Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An early Sinatra and Gene Kelly gem
This film is a veritable cornucopia of music and dance for most of its 140 minutes. The story concerns two sailors (Frank Sinatra, Gene Kelly) on leave in Los Angeles where they meet up with the lovely Kathryn Grayson as a budding classical singer. They rescue her young nephew when he goes walkabout in the city. She is keen to audition for Jose Iturbi (playing himself),...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars anchors aweigh
i was unable to watch the dvd was not aware i could not watch it in england when i received the item it stated that it was not for retail in the uk so this should not have been sent to me very dissapointed with it a waste of money
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by margaret 23


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An early Sinatra and Gene Kelly gem, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [1945] (DVD)
This film is a veritable cornucopia of music and dance for most of its 140 minutes. The story concerns two sailors (Frank Sinatra, Gene Kelly) on leave in Los Angeles where they meet up with the lovely Kathryn Grayson as a budding classical singer. They rescue her young nephew when he goes walkabout in the city. She is keen to audition for Jose Iturbi (playing himself), who displays a gentle, laconic style in his responses to the comments of Chip (Sinatra) whom he is supposed to know but in fact has never before met. The plot is insubstantial but the music is lovely and the dances quite spectacular. In his Spanish dance, to the tune of La Cumparsita by Rodriguez, Kelly looks more like Errol Flynn or Douglas Fairbanks as he hurtles acrobatically around the set. Kelly does a second Spanish dance with little Sharon McManus, but perhaps the most original dance is of Kelly with Jerry (of Tom and Jerry) to a Sammy Fain and Ralph Freed number called The Worry Song - a masterful bit of animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gene And Frank, A Smash Together!!!, 5 July 2001
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [VHS] (VHS Tape)
With this being the film that launched Frank Sinatra to major things for MGM, this proves to be a great classic musical that hits all the right spots. Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra play two sailors on shore leave and who both fall for the same woman. Cue some great song and dance numbers by the pair, together and apart. Kathryn Grayson is also excellent as the female lead with also some great songs to sing. Also, watch out for the much celebrated sequence with Gene Kelly partnering Jerry the mouse (from Tom & Jerry). All in all, an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL TRIP TO 1945!, 29 May 2014
By 
E. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [DVD] [1945] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A wonderful trip to my childhood. I loved it in 1945 and I was happy to see it again today. What a personality Gene Kelly was! Frank Sinatra and Kathrin Grayson were very enjoyable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank is tap dancing, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [DVD] [1945] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Anchor's Aweigh has Kathryn Grayson singing, Dean Stockwell looking cute and a young Frank Sinatra tap dancing with Gene Kelly...a very entertaining movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anchors Aweigh (1945), 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [1945] (DVD)
I collect DVDs of Musical Films and this is one that I did not have, so that is why I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for good song lovers, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [1945] (DVD)
if your a sinatra fan a song and dance fan and love to hear one of most beautiful female singers ever this film is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars anchors aweigh, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [DVD] [1945] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i was unable to watch the dvd was not aware i could not watch it in england when i received the item it stated that it was not for retail in the uk so this should not have been sent to me very dissapointed with it a waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dancing servicemen, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Anchors Aweigh [1945] (DVD)
Gene Kelly appears here as one of two sailors, with Frank Sinatra playing second fiddle and losing out to Gene in wooing Kathryn Grayson. Gene is usually part of a trio when he plays a serviceman (On the Town, It's Always Fair Weather). The Gerry the Mouse sequence is the usual MGM gimmick for providing Gene with something different, as with roller skates and dustbin lids in 'It's always Fair Weather'and a newspaper in 'Summer Stock'. Columbia had done the same with Gene's 'alter ego' dance in 'Cover Girl'. The main problem with dancers is that without gimmicks they become boring and repetitive. Curiously I don't find this the case when watching Fred Astaire. The black and white format at RKO has a style of its own. But with colour you need gimmicks, as seen with Astaire dancing with his split images in Paramount's 'Blue Skies'. Without Kathryn Grayson this film would be a disaster. The relationship between Gene and Frank is characterless when comparing it with Fred and Bing in 'Blue Skies'. But Gene is good with children, whether it's Dean Stockwell or the kids in 'American in Paris'. For all its minor blemishes one has to remember that this film is a vehicle for Grayson, Kelly and Frank, the last-mentioned being introduced as a sop for the bobby-soxers. If you are looking for a plot, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anchors Aweigh [DVD] [1945] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
4.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews