Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pepper mill
Had one of these several years ago, slightly diffferent design. Still works but is showning signs of age.
The grinding mechanism is the best of any mill we have had.
Published on 17 Oct 2010 by John Ives

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not so good
I've had two of these, and though they do produce a good grind, neither has lasted more than a few months, as the grinding mechanism hasn't been able to deal with more exotic peppercorns.
Published 8 months ago by Heebee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pepper mill, 17 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Had one of these several years ago, slightly diffferent design. Still works but is showning signs of age.
The grinding mechanism is the best of any mill we have had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 22 April 2010
By 
Peter Johnson (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Fast delivery and works well. Added advantage is that it's a manual operation rather than an electric model - so not paying extra for components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant for grinding seeds (not leaf-herbs) & so cheap, & lifetime guaranteed too!, 20 Jun 2011
By 
accuracy's nice (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
This is exactly what we wanted & it works brilliantly - & the lifetime guarantee is a most welcome bonus!
When in use, it's the other way up to the picture, because the seeds/spices are put in the screw-off jar, then it's screwed back together, then it's held the other way up to do the grinding (jar on top, black end down), either over the food/ingredients or it could be on a board or plate, at an angle (because the black oval edge is at an angle not flat).
The jar's opening is thoughtfully wide (3.3cm or 1 5/16"), making it easy to fill with a teaspoon (but, if in a hurry or have unsteady hands, a funnel could obviously be used).
The coarseness is easy to adjust - for a finer grind, turn the grey cog (just visible in the picture, within the black oval edge) clockwise, which brings the 2 ceramic grinding parts closer together - when doing this, there's a ratchety sound.
It's also possible to clean it completely (unlike most other designs), because the jar's opening is wide enough for a narrow-ish washing-up brush (or I find just shaking it with soapy water is enough) & the little grey cog can be completely unscrewed anticlockwise (fairly stiffly - wouldn't happen by accident!), which is the first stage of dismantling it & then all the grinding parts can be easily removed & scrubbed clean (so that no bits are left on to go rancid & taint the next batch!) - but
WARNING: be careful to put the smaller pieces down in a safe place for cleaning (eg. in a small bowl), so as not to lose or damage the spring!
To keep any beetles or flies out of it when it's not in use, standing as in the picture, I fix a piece of polythene over the black part with a rubber band - or it could be covered with cling-film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not so good, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Heebee (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
I've had two of these, and though they do produce a good grind, neither has lasted more than a few months, as the grinding mechanism hasn't been able to deal with more exotic peppercorns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mess-free condiments, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
We have been searching for a salt/pepper mill at a reasonable cost which would work for longer than a few weeks, and would not leave a trail of salt and pepper on every surface. This works well, and was also delivered very quickly. Hugely over-packaged though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and coarse grindings, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Very pleased with this grinder, filled with mixed pepper corns and can get a nice coarse grind from it.
Easy to vary the grinding level from fine to very coarse.
So far so good and seems reasonably made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice bit of kit ..., 22 Oct 2010
By 
J. Washbrook (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
... but we don't seem to be making as much use of it as i expected. it's a bit of a fiddle changing the contents, probably no more than cleaning a pestle and mortar, but if you leave something in it for next time the probabilities are that next time you'll want something else in it.

but can't fault the idea or the construction and materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just works!, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Rasmus K. Weinhardt "lastrealhippie" (Kent-England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
Finally a spice grinder that really does what it's supposed to do! It grinds coriander to a very fine powder, even finer than my german WMF spice mill which costs twice the price. It also grinds fenugreek seeds without effort, but the real awesome thing is that it can grind asafoetida resin rocks (special spice for curries), which are hard and sticky, without clogging up. Perfect! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use it to crush doritos..., 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
This was bought as a house-warming gift for two guys and filled with chunks of Cool Doritos to use as an alternative condiment with their dinner.

Seemed to be a winner.

Very good piece of kit - be aware that when dismantling it the burr is spring loaded and will pop off. Don't lose any of it! And as it's ceramic - don't drop it on a hard surface!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good in my experience, 30 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T&G CrushGrind Spice Mill, Black, 125 mm (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this mill on the basis of other recommendations here, and intended to use it for grinding spices, cloves and cardamoms in particular. For both of these it was utterly useless, getting continually clogged up with the cardamom shell and not coping well with the cloves either. It was also taking an absolute age to grind both of these spices and was a total waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews