Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars110
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 17 October 2010
Had one of these several years ago, slightly diffferent design. Still works but is showning signs of age.
The grinding mechanism is the best of any mill we have had.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 12 August 2013
I've bought a lot of different branded mills in the past, cheap and small plastic ones and expensive, big wooden ones from debenhams etc .. but in the end the salt one usually always gets clogged up too easy from steam off the dinner or boiling pan and the pepper one breaks due to inferior grinding parts ( even on the expensive big ones ), also you have a harder job finding a replacement to match the other when one breaks.
The T&G CrushGrind has got to be the best thing since sliced bread, it has a lip around the top to stop the excess spice spilling all over the table or worktop when you put it back down (less mess.. yay!!), you can adjust how fine or course you want the grinder to operate at with a simple pull and twist of the little wheel on top , then grinding is as simple as twisting your wrists. i keep mine on the worktop near the sink and sometimes the water would splash up the back and flow along the counter to where the old style mills are standing and soak the openings at the bottom making it impossible to grind the spice out, but not with these as they have the opening at the top and a solid glass jar on the bottom. the salt one doesnt clog up anywhere near as bad as my old ones used to, but the salt does tend to stick around the inside of the lip .. this does not hinder the usage in anyway though so its a minor complaint.
you dont need to buy individual ones for salt or pepper as they all have the same grind mechanism made of ceramic parts, so you could just put both your salt and pepper into one of these and save time :) , this also means if you ever broke one ( from dropping it etc ) then you can easily get another one to match it.
dont be fooled by sellers headings when they say its just a salt mill or just a pepper mill, they are identical and can all grind even fenugreek which is one of the hardest spices so find yourself a bargain price and order how many you need despite the descriptive titles.
i saw these in an italian restaurant so they must live up to a lot of wear and tear and ive had mine for several months now with no problems atall .. best multi purpose spice mills on the planet :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 20 June 2011
This is exactly what we wanted & it works brilliantly - & the lifetime guarantee is a most welcome bonus!
When in use, it's the other way up to the picture, because the seeds/spices are put in the screw-off jar, then it's screwed back together, then it's held the other way up to do the grinding (jar on top, black end down), either over the food/ingredients or it could be on a board or plate, at an angle (because the black oval edge is at an angle not flat).
The jar's opening is thoughtfully wide (3.3cm or 1 5/16"), making it easy to fill with a teaspoon (but, if in a hurry or have unsteady hands, a funnel could obviously be used).
The coarseness is easy to adjust - for a finer grind, turn the grey cog (just visible in the picture, within the black oval edge) clockwise, which brings the 2 ceramic grinding parts closer together - when doing this, there's a ratchety sound.
It's also possible to clean it completely (unlike most other designs), because the jar's opening is wide enough for a narrow-ish washing-up brush (or I find just shaking it with soapy water is enough) & the little grey cog can be completely unscrewed anticlockwise (fairly stiffly - wouldn't happen by accident!), which is the first stage of dismantling it & then all the grinding parts can be easily removed & scrubbed clean (so that no bits are left on to go rancid & taint the next batch!) - but
WARNING: be careful to put the smaller pieces down in a safe place for cleaning (eg. in a small bowl), so as not to lose or damage the spring!
To keep any beetles or flies out of it when it's not in use, standing as in the picture, I fix a piece of polythene over the black part with a rubber band - or it could be covered with cling-film.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2010
... but we don't seem to be making as much use of it as i expected. it's a bit of a fiddle changing the contents, probably no more than cleaning a pestle and mortar, but if you leave something in it for next time the probabilities are that next time you'll want something else in it.

but can't fault the idea or the construction and materials.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 26 June 2012
Very pleased with this grinder, filled with mixed pepper corns and can get a nice coarse grind from it.
Easy to vary the grinding level from fine to very coarse.
So far so good and seems reasonably made.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Finally a spice grinder that really does what it's supposed to do! It grinds coriander to a very fine powder, even finer than my german WMF spice mill which costs twice the price. It also grinds fenugreek seeds without effort, but the real awesome thing is that it can grind asafoetida resin rocks (special spice for curries), which are hard and sticky, without clogging up. Perfect! Well worth the money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2013
I've had two of these, and though they do produce a good grind, neither has lasted more than a few months, as the grinding mechanism hasn't been able to deal with more exotic peppercorns.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 22 April 2010
Fast delivery and works well. Added advantage is that it's a manual operation rather than an electric model - so not paying extra for components.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I got this to use with a jar of mixed spicy Italian seasoning which was just a bit too chunky for my liking. I put a little in at a time so it won't go off.

The toothed cog you can see in the photograph is used to adjust how fine you want it to mill, and it does unscrew entirely if you want to disassemble it.

While I was initially pretty taken with the look of it, I ended up making a cap (from low melting point plastic) to put over the top, so I'm sure nothing can drop into it and to help keep what's inside airtight. If I was using it everyday this wouldn't really be an issue. I do kinda wish you had the option to store it upside down but it just isn't stable.

4 out of 5.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I needed new salt and pepper table mills to replace the ones I accidentally smashed on the kitchen floor. I have no regrets getting 2 of these. The grinding mechanism works beautifully, and produces considerably more ground pepper/salt per twist than any previous mill I have used. They also look good, and don't scatter grains when you put them down as the grinding mechanism points upwards. I've had them for a few months, and they continue to do a stellar job. For the price, it's a great mill that will more than likely last many years (as long as my clumsiness is held in check).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.