Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 173 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start... looking forward to going further...
[Also see my moon images submitted as user images above]

This is a first telescope for me and a first trip into the world of astronomy. I've wanted a 'scope for years and have wanted to know more about the stars etc, but this is me actually taking the plunge. Possibly the first plunge, depending on this experience.

I researched telescopes over a few...
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by The Fat Monk

versus
109 of 114 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good optics for the price, great customer service, poor 'extras'.
The quality of the tripod, mount, scope and optics are superb for the price (even though both ends of the tube are ill fitting). The level of magnification achieved is a little disappointing though. The moons of jupiter tonight were clearly visible as was the shape of the planet, although no detail was. I have ordered a moon filter and will probably order a barlow lens...
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by A. Downes


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Excellent telescope, I bought it as a gift and they loved it. Lots of features and easy to use. Just need a few more starry nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good telescope for a beginner., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
I am a novice astronomer and this is perfect for me as it's powerful but not too complicated to use. I've only just got it, and I need to fiddle more with the weights to prevent slight movements of the telescope, but this is just fine tuning. I've seen some amazing views of the moon so far, and I look forward to seeing more once I'm more used to using the telescope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Good overall impression but lack of quality in some details such as metal plates and sheets. The stand is not as stable as one would like and will do just barely.
After all, this is a very affordable telescope. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Telescope for amateurs like me., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
We used to have some National Geographic telescope, and we didn't realise how much we were losing until we got Celestron Astromaster.
Fantastic tool. Sharp picture. Actually very easy to assembly.

I would strongly recommend to purchase AstroMaster Accessory Kit as well, for better stargazing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Telescope, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Arrived OK ,working fine no problem.
Setting up was a little fiddly but got in the end.
Will try out the next starry night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is great value for money, but......., 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Have struggled to have some clear skies since it arrived, but have been out and read the instructions many times. Of what I have managed to see through it so far (celestially, the Moon mainly), it has impressed. a few things I haven't got the hang of yet and a couple of criticisms;
Still getting the hang of - Use of the motor drive and polar alignment. Not easy despite what it says in the instructions. However if you can point it to what you want to see and you don't mind it drifting, then it's great.
Criticisms - 1) When polar aligned, the motor actually gets in the way and stops you seeing a great swath of sky because it fouls part of the mount. Really bad design. (An Engineer talking). 2) the battery in the star finder "red dot" has difficulty maintaining good contact so isn't always there when you need it.
That said I'm persevering for the sake of the Grandson.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great telescope, don't bother with the motor drive, it simply doesn't work., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Very happy with the scope, great product, but the motor drive looks and performs like something you would / could build yourself, and doesn't work, safe your money and just for te scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Telescope, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Bought as a birthday present, it is everything that was hoped for. Easy to assemble and great value for money. Highly recommend buying this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars checked, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
This is a good product and is useful for us because my son is very interested in the night sky. We have not been able make use of it much yet but waiting for the sept night sky. It will be useful to have the t-tube for the camera attachment as an optional accessory rather than having to buy it separately. It was delivered promptly without any delays and as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing product, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 31051 Astromaster 130EQ-MD Motor Drive Reflector Telescope (Electronics)
Hello everybody,
this is one cool telescope. It's not very expensive but it's fun to assembly. As a starter with upgradable lens, it's a good start. I'be bought one for my brother, he was very excited. I would recommend this one to all starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews