Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING NO-BRAINER HACK 'N SLASH VAMPIRE ACTION.
THE MOVIE

Yes, I really liked BLOODRAYNE. Sue me!
In 18th century Romania, the film centers on Rayne (Kristanna Loken) who is half-human and half-vampire, conceived when vampire King Kagan (Ben Kingsley) raped her mother.
At the beginning Rayne is kept as a circus attraction which draws the attention of Sebastian (Matthew Davis), Vladimir (Michael...
Published 1 month ago by Caligula II.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bloodrayne - The blood rains down, but there is nothing entertaining about this film
Amazing fact No. 1 - This film got made.
Amazing fact No. 2 - It was deemed successful enough to spawn 2 sequels.

I have long heard of Uwe Boll as a director famous for making truly bad films. People have often compared him to Ed Wood. Being a lover of films so bad that they are funny I have long wanted to sample one of his wares in the hope of finding a...
Published on 24 Feb 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING NO-BRAINER HACK 'N SLASH VAMPIRE ACTION., 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE MOVIE

Yes, I really liked BLOODRAYNE. Sue me!
In 18th century Romania, the film centers on Rayne (Kristanna Loken) who is half-human and half-vampire, conceived when vampire King Kagan (Ben Kingsley) raped her mother.
At the beginning Rayne is kept as a circus attraction which draws the attention of Sebastian (Matthew Davis), Vladimir (Michael Madsen), and Katarin (Michelle Rodriguez), members of the Brimstone Society (a group of Buffy-like vampire slayers) who plan to use her to kill Kagan. Kagan himself also hunts Rayne for an amulet in her possession. She manages to escape from the circus before either of them arrive.
The three slayers do manage to catch up with Rayne and take her to their headquarters to convince her to fight with them. She accepts and seeks an audience with Kagan by using the amulet. She is captured but her slayer friends intervene.

The story is not an Oscar winner, but what to expect from a movie based on a video game?
I don't usually care much for Uwe Boll movies, but I did enjoy BLOODRAYNE. His direction of BLOODRAYBE relies much on action scenes and gory CGI effects to cover up what the script lacks. The splatter effects are - for CGI - pretty well done. Splatter fans should have a ball.
The cast does the best with what the script allows - there really isn't that much oportunity to excel.
I always liked Kristanna Loken and if you are a fan of hers you will enjoy the movie. Michael Madsen and Michelle Rodriguez give decent performances, so do Ben Kingsley, Michael Pare and Udo Kier in their limited smaller roles. Watchout for rock legend Meat Loaf in a cameo.
BLOODRAYNE was entirely shot in Romania, which is perfect since it was supposed to play there - excellent cinematography by Mathias Neumann by the way.
The score by Henning Lohner deserves to be mentioned as well.
Not the greatest vampire movies but still very entertaining if you enjoy a lot of mindless action and love eye candy in form of beautiful girls fighting.
I recommend the US Unrated version, the UK DVD is the US R-rated version which was cut by our friends at the MPAA. The R rated version is still watchable however.
3.5 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2005 Visual Entertainment US DVD
Feature running time: 99 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 CUT (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: English, Spanish
Extras: CGI Maiking of, Story Boards, Featurette, Commentary, Theatrical Trailer
Region: 1 (locked)

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bloodrayne - The blood rains down, but there is nothing entertaining about this film, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing fact No. 1 - This film got made.
Amazing fact No. 2 - It was deemed successful enough to spawn 2 sequels.

I have long heard of Uwe Boll as a director famous for making truly bad films. People have often compared him to Ed Wood. Being a lover of films so bad that they are funny I have long wanted to sample one of his wares in the hope of finding a new entertainment. I really wish I hadn't bothered. This film is so bad that it's not funny, it's painful.

Sloppily directed, with an exceedingly derivative script and actors so wooden they make the average thunderbirds puppet look like Olivier. I really cannot find the words with which to denigrate this film. I was actually surprised at the quality of the acting, as there are some decent names here, not least Ben Kingsley. He treats it as the ultimate paycheque role, managing to read through his lines with as little involvement in the character as possible. To be fair, most of the actors look somewhat embarrassed to be there, not least Michael Madsen.

It's awful. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Bite., 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
As the trailer so proudly boasts it is "A Uwe Boll Production", a sentence that might make most moviegoers reach for their collective crucifixes and stakes, but to bad movie connoisseurs it means that they have hit gold.
Where to begin...
The story concerns Rayne, a half human half vampire who swears revenge on master vampire Kagan and with the help of covert anti-vamp organisation Brimstone seeks 3 artifacts that could end his reign.
As ever, Herr Boll has assembled a cast that way outclasses the shabby material that they star in.
Oscar winning actor (Sir) Ben Kingsley plays Kagan, reciting his lines with the passion of someone reading the phonebook and treats the whole experience with a kind of bored contempt.
Lost and Fast & Furious actress Michelle Rodriguez spends the whole film looking angry, although to be fair I suspect that is her default setting.
Michael Madsen allegedly spent a lot of the film drunk and looks bored to tears with it all, as well as slightly embarrassed at sporting a medieval style mullet.
International singing star Meat Loaf has an extended cameo as some sort of vampire pimp surrounded by a harem of topless babes, some of whom are clearly time travellers, as I suspect that breast implants were not readily available in the Middle Ages.
Billy Zane has a couple of scenes and is a breath of fresh air, as his breezy insouciance contrasts nicely with the eye popping overacting of the henchman threatening him.
The cast bounces from one end of Romania to the other while their accents wander even further than they do, and the film boasts possibly the least erotic sex scene in the history of cinema.
What the film lacks in other ways though, it makes up in blood.
Gallons of the stuff.
So much so that I did wonder if they got given a hefty discount. Every swipe of the sword is accompanied by a bathful of the red stuff, squirting everywhere with gay abandon. In the world of Bloodrayne, a simple papercut would drain you in seconds, as the sheer force of arterial spray would propel you vigourously backwards through the air.
In summary, this is a Bad Film, but also an enjoyable one. To the director I can only offer this pearl of wisdom, taken from this very masterpiece - "I suggest you grow in wisdom".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gory, beautiful but heavily flawed., 19 Jun 2006
I first heard about this film when somebody said it was one of the worst films ever made, so naturally I had to see it for myself. And I have to say I was disappointed, but not in the way you would expect. It's not so bad that it's unbearable, but nor is it so bad that it's good (like say Ed Wood's 'Plan 9 From Outer Space').

Yes, there is a lot wrong. The pace is completely messed up. The action continues on quite quickly, whatever is happening, which makes a change as most films with pace problems are far too slow, but ti means that emotional high and low points aren't given the attention they need to make an impact, there is no suspense and no build up making the ending very disappointing. It's also obvious that the actor's didn't have any fight training, and some of the acting is awful - none worse than Ben Kingsley though who manages with incredible skill, to bring absolute zero depth to his character and reels off his lines like he's reading a laundry list. Then there are other problems like the wholly unecessary flashbacks (especially the later one) and the info dumps put in so the audience aren't wondering whatever happened to the plot.

All that said, it could have been a lot worse. Loken fits the bill perfectly, capturing Rayne's elegance, beauty and ferocity very well. They even got her look right. The action is entertaining enough (if only because it's stupidly gory at times), but because of the fast pace it washes over you quite quickly and it ends up being moderately enjoyable despite it all.

In summary, its worth watching if you're a Bloodrayne or action/vamp. fan but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect great things, 25 April 2014
By 
D. M. Lord (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
This film is the sort of film you might watch after coming home drunk from the pub. It's a run-of-the-mill unoriginal vampire and gore flick, with actors looking frankly bored throughout. Even the normally magnificent Ben Kingsley sleepwalks through the film as the bad guy. Only watch this if inebriated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sex appeal, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this film was good. vampire and part human shes very sexy she was treated badly she was in a freak show she was beaten and then she killed the owners and ventured out on her own joined some vampire slayers fell in love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hack en Slash, 10 Aug 2006
By 
Kalothagh (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Now I've heard many things about this film from fans of the game, saying it just doesn't compete. That mat be true, I only recently got hold of the game, but I found this film extremely enjoyable. I saw it as it was, a hack an slash type of film, that involves vampires (my favourite genre). Well it certainly produced that, with gory detail in parts. The acting wasn't bad, granted it wasn't fantastic, but who cares, it's a hack an slash. What was different to a normal HnS was this actually had a plot line, not that it was brilliant plot, but a believable one for this kind of genre film.

I'm sure they could have done more to make it a more rounded film, but it's the enjoyment of the action that matters in a film like this.

Worth a look, even if you just rent it, but when you can buy it for a fiver, it's well worth the money. I've bought worse beers for that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't have any expectations.....and it's ok., 21 Feb 2008
By 
M. R. Jones (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you go into this expecting something well executed and thought out you will be very disappointed. This is a bit of a wreck!
But if you keep that in mind, and refrain from being too judgemental, then it's actually quite an enjoyable little romp. Lots of action, and some enjoyable ideas throughout.
As an added bonus, with it you get a copy of the Bloodrayne 2 game on dvd (although there are no connections between them other than Rayne).
An ok film and a decent game. I'm not complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining shlock film with a few problems., 9 July 2008
By 
S. Beddoes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
This movie would be fantastic if it made a little more sense. First off, fans of the game will be disappointed by the shift of setting to a completely different time and place (Supposedly to build up to the 3rd movie which is, indeed, to be set in World War II Germany), but people who never did follow the games - like myself - will have difficulty understanding the plot and Rayne's motives as it never outright explains itself. We never really learn quite why Rayne wants to kill the vampire king until later on in the film, so it can be hard to care if she does or not, and it's not really shown how she knows to retrieve these artifacts which 'upgrade' her body so it can be confusing as to why she's going through these obstacle courses to obtain them.

Aside from this, Kristanna Loken's badly faked accent, and a few tacky gore effects (for something made in 2005, a few of the deaths looked very 70s), Bloodrayne proves to be extremely entertaining, with sexy vampires kicking, slicing and biting, blood spurting in every direction at all times. Those of you who had that secret urge to see blood, guts and breasts in Buffy will be satisfied by this.

The thing I enjoyed the most about the film, though, was it's videogame structure. Whilst the movie changes the fundamentals of Bloodrayne's story, it's probably the most videogame-spirited game adaptation we'll see for a long time. Rayne fights 'bosses' and guardians, finds keys and artifacts to open doors, navigates obstacle courses and deadly traps and collects artifacts which 'upgrade' her to give her new abilities. Very cool.

Give it a try. Forget the name of the director plastered on the front of the disks and the way the internet likes to lambast him and check out a really entertaining film that'll give you flashbacks to the 80s when we just had fun in our movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire killing vampire, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodrayne [DVD] (DVD)
Femal version of blade, only like to drink the blood of vampires, i liked it, and it's better then twilight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodrayne [DVD]
Bloodrayne [DVD] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2008)
5.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews