Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The haunted house movie of 2008!
I kept watching straight-to-DVD horror movies with a faint hope that one day I'd find one as good as The Abandoned. This movie is quality.

The previous reviewer has explained the plot. It starts off a bit slow, but about 15 minutes through, the lady enters the house... and all hell breaks loose right until the final credits.

The Abandoned is a...
Published on 29 Jun 2008 by D. Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars im sure i had blue eyes
a Russian man and a woman fresh in from the usa meet up to find an old house and that their dead mother has been found,but strange events start to happen as they se dead ghost of themselves.and nomatter what they do to the ghost it happens to them ,in the turmoil they f/see their father has gone crazy drowning the now known twins,one in a sink the boy in a boars pen being...
Published 5 months ago by D.W.hattermann


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The haunted house movie of 2008!, 29 Jun 2008
By 
D. Jackson "DJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
I kept watching straight-to-DVD horror movies with a faint hope that one day I'd find one as good as The Abandoned. This movie is quality.

The previous reviewer has explained the plot. It starts off a bit slow, but about 15 minutes through, the lady enters the house... and all hell breaks loose right until the final credits.

The Abandoned is a beautifully shot scare-fest, with some of the most effective thrills and jumps I've seen. The two leads play their roles very well, and the circular story line is brilliantly and competently handled.

This would be so much fun to watch in the cinema. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully filmed, ultimately depressing., 24 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
The lead actress in this is supposed to be 41 but (in spite of most people of that age looking years younger nowadays) looks considerably older.
Which I guess fits in with this director's vision of hopelessness and despair, and the seemingly ultimate futility of life. (It is the same director who gave us "Aftermath"/"Genesis" after all!)
The woman inherits a property in Russia, and goes there from America to find out about it, but all is not as it seems and she gets enmeshed in a kind of tme warp trap, involving a twin brother she never knew she had and their doppelgangers, all entangled in the circular time trap.
The photography and atmosphere is superb and is used very effectively. Some genuinely eerie moments and well worth seeing. Just don't expect any happy endings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Meg 03 (NorthYorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter bought it & has enjoyed watching it as she has watched it time & time again & will watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars im sure i had blue eyes, 20 July 2014
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
a Russian man and a woman fresh in from the usa meet up to find an old house and that their dead mother has been found,but strange events start to happen as they se dead ghost of themselves.and nomatter what they do to the ghost it happens to them ,in the turmoil they f/see their father has gone crazy drowning the now known twins,one in a sink the boy in a boars pen being eaten alive and their mother comes in to kill him and triesto save the babies,but most of all the man and womans parents want the womans daughter,but she will never come,a message the past can come and bite you in the ass,an ok film once you get the hang of whats happening to who and why,id recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but Disappointing Haunted House Film, 11 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
This film starts well and builds nicely as an American woman in her early 40's returns to the Russia of her birth seeking answers to her family history. Before long she is making her way to the place where she was born, deep in the Russian countryside, only to be abandoned by her driver and left to wander the ruins of her family home on her own.

So far, so good. Unfortunately, no amount of scares and gore make up for the clear 'spoilers' that then give away the ending of the film! Lots of dark corridors, noises overhead, rooms going back in time 40 years and reliving of the horrors of the past give this film brilliant atmosphere, but the ending has been spelt out to the viewer and there are no final twists in this tale.

Good as part of a viewing double bill perhaps, but ultimately a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent horror movie, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
"The abandoned" is an intelligent horror movie. It's not simply one horror flick more just to be scarred of. The story is well written with an excellent twist ending. I don't understand the negative critics about this movie. Of course those who expect only gore and blood should better look elsewhere. Probably "The abandoned" didn't have the same publicity than "The orphanage"... There are no great stars in this film, but simply great actors who made a very good job. Atmosphere here is very dark like the story which is told. You enter a circle you will never leave again. Only those who stay outside the tragical events of the past will survive. The prize to pay is to feel "abandoned" by those you are loving. I highly recommand this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May Become Abandonned, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
My boyfriend and I bought this on a recent horror binge (our favourite genre) and THE ABANDONED was one of my choices.

The film has a really interesting concept, which I liked a lot. However, it seemed to lack and certain something that I can't put my finger on. It didn't seem to flow properly for me, and my boyfriend got bored after the first half an hour or so.

Despite this, it's definitely worth a watch at least once. I won't be getting rid of it any time soon and will watch it again. Won't become an all time favourite of mine though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Average, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good creepy little horror movie. Considering that most of the film features just 2 or 1 cast members its pacy and never boring. Theres minimal use of special effects and gore but that makes them all the more startling when they do occur. Its a change from all the torture porn that seems to have taken over nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future Horror Classic, 9 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
What a brilliant surprise - I can't believe this movie isn't better known. Think the Evil Dead crossed with Triangle set in a creepy Russian haunted house. This is a million miles from the usual formulaic straight to dvd horror and I strongly recommend you give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Abandoned [DVD] (DVD)
Cover looked good to be fair that's why I watched it. And I'm quite glad i did. It's a good little horror.. A woman returns to her home town and stumbles across a man who turns out as she soon discovers his her twin brother. But other ghostly antics start happening! .. Acting good and plot good with a twist. Some good freaky bits too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abandoned [DVD]
The Abandoned [DVD] by Nacho Cerda (DVD - 2008)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews