Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It a fairy tale but a lovely one
Let's face it, this is a fairy tale and if you don't like such things then you won't like this movie, but, on the other hand if you do love a good classic bedtime story where a young girl is cursed, her family is looking for the perfect prince that will save her, love is, as usual, playing games, disguised in a charming man that is not a prince, while the prince is really...
Published on 25 May 2008 by AGDA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun
Penelope is a family film about a young girl (Christina ricci) who has the miss fortune of being cursed with a pig nose and the only way to break the curse is to find a man to love her the way she is (or so she thinks) its good mindless fun, good acting and some funny moments
Published 13 months ago by leanne marfleet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It a fairy tale but a lovely one, 25 May 2008
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Let's face it, this is a fairy tale and if you don't like such things then you won't like this movie, but, on the other hand if you do love a good classic bedtime story where a young girl is cursed, her family is looking for the perfect prince that will save her, love is, as usual, playing games, disguised in a charming man that is not a prince, while the prince is really a pig and the pig-girl is just lovely (even with the nose she looks lovely, she is not disgusting in any part of the movie), and the curse is in fact nothing more than our fear of not being accepted for our physical characteristics.
So, it is quite a simple story, yes, but nowadays, when 15-years old girls are asking their moms for nose jobs, I think it is not so bad to have a movie about loving oneself and accepting that pig-girl or not, you don't need anyone else but yourself to be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet fairy tale - great performances from a talented cast, 18 July 2008
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
"Penelope" is the story of a high society girl, born with a pig's snout due to a curse. She is kept isolated by her excentric mother, who desperately tries to break the curse by finding a blue blood suitor for Penelope. This isn't easy, every man runs away after seeing Penelope's snout, until Max that is. Penelope and Max hit it off, but Max will not marry Penelope. After this rejection, Penelope breaks free into the world and goes exploring - and much follows...

"Penelope" is a sweet, little fairy tale about accepting yourself despite your pig's snout. The movie feature excellent actors and magnificant performances from all of them. The dialogue is rich and humorous. All in all, "Penelope" is the kind of movie that makes you sigh and smile and the kind of movie that will remain on my dvd-shelf for a long time and be watched again and again.

Louise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An older fairy tale than you might think, 19 Nov 2008
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The tale of 'Penelope' is an interesting modern twist on fairy story romances... with an emphasis on 'noses' rather than 'tails', as the title character (the first-born female in her bloodline since an ancestor betrayed a witch's kin) is the luckless recipient of a generations-old curse: and has the snout of a pig in place of a nose. To break the curse upon herself, Penelope must find and marry a blue-blood. But, much to her parents' consternation, Penelope - who, because of her deformity, has been hidden away from the world for her whole life - is more interested in forming friendships than she is in breaking the curse.
When a con-man turned suitor (McAvoy in dishevelled splendour) breaks her heart, Penelope sets out to discover the world for herself.

This is a charming film, with endearing performances from Christina Ricci, James McAvoy and Reese Witherspoon (as Penelope's friend in exile). However, although it is pitched as a fairy tale story and has a PG rating (and certainly doesn't merit anything more in regards to content), 'Penelope' is not ideal for the 6-10 year old audience I bought it for after seeing it advertised. I thought the film, though slow-moving and at times quite sophisticated (e.g. in some scenes 'Penelope' is shown implicitly getting rapidly drunk in a bar... using a straw under her face-concealing scarf) was enjoyable, but aimed more at over 10's/teenagers than younger kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All star romantic comedy, 16 Jun 2008
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a really lovely story - it's a bit of a fairy tale but is really bought to life by the all-star cast in this movie. Excellent lead-role by Chritina Ricci, and not what you'd normally expect from Reese Witherspoon either! Some sad parts, but mostly very funny and very moving - I dont want to give the story away as this one is definitely worth the watch, but there's some good little twists in here and the breaking of the curse comes in one of the most unexpected places so that once you've seen it you'll be thinking "why didnt I think of that" - very clever. I'll definitely watch again and perhaps even buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good family film, 4 May 2013
By 
M (WARRINGTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A really good family film. I don't remember it being on at the cinema but bought it based on reviews. Its a great film with some important messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The kids loved it and to be honest I thought it was quite funny to. A real good family film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was absolutely brilliantly, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I had watched this movie previously a few years so when I came across it on amazon I just had to buy it. It was well worth it. I was spellbound by this unusual tale. It's kind of like beauty and the beast with the roles swapped round. I was held in suspense the entire time and I couldn't leave my sofa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Penelope is a family film about a young girl (Christina ricci) who has the miss fortune of being cursed with a pig nose and the only way to break the curse is to find a man to love her the way she is (or so she thinks) its good mindless fun, good acting and some funny moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one GROWS on you., 21 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For some time (almost 2 years) I have known about, and waited patiently for this Reese Witherspoon production; wondering if it ever would come to fruition on DVD in the U.K. On 12th August, I found it in a local Super-Market, and bought my copy there and then.

I have to say that my first thoughts when I watched it for the fist time were not very complementary. But, unusually for me after such thoughts, I let the film continue, watching it to the Happy Ending that it duly deserved. As I watched that first time, the film slowly "GREW ON ME", to the point where I couldn't walk away and forget it; I just HAD TO WATCH TO THE END.

It's a fable about a young (25-year-old) woman, Penelope, played by Christina Ricci (who I had never heard of until I watched this movie), bourne, under an ancient family curse, with a pig's snout for a nose: whoes potential Suiters all seem to have a great pair of legs for running away from her the moment she shows herself to them. All, that is, except one: a gambler employed by a news reporter to get a photograph of Penelope. After several visits to Penelope's home, the photograph is taken: but our gambling friend has, by then, fallen hopelessly in love with Penelope, and destroys the picture rather than have it published.

Penelope pleads with the gambler to marry her, promissing to kill herself if the curse is not broken. But her pleading is rejected, as the gambler knows he does not have the power to break the curse. After this, Penelope escapes the house that has been her prison, runs off to town where she meets and becomes great friends with Annie (Reese Witherspoon); but meets up, too, with the man she knows as Max, the gambler who rejected her. Max is also on hand when Penelope becomes engaged to marry the one person who has started all the bad publicity in the news-papers about her: something Max tries to put a stop to.

This film "GREW ON ME" as I watched it that first time; and has become a Nightly show for me now. I'm a succer for a good Rom-Com or Romantic Adventure: and this is Romantic Adventure AT IT ULTIMATE BEST.

Forget the SNOUT Miss Ricci carries for the majority of this movie. Just enjoy HER BEAUTY, some GREAT Acting by the entire cast, and what I like to think of as "A ROLLICKING GOOD YARN". Get to see this movie (only available on DVD). YOU'LL LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perils of Penelope, 13 April 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Penelope [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Can you imagine something worse
Than being born under a curse?
A young girl with a pretty pout
That's in the shadow of her snout
Until the day one of her own
Shall make their true love freely known

Her mother tries to make a match
By landing a blue-blooded catch
But each man that might break the spell
Takes one quick look, then runs like hel!
Leaving a disappointed lass
And one big pile of shattered glass

But then along comes scruffy Max
Who doesn't leave burnt tire tracks
But stays instead to have a chat
And make some music in B-Flat
But when it comes down to the crunch
He leaves just like the other bunch

So off she runs, Penelope
The whole wide world's for her to see
But it's no fun without some cash
And so she gets herself a stash
And sets about just living life
Without the husband-hunting strife

It ends exactly as you'd think
Penelope is in the pink
But half the fun is getting there
And this one's great, I do declare
If you like fantasy, and fun
I recommend you see this one

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

1. Family curse breeds sow
2. Mother seeks suitable suitor with silk purse to break curse
3. She's looking for love in all the wrong places
4. Great performances by Christina Ricci, James McAvoy, Catherine O'Hara (recreating her "Home Alone" persona), Reese Witherspoon (small part) and Peter Dinklage.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Penelope [DVD] [2007]
Penelope [DVD] [2007] by Mark Palansky (DVD - 2008)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews