Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars messieurs et mesdames nous avons un vainqueur!
20 years into the future the technology to remove & implant memories is discovered & an unscrupulous doctor looking to keep her badly injured daughter alive decides to misuse it. She is involved with a shady Russian gangster who earlier killed a policemans wife. The same policeman is now tracking the doctor and he and his rookie partner struggle to piece together what is...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance lets down what should've been a great movie
Chrysalis is a half-decent watch with striking visuals but, sadly, a half-baked plot.

Almost monochrome in it's visual style (you'll never so many shades of grey), the film is relatively short in length at a little over 90 minutes duration. However, it feels far, far longer, such is the stretched-out plot which could have been told in the space of an hour. The...
Published on 25 Oct 2010 by C. Hyams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars messieurs et mesdames nous avons un vainqueur!, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
20 years into the future the technology to remove & implant memories is discovered & an unscrupulous doctor looking to keep her badly injured daughter alive decides to misuse it. She is involved with a shady Russian gangster who earlier killed a policemans wife. The same policeman is now tracking the doctor and he and his rookie partner struggle to piece together what is happening.
With all sorts of references including 'Minority report', 'Blade runner' & 'I robot' this still manages to keep its own identity & style. In fact style is the key word as the director really has a flair for visually impressing. For instance a Hitchcock like tracking shot follows a character from room to room with one long take while she is shown in time lapse, a similar tracking shot follows an elevator as it ascends through a hospital and we see what happening on each floor as it travels upwards. The near black and white images are subtly laced with washed out blues, silver & yellow to give a sense of other worldliness and it works very well. The acting is of a standard that Hollywood is incapable of on such a tight budget.
There are some bone crunching scenes as policeman and villain go head to head but they seem to blend in seamlessly with the whole dream like atmosphere.
The ending is tight and avoids the usual cliches and neat finishing to leave a satisfying conclusion to a well executed story.
This could so easily have been another Z grade sci-fi straight to DVD effort but just about everything here has been planned and executed with precision and a delicate touch. As with all the best scifi the less dialogue the better and there is a real sense of comic book styling here as so many times the visuals are just left to say what needs to be said without a single line of dialogue.
Quite how the budget doesn't show is little short of miraculous as the sets and whole feel of the film are solid and believable.
There is a 25 minute 'making of' which alongside a trailer are your only extras. However it has to be said that this documentary is superb as it shows behind the scenes in depth and shows the director to have had a clear and determined vision of what he wanted and how he set about getting it.
The picture is mostly grey and white with a few very muted colours but it is pin sharp and extremely atmospheric. The sound is very well placed with some settee rumbling sub action throughout.
Don't let the subtitles put you off, there isn't much talking anyway, this is a very strong entry into the sci-fi catalogue and makes for a very enjoyable 90 minutes. Strong acting, fast pace, good plotting and a strong sense of its own identity easily make this much underrated release a winner that is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance lets down what should've been a great movie, 25 Oct 2010
By 
C. Hyams "ChrisHyams" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
Chrysalis is a half-decent watch with striking visuals but, sadly, a half-baked plot.

Almost monochrome in it's visual style (you'll never so many shades of grey), the film is relatively short in length at a little over 90 minutes duration. However, it feels far, far longer, such is the stretched-out plot which could have been told in the space of an hour. The story does make you think about the nature of 'the self' and how our memories make us the people we are. Nevertheless, the storyline is just a slightly different slant on a theme which has been done several times before, and to more interesting effect.

I'm no action movie buff, prefering a solid storyline to chases and fisticuffs. However, this film could've certainly done with a bit more in the way of excitement, as it's simply 'too' slow. To be fair, the first 20 minutes got me really involved, but thereafter, there were too many overly drawn-out sequences where virtually nothing happened, perhaps making-up for the lack of available plot and the studio's requirement to produce at least a 90 minute movie. In the end, I did'nt really care for the fate of any of the characters involved, as they were all pretty dull and one-dimensional. However, there's no denying that this is a well-crafted and good-looking movie, and clearly a lot of thought went into the impressive production design of its near-future (2020) settings.

Worth a watch then, if only for the film's impressive look and feel, but I won't be viewing this again for the foreseeable future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching (if you don't mind subtitles), 31 July 2009
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a fan of Sci/Fi for many years and an off and on fan of the "Cyberpunk" genre for the last ten or so. Most of the films I have come across that pertain to that genre have almost entirely been disappointments, but not this one.
Chrysalis is a well written, well acted piece of work that swept me along and drew me into the story from its opening sequence to the final credits.
I only came across this film by accident as a friend had recommended another film to me and while I was looking at that one I spotted Chrysalis in the "Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought" section and thought I'd give it a go. Well al I can say is that I am very glad I did.
No it's not a big Hollywood blockbuster and while it may have benefitted from a few more dollars being invested in it I believe the Hollywood mentality would have compromised the end result.
As I have never minded reading subtitles, I happily give this film four stars. For those of you who don't like subtitles I would still say give it a go as this one of those films that proves that good films come from many places not just the big Hollywood studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL, 11 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
It seems in the not to distant future there won't be much lighting so everything will appear to be made of stainless steel. The movie combines a Dirty Harry wannabe with the eye clamps of "Clockwork Orange" and the Neural Neutralizer from Star Trek. The story runs for a long time with a plot and subplot that seem very disconnected, annoyingly so, but hey they are French.

I was confused by one translation which went something like "I was summoned to the investigation, tomorrow." Apparently they used some type of word for word translation. The main character was written rather poorly. He was the tough cop we had to identify with, but instead he got kick around a lot, had many character flaws, and was not likable. The plot took priority over any kind of significant character development to the point it took away from the movie (not as bad as 2001). I won't say a word about the plot, as it is in part a mystery, and to say anything would spoil it.

The movie is original and worth a peek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Matrix" a' la francaise?, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
It is funny how revered much French cinema is for producing films that are challenging and original yet many recent efforts seem wholly inspired by the big-budget, CGI -loaded films that Hollywood now seems happy to churn out. In comparison with their American counterparts, their reduced budget and resources are all to apparent but in many instances, the films are saved by an original and hard-hitting spin on things. Despite getting an "A" for effort, "Chrysalis" suffers in comparison with it's American counterparts but probably chooses as it's subject matter a less obvious topic.

This is very much in the same mould as any number of recent sci-fi efforts albeit it has the air of a superior BBC production as opposed a film where limitless millions of Euros have been thrown at the production. "Chrysalis" looks wonderful on the screen with the almost constant silver and blue sets and Albert Dupontel nicely portrays the moody hero of the piece. However, the slightly disturbing subject matter casts a dark shadow over the film which never seems sure of the direction it is heading in. In some parts, there are definate nods towards the likes of the "Matrix" series and the ridiculous and gratuitous choreographed action sequences only accentuate the comparison. For me, this is very much the downside of the film with some of the violence being unintentially funny. You could level this fault at a whole number of recent films though. It is not quite exciting enough for an action flick and the moody, atmospheric appearance of the film suggests more of a polished and sterile equivalent to the seedy, futuristic world of something like "Blade Runner." Had the director stuck with the darker, more science-related topic which centres around a laboratory experimenting with bringing people back from the dead, this would have been far more intriguing. As it stands, it is perfectly watchable and stands by it's own merits with a dependable lead actor. Anyone who enjoys the usual "blockbuster" fare and who is prepared to watch a film with sub-titles will enjoy it and I don't recall the dialogue being quite as bad as efforts from the US. In summary, not the most memorable French or science fiction film I've seen, but entertaining enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Near-future noir with a high-tech edge, 12 Nov 2014
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
The French have a real knack for near-future noir, and Chrysalis is a smart, stylish example of the genre. It’s presented with sufficient visual panache to overcome the few flaws in the plot, and features a couple of simply superb close-quarters, no-holds-barred fight scenes.

If you’ve become bored with the sight of two blokes simply thumping each other for half an hour – watch this. You’ll wince and flinch with the gripping, gouging and grunting as two evenly-matched opponents tussle for survival.
But the action sequences are just the icing on a clever cake, one which presents series of interwoven plot threads against a bruised, blue-black palette of Paris, someday soon. A chunk of military super-tech has been stolen (this is one of the weak point in the plot so don’t think about it too hard) by an agent turned rogue, who happens to have recently killed the hero’s wife. The tech can be used to create / destroy super-soldiers or special agents, by replacing their personal memories with artificially induced ones. One of the scientists now experimenting with this tech has a very personal reason for doing so…
Chrysalis uses this theme to explore the nature of memory and personality, with a couple of clever twists which serve to confuse / develop ideas about who is who. At one level it’s a straightforward police investigation, using underworld contacts to trace the missing tech. On another level it’s a debate about the nature of love and loss, about living with grief. Or not.
The director can’t resist some moments of grandiose filming, either: there’s a chase sequence through a warehouse which is absurdly complicated and captured in one long sweeping shot. Another scene shows future-tech surgery, beautifully rendered in virtual reality, which demands a near-perfect performance from the actress involved. The two male leads are likewise excellent; simmering kegs of barely-contained aggression. But the female cop, partnered with the hero to nudge his investigation along, is a lot less credible.

Overall, Chrysalis is imaginative, inventive and cleverly presented. It’s not outright action-adventure, but instead blurs the boundary between sci-fi and Eurocrime... which is fine by me. The French dialogue is subtitled in English, and the ‘making of’ documentary is interesting too.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
A good film, although I only found out what was going on at the end. Very good atmosphere (film noir). Intellectual science fiction, akin to such films as 'Gattaca', etc. Something to settle down in front of, watch and absorb, and think about, in addition to enjoying the near future technological advances portrayed within. Tres bien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a little gem, 16 July 2008
By 
ultraviolet (hythe, kent, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
i got this not expecting too much realy, looked ok, it was quite cheap; "hey what the hell?" i thought.

it's quite a stark slow burner realy. shot in mainly cool blues; almost black and white sometimes.

as the film progresses it slowly wakes up to be a very good SciFi peace.

while the fight scenes are quite simply amazing [they're better than the 'Bourne' films] they allmost feel out of place; so well shot and fast paced they seem to clash with the overall feel of the film, which is quite slow.

i never thought about the subtitles realy as there wasn't loads and loads of talking.
i thinking anyone who loves there SciFi will love this, makes such a change from the normal Hollywood dross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French with english subtitles., 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
in French and with subtitles. This film is one of my classics and I have eventually managed to order it today. As a film director and editor I find this has so many educational examples throughout the unravelling of the story which has a twist. Mind control isn't the first topic of sci-fi movies but this French one is tops and gets my vote. If you don't like subtitles then you won't be reading this will you? Der!*! x Jes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, traditional set-up, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Chrysalis [DVD] (DVD)
Good story, but too much violent scenes. The old grey detective is accompanied by a young rookie womandetective as always, I wonder when it will be the opposite and then also still have some tension between them... When is there going to be a SciFi with new ideas of relationships and heararchy of the society? Would be a challenge though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chrysalis [DVD]
Chrysalis [DVD] by Julien Leclercq (DVD - 2008)
£5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews