursue through warranty. disappointed
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Ok, we've owned this for about 2 years now, and we have a wall timer which turns it on at 6;30 every morning, so it's pre-warmed ready to go.

It has worked flawlessly in all that time, but note the following;

Get a good descaler and put it through at least bi-monthly, this will stop the insides clogging up.

Buy a decent 52mm metal tamper, and throw away the crappy plastic one - it's a waste of time!

Next, get a proper 52mm filter basket for the portafilter, a decent fine one, and forget the silly pressurised ones and the silly Crema device.

Now buy good fresh coffee and either grind it yourself with a burr grinder (not a blade grinder) to very finely ground or get a roaster to grind it for you, almost to a powder, you can't really buy this from the high street! Check out hasbean.co.uk for proper coffee and they will grind it for you if you want them to (you'll never go back to pre-packed)

Do all this and you will have beautiful fresh tasting coffee that knocks the socks of Starbucks!

So 4* for the machine, because it is a professional machine with ameteur fittings. Get a decent filter basket and tamper and you're all set!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I never used the machine much.
After about 5 months it started spitting water and steam out all over the place through the coffee dispenser.
I recently bought a new cradle for it but that hasn't fixed the problem.
So, now I'm left with a rather expensive kitchen ornament.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
I was given this for Christmas and for the first few weeks it made great coffee but sprayed EVERYWHERE!

After a little research I see that Gaggia have increased the pressure of the machine to cope with new coffee pods and this means you need to use the "perfect crema device" in the bottom of the fitler holder. I put this little plastic device in there and it behaved perfectly!

There's nothing about this in the manual.

Italians!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
The unit came with pressure filters, I put them straight in the drawer. I spent $10 on a standard commercial 58mm double shot basket and also use a porlex tall hand grinder with good beans to get a beautiful fine espresso grind. I also got a decent stainless tamper as the included plastic tamp is fine for the pressure filters only.

Once you've got the procedure memorised, preheat, flush, grind, tamp, shot, steam preheat, steam flush, milk you'll consistently produce awesome coffee. In this case you shouldn't blame the tool.

Remember, the internals are identical to the Gaggia Classic, build quality is really solid and we like the black abs plastic look.. Amazons delivery efficiency was also fantastic.

The only thing left that I might do is retrofit a rancilio silvia steam wand together really good microfoam. But that can wait as the default wand is doing a pretty good job once mastered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)