Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missa Luba - World Music at it's best
As a teenager in the sixties, George Harrison and Brian Jones introduced most of us to what is now known as World Music. No sooner had we listened to Indian Ragas and Morroccan pipes and realised that there was more to music than blue eyed soul when Missa Luba came along. Of course "If" made the album popular, but it was and still is a major milestone in International...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by Terence Custance

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back after 40 years
It is hard now to remember the subversive nature of the film "If.." when it came out in the 1960s, but certainly one thing which made it so memorable was the use of Sanctus from Missa Luba. We bought the record at the time, and it stands out as a childhood memory. Reminded now of Missa Luba by listening to Missa Criolla, I was delighted to find a new release of the...
Published on 1 May 2008 by S. P. Rahtz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missa Luba - World Music at it's best, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
As a teenager in the sixties, George Harrison and Brian Jones introduced most of us to what is now known as World Music. No sooner had we listened to Indian Ragas and Morroccan pipes and realised that there was more to music than blue eyed soul when Missa Luba came along. Of course "If" made the album popular, but it was and still is a major milestone in International music and an album that stands head and shoulders above what we had listened to before and a lot since. This is not just nostalgia, but a recording that gets stronger with every listening. The voices of Les Troubadours du Roi Baudouin reach such an addictive high, that it's difficult not to sing along, although I haven't got a clue what the words are! The absolute innocence and freedom that the whole album reflects, leaves the listener in no doubt that they have just heard one of the most uplifting albums that they are ever going to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sanctus is wonderful, 21 Mar 2010
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
Fabulous album, wonderful sound, very moving. The Sanctus is just amazing. I thought I had lost track of this and it is very good to hear it again. If you like Ladysmith, you may even like this more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missa Luba, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. S. Lord (Haslingden England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
Not much to say on this one. It's not for everyone but if you have seen the film IF then I think that you will remember the music. It is very haunting and a little unusual and tends to stay with you long after the film has finished. Check it out on you tube. Me I love it and would recommend this to any one with an eclectic taste in music as it is very hard to categorise.
Hope this review helps and remember listen without prejudice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 12 May 2009
By 
J. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
I am delighted with this CD as I can no longer play my old LP of this recording by Les Troubadours Du Roi Baudouin. It is like meeting up again with an old friend after many years. Music which cannot fail to lift the spirits. The original - and best - recording of this work, sung as it should be sung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars African rhythms for the Mass, 12 Feb 2009
By 
L. Moss - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
This an old favourite and still as beautiful, inspiring and energising as it was when I first heard it in the 70s. It is a glorious blend of the Christian mass and the invigorating rhythms of West Africa, and gives a real lift to the spirits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missa Luba, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
So glad to be able to get a CD of a vinyl record I have had and loved through most of my life since near the time it became available first. Interesting to learn from the sleeve more about the life of the music during that time, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Choral Delight, 12 Dec 2010
By 
D. M. Robertson "Douglas in the Basses" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
The original and highly recommended recording of this unique piece of choral music from Africa. Not only useful if you are about to perform the piece (as I am) but also a joy to listen to just for itself. Exuberant performance by the Troubadours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misa Luba, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
This will be the original 1958 Cogolese version of "MIsa Luba", and as such seems to have the vitality and religious sincerity.

If you want a £world-music classic with a spiritual perspective then this is well worth having. Sound quality is nothing special but a 1958 recording in a third-world venue wouldn't be expected yo be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exuberant and gripping, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. K. H. Cobb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
The cd doesn't represent very good value for money, with only just over 30 minutes of music. The performance is a bit rough as well, but these aren't professional musicians, and their commitment and involvement in what they are doing shows that professional perfection is not always necessary to make a performance both exciting and gripping. This is the version used in If, and is preferable to the other available, where the arranger has erroneously decided that he could improve on the original by adding to it. It's great stuff, and someone with religious belief might get even more out of it. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece - Missa Luba, 19 Jan 2014
By 
H. Shimmin (Claremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Missa Luba (Audio CD)
The LP recorded more than 50 years ago as "Missa Luba" has been re-issued recently. It must be among a very small number in the category of world music to remain in production after so long. The category is not wrong, but confining this complex work to any narrow category is a huge mistake. It stands as a triumph of the human soul and a perpetual gift from the Luba peoples living in the Kaatanga region of colonial Belgian Congo, now Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The contemporary story behind this recording begins with Maurice Jan Lodewijk Haazen, who took the name Guido on becoming a Franciscan friar, joking that, "It was one of the only ones left." As a child, Haazen, his seven siblings and parents sang together regularly, and particularly enjoyed works by masters of Church music such as Palestrina, Bach, and di Lassus. They must have been an accomplished small ensemble. His goal of becoming a missionary to China following his ordination in 1947 was thwarted by the protracted civil war. In 1953 he reluctantly agreed to take a position at the St. Bavo Catholic Mission school for boys in the city of Kamina, in the southernmost province of Congo.

Fr. Haazen organized the first youth choir at Kamina, selecting 40 boys, calling them Les Troubadours, and introducing Flemish children's folk songs translated into Swahili and arranged for two or three vocal parts. In a 2003 interview with American graduate student Marc Foster, Haazen recalled, "Soon I discovered the unbelievable musicality of the Africans. Their songs, their dances and their profound sense of rhythm were a revelation to me. But to my great disappointment I noticed that in our missionary church they only sang the old European hymns and songs that they had learned from our missionary priests! It surprised me greatly because I had already noticed that the Africans could express their feelings of joy and sorrow by singing and dancing."

In his doctoral dissertation, Foster reports that after gaining some success with singing both Western choral music and their own native music, Haazen approached the opportunity of having the choir sing a Mass in what he called "native style." Up to that time no drums or native instruments were permitted in the church and all the music had to be sung in Latin.

Working with two native teachers at the school, Andre Lukusa and tenor soloist Joachim Ngoi, Haazen urged that the Mass settings be built from the folk song repertory, but with the Latin text collectively improvised over the top of the original Bantu language. The Philips recording opened with seven of these folk songs, described in English as "Marriage Song," "Emergence from Grief," "Marriage Ballad," "Dance," "Marital Celebration," "Soldier's Song," and "Work Song." While no translations are available, these songs provide an excellent introduction to the solo call and choral response pattern, or on Track 6 a choral call in close harmony with contrasting response, all accompanied by drums. The legacy of Fr. Haazen's instruction in fundamentals of western choral music, including close attention to pitch, dynamic variation, and starting and stopping together shows through. The modal melodies and the traditional practice permitting harmony to move in parallel octaves and fifths make the arrangements sound ancient when compared with now familiar four-part harmonies.

Bringing a song style previously denigrated as pagan to mixed black and white audiences in colonial Africa brought anxiety for Haazen and the choir. As an old man, Haazen recalled, "Once, when we gave a singing concert for the Whites in Kamina, there was a spontaneous ovation for the choir, for it had been a total surprise for the White people how beautiful this native singing was. It gave the African students a new and a deep feeling of self value and pride in their culture."

In 1957, after a visit from the new King Baldwin of Belgium, for whom the choir sang, they were honored with the title "Les Troubadours du Roi Baudouin." They were soon invited to sing at the 1958 World Exhibition in Brussels, Belgium, the first "World's Fair" held after World War II. Bringing the school's choir to a world stage convinced Fr. Haazen that the time was right for an African Mass sung by Africans. We can also pause here to thank an executive from the new Dutch company Philips Records for recording the group at that fair pavilion.

Adapting local songs to meet the demands of the pre-Vatican II Church required more than replacing Bantu lyrics with Latin. Haazen and Ngoi realized that using multiple song sources in each Mass section would add interest for listeners. "The soloist (leader) of course had the central role to sing the melodies in such a manner that the choir would sense when to enter, when to 'agree', and so on. Joachim definitely has not fixed himself on one existing song, but he let himself just go, improvising spontaneously as seemed right to him [Haazen]." In contrast, in the Gloria section, the chorus has primary musical material not presented first by the soloist, who follows with highly improvised versions of the melody.

Director Lindsay Anderson used the "Sanctus" as a recurring motif in his 1968 award winning film "If . . . ." The power of the music, combining Latin Mass text with traditional African music and performed by boys, running under his fable of mayhem in an English prep school, leaves an impression that the music provides a critique on colonialism generally and specifically on rough justice from English hands. It seems a paradox that such inspiring music now carries this shadow. Maybe a generation unfamiliar with such historic details will be ready to surrender to the new CD release, and let it stand on its own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Missa Luba
Missa Luba by Troubadours Du Roi Baudouin (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews