Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More great stuff from American Dad!
If you're reading this you're probably a fan already. This 3rd series is as good as any of the previous ones, clever and outrageous story lines, great jokes and some occasional hilarious profanity! This is a real pleasure to watch, again and again!

There's only a couple of bad points: Klaus is becoming less and less funny, the extras are good but not great, I...
Published on 14 May 2008 by Rui Firmino

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing...
I loved the 2nd series of american dad...it was absolute quality, i got this series and they'd toned down the jokes i felt, it was more like watchin the simpsons with subtle humour that makes you giggle but not laugh out loud like the previous series, dont get me wrong there a couple of good episodes but they arent all great like before

also, like the last guy...
Published on 22 May 2008 by Mr. J. L. Merrill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 14 July 2009
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Season three is another to be wondered at. Really, excellent work. The best is still season two, but 3 has it's own little gems. It's impossible to pick a favourite though, there's so many brilliant moments. I find myself watching entire episodes just to see one bit that particularly stuck in my mind, and enjoying it immensley over and over again.

American dad has a nice way of having some moral point, or generally just something you should take heed of, but you don't realise it's happened until too late.

This dvd contains the episodes:
Bush comes to dinner
american dream factory
AT the abusive terrestrial
black mystery month
an apocalypse to remember
four little words
when stan loves a woman
i can't stan you
the magnificent steven
joint custody
the vacation goo
meter made
dope & faith
big trouble in little langley
haylias
the 42-year-old virgin
surro-gate
franny 911

Worth watching if you're a fan, if you're not sure, start with season 2. You don't need much of an introduction to the characters, they introduce themselves quickly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Dad, 21 July 2009
By 
J. Hester "Jo Hester" (Redruth Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Tongue in cheek, risqué and utterly hilarious.
Not to be watched with the parents or young kids!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something's missing, 29 May 2008
By 
Joshua Turnbull "Poncho the Wise" (Bristol, Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The third series of American Dad is nothing compared to the series two peak. It's not as completely insane and nonsensical, the characters, particularly Roger and Stan, have somewhat changed, and though still crazy to a certain extent, they don't have any of the killer lines of the earlier series. For some strange reason Stan has started learning lessons all over the place (N.B. Klaus' commentary at the end of 'Bullocks to Stan') - very dissapointing.
Politically it has taken a sharply liberal turn, and while I have no real problem with this, it comes off preachy and completely fails to properly represent the conservative point of view (which if it is intending to be preachy, it really should do).
It's not all rubbish, it still provides great entertainment and enough laughs, you just won't be laughing as hard as you used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful DVD, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Best Season yet!

Its just better than the others, they've boosted the certificate to 15 so you know its gonna have more swears, which personally, a swear can really complete a joke or it can be a joke of its own!

However, it is, admitedly more like Family Guy than the previous Seasons, so if u absolutly despise Family Guy, think twice. But, I love Family Guy so its all good!

Theres more rude humour (suffiecent amount, not too much), more swears, more laughs and more crys, BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointing..., 22 May 2008
By 
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the 2nd series of american dad...it was absolute quality, i got this series and they'd toned down the jokes i felt, it was more like watchin the simpsons with subtle humour that makes you giggle but not laugh out loud like the previous series, dont get me wrong there a couple of good episodes but they arent all great like before

also, like the last guy said, they've ruined klaus, there's less jokes involving him and when he is involved he isnt funny...disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy beginning to polarise towards quirks, 27 April 2010
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
In its third season, American Dad retreads all the ground of the first two series, though missing the "Roger's Golden Nugget" mini-episode....wonder what happened to that? Much of the humour is becoming polarised towards the quirky and dare I say successful jokes of the preceeding series. I wonder how many more times Stan and Francine can split over some disagreement then get back together with "you're the only one for me".....Series 4 repeats that, so looks like they'll split up n get back together a few more times yet. Roger the Alien's alter-ego storylines are becoming very foreground....he was almost a silly background character in series 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hearsay??, 1 Feb 2009
By 
P. W. Harris "Oldbill" (Aylesbury. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok first off I bought this for my daughter so its not a review as such, just a report back on her perception of the product.
She likes it, it is what she expected of it, having watched the programme.

Thats it!! not a lot, so if you like the programme you will like this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Like to watch, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. H. Paul "Keith the beef" (Land of the Sock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I like to watch this while i sit in my underware. It is fun. Like christmas and new year rolled into one. This brings me much joy, like the day my wife left me. Yes good times, good times indeed.

Thank you and good night America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where are you going with this?, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Bart Wux (Delmenhorst, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the first two Vols, even though problems had started to rise. However, with Vol. 3, the creators seemed to have gone mental with one character. Stan Smith. He has always been a bit edgy making bad decisions, but in Vol. 3 turns into a fullblown terrorist, a monster of a person.

He started in Vol. 2, when he left his family in hunger and poverty to get back at a salesman, now he frames his wife for murder, leaves her to have casual sex with another woman, evicts his entire neighbourhood including his own family, forces his family to live in the woods because he won't admit to have made a mistake, just to name a few from the first disc.

Not only do these things make him totally unlikeable, worst of all, they're not even funny enough to justify all that. If you want horrible things done, let them be done by Roger, that would be in character. I know, it is a comic and not to be taken too seriously, still, I don't know how much more of this horror Stan puts all the people around him through without any consequence I can watch.

It looks they make the same mistake they made with Family Guy. Creating more hate in the characters, forcing new charactertrades onto existing ones that don't fit, effectively killing the sympathy we had for them. The humor goes down too. It's a shame, American Dad used to be fun at first, as did Family Guy, but as they say: The brightest flame burns quickest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD]
American Dad! - Volume 3 [DVD] by Joe Daniello (DVD - 2008)
£18.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews