Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely the most carnageous film ever made!
This is by far the most visceral, brutal and downright ultra-violent movie I have ever seen.

This quite surprised me, but it appears that Stallone has employed some new and rather ground-breaking cinematic techniques in the filming of the action scenes, as the level of carnage which is portrayed is simply breathtaking. JR dispenses this violence with such...
Published on 6 Jun 2008 by Paul Larkin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live for nothing or die for something.
Ex super soldier John Rambo (Stallone) is enjoying a peaceful life on the Thai-Burmese border, fishing and catching snakes for a living. When a pretty blonde US Christian relief worker (Julie Benz) begs Rambo for a boat ride upriver into Burma for her optimistic band of peace lovers, he reluctantly accepts. Inevitably, things go wrong and the group are captured by...
Published on 13 Jun 2008 by R. Mullaney


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely the most carnageous film ever made!, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Paul Larkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is by far the most visceral, brutal and downright ultra-violent movie I have ever seen.

This quite surprised me, but it appears that Stallone has employed some new and rather ground-breaking cinematic techniques in the filming of the action scenes, as the level of carnage which is portrayed is simply breathtaking. JR dispenses this violence with such relish and gusto that I found myself laughing out loud in appreciation at the film-makers' dedication to this cause.

The fact that Stallone can still kick it at 60 is a real point of interest, and really adds to the film. With his dinosaur-sized neck and his permanent scowl, he looks hard as hell, and we soon discover that he is!

Yes it's gratuitous, but perhaps the stark pointless violence is itself a point that the movie is making? Certainly the scantness of story and the non-happy ending back this up.

Either way, it's ridiculously entertaining, and it's 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than I expected, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
I've never been a huge fan of the Rambo franchise, although I am a big admirer of the first film. I didn't rush out to watch this installment either. I should have though because it's a great film. Stallone really knows how to make the viewers root for a character, and he has a great gift for timing the arrival of his hero. Whenever the good guys are in the mire, Rambo pops up out of nowhere to pop off the bad guys in weird and wonderful ways (and very violent and bloodthirsty ways they are too). The film doesn't outstay its welcome either, running in at about 90 minutes.
One of the best action films I've seen in recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed and ultra-violent, 7 July 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
After nearly 20 years, Sylvester Stallone returns to the role of John Rambo as he battles dozens of ruthless soldiers in search of a group of salvation workers who have gone missing.

If there was one word to sum up this film it would be "violent". The first three movies were violent back in the day, but with today's special effects, this film is ultra-realistic and disturbing when it comes to the explicit and brutal gore in this movie. The action is literally non-stop from the start and being at just over an hour and a quarter (not including the end credits) there's no time for this film to slow down at all and all the better for it. Sly is great as Rambo and is as good as he was back in his prime in the 80s and it feels like he's never been away from the role.

The Blu Ray quality is superb with perhaps one of the best discs for picture quality as everything looks just so sharp and is really clear. Even on the darker scenes there appeared to be next-to no graininess that I've noticed on other Columbia/Tri Star/Sony Pictures Blu Rays.

Overall it's not the most intelligent of movies but the Rambo series never has been, but it makes up for this with some great action and excitement and some great special effects (even if they are a bit sick). I recommend this film to anyone who loves old 80s action films and anyone who doesn't get shocked too easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - forget the snobbery, 11 Jun 2008
By 
R. Adams (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I absolutely adored this movie; it took me back to the days of pop-corn action flicks like Predator, Commando and even Aliens. Back then; a film could be made that did not have deep routed moral undertones, realism and a political agenda so long as it's entertaining.

In the context of entertainment, this movie was the best trip to the cinema I've had in ages and I came out with a huge smile on my face; ready to watch it all over again.

I don't often write reviews on movies or music since both are incredible subjective and I'm sure that there are people out there who won't like this. However, many of the negative reviews are completely out of context with what the film was meant to be. If you want tense drama, watch Saving Private Ryan. If you want realism, watch the news. Whats more, comparisons with original Rambo are pointless. Neither the 2nd or 3rd were like the original so it wasn't likely that the fourth would be. As a movie series, First Blood is the anomaly, not Rambo 4.

This film has never made any pretention to be anything else than an action movie and as an action movie it succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unflinchingly violent...and better than you think..., 3 Nov 2008
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rambo [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Rambo literately explodes onto your screen, with body parts flying in all directions and leaving bloody smears all over your TV screen.

Oh, be certain of one thing... Rambo is NOT for the faint hearted.

Unflinchingly violent, and boasting one of the biggest body counts in cinematic history (aparently beating Arnold Schwarzenegger's Commando) this is an extremely violent film from the outset.

The story - if anyone is interested - runs thus. John Rambo is living out a nice, peaceful existence in Thailand, when he is approached by aid workers, who want to get upriver into Burma to offer support an aid to a region ravaged by war and genocide.

Rambo is unhelpful at first, believing that whatever these people do, they can't make a difference, but eventually (and predictably) he changes his mind, dropping off the aid workers.

Weeks later, he is alerted to the fact that the aid workers have failed to return. Rambo joins forces with a group of mercenaries to rescue the aid workers, and perhaps along the way, rid Burma of an unwanted genocidal tyrant.

As mentioned, this film really is violent, more so than any film before it. There are some incredibly brutal scenes here, so those with weak stomachs, or easily upset might not enjoy this film, as it really hammers its message home in a way that is, quite frankly - disturbing. One scene in particular, showing the awful way a whole village - including babies is massacred is probably the most upsetting. This isn't a gung ho, Commando style action film, but feels bone shudderingly realistic, and when Rambo finally does meet out some much needed retribution, it really is thoroughly warranted.

Yep, Stallone's aged - but still - somehow - manages to pull it off. Apparently, another one is on the cards - but somehow, I think it has to stop here.

In summary, a very violent film, worth watching if you're a Rambo fan - but certainly not for the faint hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live for nothing or die for something., 13 Jun 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Ex super soldier John Rambo (Stallone) is enjoying a peaceful life on the Thai-Burmese border, fishing and catching snakes for a living. When a pretty blonde US Christian relief worker (Julie Benz) begs Rambo for a boat ride upriver into Burma for her optimistic band of peace lovers, he reluctantly accepts. Inevitably, things go wrong and the group are captured by Burmese militia. Rambo is again asked to head upriver, this time to escort mercenaries into the war zone to hunt for the missing party and luckily for them, the ageing hero still has his bow and arrows.

After reading less than favourable reviews about the fourth installment in the Rambo series, I almost didn't go and see it but I relented....this IS 80's action hero Rambo after all. Although I can see the critic's points about poor dialogue and cardboard characters, this is still an enjoyable film for any fan of First Blood.

Stallone doesn't have much to say at all. He barely features in the first half and says very little when he does. Col. Trautman is briefly shoehorned into the story during a dream sequence but aside from that we learn very little else about what Rambo has been up to since his trip to Afghanistan in Rambo III. The Burmese soldiers are generic baddies with zero character development or any explanation as to why they are raping and murdering innocent villagers or why they take the aid workers captive. In one of the featurettes, Stallone says he hasn't resurrected Rambo sooner because there wasn't a conflict anywhere that he felt suitable as the backdrop to another film. The situation in Burma was something Stallone wanted to bring to the attention of the world but the story behind the genocide isn't clear. Stallone goes for shock value instead, with extremely graphic violence which could be looked at in different ways. Yes, children are stabbed and burned to death so the reality of the situation is probably accurate (the production team interviewed Karen refugees to get authentic stories) but on the other hand, the violence is also used to justify Rambo's violence. The Burmese militia are merely a means for Rambo to give in to his killer instinct. The whole thing is pretty two dimensional, but when Rambo does eventually come to the rescue, any fans of the original will be jumping out of their seats and punching the air.

What Rambo lacks in script and character it makes up for with straight up man-action. Some may argue that the film is gratuitous violence and it probably is. I suspect that Stallone truly did want to raise awareness of the ongoing atrocities but the message of the film seems to be 'don't get involved in other peoples problems unless you are prepared to kill lots of people.' That said, I did enjoy Rambo as an action film and it was good to see Stallone putting on his headband again. Here's to Cliffhanger 2! Just kidding....

Like this? Try: First Blood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rambo, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rambo [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
excellent film got it for my fatherinlaw he loved it should keep him off my back for a while hopefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray not as good as the US version sound wise., 24 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
The audio on the US Blu ray version is recorded in 7.1 and the blu ray is region free so why they issue this 5.1 version with lesser sound quality for the UK is beyond me, there is obviouslsy some reason but I cant figure.
I sold the UK version and bought the US version when I found this out, the sound is amazing on the US version.
Film is a bit too gory for most people otherwise very well made, good blu ray picture quality.
Recommended for its 7.1 soundtrack on the US version which really brings the film to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie: 4.25/5 Picture Quality: 4.5/5 Sound Quality: 4/5 Extras: 3.25/5, 1 Sep 2008
This review is from: Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Version: U.S.A / Lionsgate / Region Free
MPEG-4 AVC BD-50 / High Profile 4.1
Protection: AACS
BD-Java: Yes
Running time: 1:31:31
Movie size: 26,384,185,344 bytes
Disc size: 46,855,015,149 bytes
Average video bit rate: 26.82 Mbps

DTS-HD Master Audio English 5516 kbps 7.1 / 48kHz / 24-bit / 5217kbps (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 24-bit / 1536kbps)
Dolby Digital Audio French 640 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 640kbps
Dolby Digital Audio English 192 kbps 2.0 / 48kHz / 192kbps

Subtitles: English SDH / Spanish
Number of chapters: 16

**********************************************************

Version: Germany / Warner Brothers
VC-1 BD-25 / Advanced Profile 3
Running time: 1:31:13
Movie size: 18,359,592,960 bytes
Disc size: 20,119,118,800 bytes
Average video bit rate: 17.97 Mbps

DTS-HD Master Audio English 2653 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 2653kbps (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 16-bit / 1536kbps)
DTS-HD Master Audio German 4432 kbps 5.1 / 48kHz / 24-bit / 4432kbps (DTS Core: 5.1 / 48kHz / 24-bit / 1536kbps)

Subtitles: English / German
Number of chapters: 12

**********************************************************
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ONCOMING STORM OF DESTRUCTION, 14 Jan 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
The wisdom of JOHN RAMBO (voiceover, whilst forging a big machete in hot metal): "...if pushed, killing's as easy as breathing."

Judging by this film, it's even easier than that. Once again, our spiritually benign hero's reset button gets a good, solid poke, turning him back into the face-pulling, primal screaming, bullet-spewing oncoming storm of destruction we all suspected was just beneath the headband. For Rambo, it's onwards and upwards and don't stop me now. For Stallone, who directed and co-scripted, that translates here as an exercise in raising the bar, with more violence, more bloodshed and more hatred than ever before. His tendency to mumble has, regrettably, gone up one or two notches as well.

Assisted by a group of mercenaries, the misunderstood ex-'Nam Vet has to rescue a team of missionaries captured by Burma's Most Sadistic Soldiers. And the jungle is the setting for what has to be the most violent rumble you've ever seen. No-one is spared, not even women and children; heads are blown off or decapitated, limbs are separated, torsos split in two, throats are ripped out and knives plunged deeply into flesh. Fine, it's a war movie and people do that sort of thing to each other. However, due to some very badly integrated CGI blood and guts, digital desensitization set in with surprising ease and after about an hour the level of gross behaviour had done its worst and peaked. (Actually, I don't think this was meant to happen, but it did). Meanwhile, back in the jungle, the 'enemy' behaved in typical fashion (i.e. 2-dimensional and vile) so they got everything they deserved, and the mercenaries, unsurprisingly, failed to rise above being irritating racial stereotypes. Nothing new there, and one of the reasons why this is only a 3 star review. To be fair, the battle scenes were, as I imagined they would be, well handled and quite entertaining. By which I mean, the kind of 'entertainment' that succeeds on a strictly base emotional level. The hardware and technology may be highly sophisticated, but the rest is pure Captain Caveman.

The picture on my Blu-Ray disc was vivid and sharp and the Tru-HD surround sound crystal clear. As for the film...there's no redemption for Stallone with this gruesome effort, but at least the John Rambo character gets some closure by returning home to America and finding his dad. Perhaps that's what the story is really all about in the end.

RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rambo [DVD] [2007]
Rambo [DVD] [2007] by Sylvester Stallone (DVD - 2008)
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews