Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic
My young daughter dragged me to see this film without me really knowing too much about it. As soon as the film starts, you are immediately taken in by it and absorbed into the story. The special effects are simply outstanding and the coming together of the make believe with the real world is extremely clever.
The story has all the elements of a modern classic...
Published on 24 Mar 2008 by M. Bristo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the classic it could have been, but a lot of fun for Disney fans
Enchanted is one of those great ideas that never really lives up to its potential but offers enough laughs along the way not to disappoint. Beginning in an animated Disney fairytale world of love at first sight and evil stepmothers, it's not long before near-princess Giselle finds herself exiled to a nightmarish world - New York - and in the live-action form of Amy Adams...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 24 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My young daughter dragged me to see this film without me really knowing too much about it. As soon as the film starts, you are immediately taken in by it and absorbed into the story. The special effects are simply outstanding and the coming together of the make believe with the real world is extremely clever.
The story has all the elements of a modern classic including the song and dance. I cannot recommend this film highly enough, and will certainly bag my copy on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 1 April 2008
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have seen this film twice with my 5 year old daughter and loved it both times. I love New York so it helped that it was set there! The acting, the storyline, the fairytale element was all excellent and was very funny throughout. Will definately be buying this film and I am not sure if its for my daughter or myself, would recommend to anyone with children or adults who like a silly, comical fairytale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Disney release, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Five stars all the way. Disney are proving that they're the company to beat when it comes to the next gen format. Almost all of their releases so far have been flawless. From the great Ratatouile, the 3D like image on High School Musical and the the stunning Pirates (Black Pearl) they have raised the bar for picture and sound quality. This release is no different. Enchanted is as close to perfect as you can get - the picture leaps of the screen and the sound drags you into the experience. The film itself is fantastic fun for adults and children. The story shows what happens when an animated princess wakes up in modern day New York (as the not so animated Amy Adams) Amy is incredible in this movie - she makes you believe that she's stepped out of a Disney cartoon! I can't recommend this to you enough. One of the top five Blu-rays available for picture and sound quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film - brings a smile to your face, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Bridget O (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film - well done Disney! A modern day Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty all wrapped up in one. And it's soooo cheesy being a musical - I dare anyone not to smile at the singing in the park scene. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Enchanting Story, 12 April 2008
By 
H. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is absolutely brilliant. You have a great actress to come Amy Adams as the leading lady. This is a enchanting story about a girl who want to meet her leading man find's her leading man (or does she?) fall's down a waterfall into the real world. That's where the magic really shines. All the actors are outstanding. The little chipmunk really steal's some of the film with his way of doing things. Patrick Dempsey is very good as the other leading man. I really loved this film as it has some of the fairy tales loosely in this film. (you have to spot them.)
I give this gem of a film 10/10 it's that fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting return to traditional Disney magic., 29 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. J. P. Fry "jonathanshiver" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Though I can see why it would appear as a slightly cheap rehash of existing fairytale themes, I would urge those who have not had the pleasure of watching Enchanted to catch up as soon as possible.

This film will appeal to all ages and would be a great gift for a child, though I feel its real potential lies in tapping into the latent fans like myself who grew up during Disney's unforgettable 'musical' era of the 90s which gave us such gems as The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast.

The characters are instantly likeable - as much for the actors' ability to laugh at themselves as well as their immediate fairytale charm, and the story launches quickly, with arch-villain Narissa's dragon monster lurking in the shadows within the first five minutes. It is visually spectacular, using special effects sparingly but with high impact, and the film's integration of story strands from classic Disney films like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty adds an interesting hybridised twist that does not feel forced or clumsy.

Perhaps the film's greatest achievement is its expression of the fact that as long as you respect the realities of true adult love, leaving that love devoid of any fantasy for the sake of being grown-up is a short-sell, and maybe all of us could take a lesson from the kind of fairytale romance that saw Snow White carried off to her castle in the clouds.

The film peaks not in the CGI-created violent final stand-off with Narissa, but shortly before with Alan Menken's 'So Close,' an achingly sad song about never quite reaching the love of your dreams, matched to a classic ballroom scene, and arguably one of Disney's finest moments of the last ten years.

Disney have strayed somewhat from their original vision in their recent obsession with Pixar-powered, Dreamworks imitative productions - with lots of heart, Enchanted brings Disney back to what they do best.

Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, endearing movie, 25 July 2008
By 
J. Hunt (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is a funny, clever and very entertaining piece which is really made by the high quality of the acting and the excellent musical numbers. Amy Adams makes a perfect Disney princess and is supported by a super cast, each of whom makes their character believable. It's lovely from a romantic point of view but was also enjoyed by my ten year old sons who watched it a number of times (just don't tell their friends....)Highly recommended feel good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney animation comes to life, 19 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Disney fantasy comes alive (literally) in this animated masterpiece that transforms into a real-life movie with some added CGI cuties. This is all in all a typical Disney movie; the feel, the sound, the songs and the plot. But what makes this heart filled comedy special is the contrast between the happy sweet life of a fairy tale story and the reality of life in the city of New York.

The story sees the evil queen Narissa (Susan Sarandon) deviously plotting ways to stop her nephew - the prince from meeting his true love. Giselle (Amy Adams) encounters the prince and on her wedding day is tricked by the queen, and finds her self transported from the animated fantasy world of Andalasia to the real-life city of New York. She befriends a divorce lawyer and his daughter who takes this confused fairytale princess into their lives. The rest is a funny sequence of mishaps and magical elements as Giselle tries to adapt to real-life whilst the Prince is amusingly trying to track her down.

A fun filled family movie that brings out a magical "Disney style" smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted is full of the joys of spring., 14 April 2008
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is one of the best films to come from the Walt Disney studio. I saw this at my local multiplex when it came out in December 2007. I fell in love with it and enjoyed every minute. When I left, I had a smile on my face knowing that my inner child had been released.

It starts off in animation where we see Princess Giselle spring cleaning the house with the help of her woodland friends. Then after a complication with a giant ocre, she falls in love with her Prince Charming and plan to marry the next day. But the evil Queen Narissa has other plans and wants the throne for herself. So she plunges Giselle down a magical well to a place "where there are no happy ever afters". Giselle ends up in modern day New York appearing through a drain hole. She is lost and confused until she happens upon a lawyer and his daughter who becomes smitten with this damsel. Prince Edward soon follows in an attempt to win back his lost love.

What makes this film such a delight to watch is that it appeals to everybody young and old alike. One of my favourite scenes is when Giselle is left in the lawyer's apartment and decides to give it a spring clean so she starts singing and the animals from doves to ferrets to bees give her a helping hand. It's such a delightful scene that one immediately thinks of Snow White. The all-singing, all-dancing routines are well played and the set pieces are wonderful.

The scenes from animation to live action are extremely well conceived and everyone involved are having a ball. I thought that Amy Adams was perfect casting as Princess Giselle giving her such vulnerability, sensitivity and warmth that is touching. An absolute joy and a pleasure to watch, this film is Disney at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great acting and really funny - Disney gets this one right!, 12 July 2008
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Giselle lives in a forest in a lovely house with all her woodland friends, dreaming of her prince. She bursts into song as she describes to her furry companions what love is all about, and Prince Edward who is galloping around the forest catching trolls, hears her. He vows to find the woman that has such a beautiful voice and marry her. On discovering her, the two fall madly in love and decide they will marry in the morning and live happily ever after.

However, Prince Edward's step-mother, the Queen has been doing everything in her power to stop her step-son meeting a young woman and planning to marry. She is not willing to give up her throne for anyone. So when Giselle rushes to her nuptials the following day, the Queen disguises herself as an old hag and manages to persuade the naive young woman to look into the wishing well and wish for her heart's desire. As Giselle stands at the edge of the well, the old hag pushes her. Not to certain death - but worse. The bottom of the well leads to the sewers underneath New York, and that is where poor Gisele is catapulted to.

Completely unprepared for 'real-life', Gisele wanders New York and alarms more than a few people with her strange behaviour. Then she comes into acquaintance with divorce lawyer Robert and his six year old daughter, who is transfixed by this strange young woman in a beautiful dress. Exercising her famous pester power, little Morgan persuades her daddy to let the 'princess' stay at their apartment. Gisele has now introduced herself and told them of her plight, and assures them that her one true love, Edward, will come and rescue her. Convinced she is mentally ill, Robert takes pity on her and allows her back to the apartment to rest.

Back in Gisele's home of Andalasia, chipmunk Pip is explaining to Prince Edward what has happened. The Prince immediately jumps into the well to rescue his Princess. The Queen is incensed and sends her faithful servant after him to try and stop the two lovebirds finding one another.

This is where the fun really begins. As the dim-witted Prince searches high and low for his love, Gisele's attitude to life slowly starts to change, and she and Robert establish a connection, despite both of their best efforts to ignore it. New York descends into madness as the Edward and Gisele run around with their funny attitudes and have people singing and dancing in the streets, and being held at swordpoint. You'll have to wait and see what happens in the end, I don't want to give it all away!

I really liked this film. I was expecting it to be very childish (I'm not saying that's a bad thing), which it was, particularly in the parts which are in Andalasia. But I also felt the parts which were in New York were very well acted - as essentially Amy Adams who plays 'real-life' Giselle has to act like a naive cartoon character, and she was very convincing. James Marsden, who plays Prince Edward was also fantastic - playing the typical arrogant and rather stupid Prince. The silly pair were definitely the stars of the film, which I thought was great. It was really funny, particularly in 'real-life.'

This film is a credit to Disney. It's an excellent mixture of the cheesy (but great!) fairy tales of old and the more modern films they're making. It really is what they do best, and had many allusions to animated films gone by: The Little Mermaid, Cinderella, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves etc. But on that note, you don't really miss out on anything if you haven't seen those films, it just adds a little more comedy value if you have. Enchanted is fab. Girls from 3 to 63 will enjoy this - but doubt very much any guys will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enchanted [DVD] [2007]
Enchanted [DVD] [2007] by Kevin Lima (DVD - 2008)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews