Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review
As usual, when looking for a review of a film on Amazon you have to wade through dozens of irrelevant ones for other format versions to find a smattering of fairly unhelpful ones of the actual product. This review is only for the blu ray version, and I won't bother discussing the film itself; if you're looking at blu ray versions you more than likely have already seen...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Chinatown Blue

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More than a new species...
I remember going to see this film in the cinema, twice. As a 14 year old kid who was interested in movies I have to say I was awestruck on my first viewing. I simply could not believe Comptuer Generated Imagery had come so far as to have a collosal dinosaur thing roam through the streets of Manhattan.

Now I'm older an wiser I realise the story is weak to say...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by Mr. A. J. MCHARDY


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad its scary, 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: Godzilla [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
10 minutes into this film I could have probably told you the entire plot, which is never a good thing. However, I'm generally prepared to let this go if the film is well acted and the characters well rounded. This was neither. At times I just wished that Godzilla would squash Matthew Broderick so I could go home. The plot wasn't that bad but the script was just awful and the acting (with the exception of Jean Reno - the best thing about the film) abysmal. The film didn't even turn into one of those so-bad-its-good-or-funny. Possibly one of the worst films of the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent book and gives me back the fond m emories I had when I first read this at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FIVE STAR FILM (TO ME), 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] (DVD)
Its a great film, wwaaaaaaayyy better then the original 1954 version.

2 hours of blood pumping action, who wouldnt luv it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
J. M. Dunn (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
nice to look back at a well made film even though the special effects weren't the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh soo nice!, 25 Nov 2009
By 
A. Hall "tagnuts" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I loved this on DVD, and must have seen it a hundered times, so i wasnt expecting anything new. It's just sharper and more colourful. Its better than i thought and looks amazing compared to the DVD (yes i compared them, sad i know).

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's NOT Godzilla! Shame on you, Emmerich & Devlin!, 15 Jan 2006
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is without of doubt one of the worst films of the 1990's. As a big fan of Godzilla, I was so angry when this film turned out to be an insult to the Japanese films. True, the Japanese Godzilla is a man-in-a-monster suit, but it contains a soul in which this travesty is missing.
Despite being touted as an incredible remake of the first, ever Godzilla movie, Roland Emmerich's & Dean Devlin's $125 million disappointment is just a poor man's version of THE BEAST FROM 20,000 FATHOMS (1953), with scenes ripped-off from JAWS (1975), ALIENS (1986) and JURASSIC PARK (1993) and an ending stolen from KING KONG (1933) - giant creature gets trapped atop of a famous building and killed by airplanes.
The remake also fails to recapture memories of the Japanese films. The Godzilla in this film isn't the monster we all know and love. It's an overgrown iguana that runs away from the military, digs underground, eats fish, breathes hurricane-force winds and gets killed by just six missiles. The REAL Godzilla was a brave and powerful monster!
The film also contains gaping plot holes, dreadful dialogue, one-dimesnsional human characters that you don't care for, and the acting (apart from Jean Reno as the stern French spy) is downright bad. Roland Emmerich and Dean Devlin didn't care for Godzilla at all. I will never forgive them. Two sequels were planned, but where thankfully never made (HURRAH!).

British G-Fans, I have good news. The first, ever Godzilla movie will be released on DVD from BFI. And it's the uncut and unaltered Japanese version, which remains one of the lost movie masterpieces of the 20th Century. Avoid this 1998 remake at all costs and watch the original Godzilla.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's actually pretty good, 26 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I normally hate these sorts of films. Deep Blue Sea and Armageddon had pathetic storylines, wooden characters and very obviously computer generated special effects. I didn't like the jingoistic Independance Day either.
This film on the other hand is clearly so deliberately tring to be a 60's-style monster movie that you can't help but be impressed by it. I mean, what do you expect from a film called 'Godzilla'?
Forget about the special effects, because they're the best in the business and there's a lot in there that you won't even realise is computer generated, until you listen to the commentary soundtrack by the special effects team.
It really is no more than a series of monster movie set-pieces, but each is executed so well, that you can forgive the corny dialogue (well some of it) and pseudo-scientific rubbish that the actors are sometimes forced to utter. They're just in there to fill in between the incredible action sequences.
The picture quality, music and sound effects are fantastic too and really show off the DVD format.
Yes, I'm afraid I liked it and I normally hate no-brainer action movies with thin plots and wodden acting. What better praise than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 10 July 2014
Good value for money. Arrived on time. Enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Aug 2014
By 
S. Morrison "SUZAN" (HIGHLANDS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
LOTS OF GRR'ING AS YOUD EXXPECT. 6 YR OLD LOVES IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
Godzilla [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] by Roland Emmerich (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews