Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing Acker
Acker Bilk's double album of appealing and attractive numbers is one of a Smith & Co. series sub-titled `Just About As Good As It Gets!' featuring British jazz music (and other popular genres). The stated period is 1954-1957 which is before Acker's hit `Stranger On The Shore' but these CDs demonstrate his genuine jazz capabilities and the influences of New Orleans - as...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by D. Elliott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
After the Kenny Ball and Chris Barber 'As Good as it Gets' CDs I found this one a slight disappointment. Some of the performances were, I thought, a bit 'ragged' - a bit uncontrolled. Didn't match what I thought I remembered (but it was a long time ago!)
Published 25 days ago by B. F. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing Acker, 18 Nov 2011
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
Acker Bilk's double album of appealing and attractive numbers is one of a Smith & Co. series sub-titled `Just About As Good As It Gets!' featuring British jazz music (and other popular genres). The stated period is 1954-1957 which is before Acker's hit `Stranger On The Shore' but these CDs demonstrate his genuine jazz capabilities and the influences of New Orleans - as `St Philip Street Breakdown', `Careless Love', `Gladiolus Rag' and `High Society' plus more commercial renditions as `My Old Kentucky Home' and `Where The River Shannon Flows'. My favourites include `Postman's Lament' (2 versions), `Dippermouth Blues' and `Over In The Gloryland' which give an inkling of the diversity over all recordings. These are truly magnificent and this double album is just about as good a collection of Acker Bilk's appealing music as will be found anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
This original jazz recordings are phenomenal and can only be appreciated by authentic jazz lovers. I have a lot of Acker Bilk cd's but I can assure you that this is definitely going to be my favourite and I advice all jazz lovers to listen to this. It is a MUST!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acker Bilk as good as it gets, 27 Sep 2011
By 
K. Marvill "twee molen" (West Yorkshire GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
I really like jazz music and this disc is top notch jazz I shall listen to it on many occasions with much enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 29 Jun 2014
By 
B. F. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
After the Kenny Ball and Chris Barber 'As Good as it Gets' CDs I found this one a slight disappointment. Some of the performances were, I thought, a bit 'ragged' - a bit uncontrolled. Didn't match what I thought I remembered (but it was a long time ago!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was very good. The packing was a bit, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
It was very good.The packing was a bit damaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Jazz, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just About As Good As It Gets!: The Original Jazz Recordings 1954-1957 (Audio CD)
I have seen Acker live a couple of times through the years, I like his music and I liked this cd. Great if you're fan of his.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews