Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic
My young daughter dragged me to see this film without me really knowing too much about it. As soon as the film starts, you are immediately taken in by it and absorbed into the story. The special effects are simply outstanding and the coming together of the make believe with the real world is extremely clever.
The story has all the elements of a modern classic...
Published on 24 Mar 2008 by M. Bristo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the classic it could have been, but a lot of fun for Disney fans
Enchanted is one of those great ideas that never really lives up to its potential but offers enough laughs along the way not to disappoint. Beginning in an animated Disney fairytale world of love at first sight and evil stepmothers, it's not long before near-princess Giselle finds herself exiled to a nightmarish world - New York - and in the live-action form of Amy Adams...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 24 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My young daughter dragged me to see this film without me really knowing too much about it. As soon as the film starts, you are immediately taken in by it and absorbed into the story. The special effects are simply outstanding and the coming together of the make believe with the real world is extremely clever.
The story has all the elements of a modern classic including the song and dance. I cannot recommend this film highly enough, and will certainly bag my copy on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Disney release, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Five stars all the way. Disney are proving that they're the company to beat when it comes to the next gen format. Almost all of their releases so far have been flawless. From the great Ratatouile, the 3D like image on High School Musical and the the stunning Pirates (Black Pearl) they have raised the bar for picture and sound quality. This release is no different. Enchanted is as close to perfect as you can get - the picture leaps of the screen and the sound drags you into the experience. The film itself is fantastic fun for adults and children. The story shows what happens when an animated princess wakes up in modern day New York (as the not so animated Amy Adams) Amy is incredible in this movie - she makes you believe that she's stepped out of a Disney cartoon! I can't recommend this to you enough. One of the top five Blu-rays available for picture and sound quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 1 April 2008
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have seen this film twice with my 5 year old daughter and loved it both times. I love New York so it helped that it was set there! The acting, the storyline, the fairytale element was all excellent and was very funny throughout. Will definately be buying this film and I am not sure if its for my daughter or myself, would recommend to anyone with children or adults who like a silly, comical fairytale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting return to traditional Disney magic., 29 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. J. P. Fry "jonathanshiver" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Though I can see why it would appear as a slightly cheap rehash of existing fairytale themes, I would urge those who have not had the pleasure of watching Enchanted to catch up as soon as possible.

This film will appeal to all ages and would be a great gift for a child, though I feel its real potential lies in tapping into the latent fans like myself who grew up during Disney's unforgettable 'musical' era of the 90s which gave us such gems as The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast.

The characters are instantly likeable - as much for the actors' ability to laugh at themselves as well as their immediate fairytale charm, and the story launches quickly, with arch-villain Narissa's dragon monster lurking in the shadows within the first five minutes. It is visually spectacular, using special effects sparingly but with high impact, and the film's integration of story strands from classic Disney films like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty adds an interesting hybridised twist that does not feel forced or clumsy.

Perhaps the film's greatest achievement is its expression of the fact that as long as you respect the realities of true adult love, leaving that love devoid of any fantasy for the sake of being grown-up is a short-sell, and maybe all of us could take a lesson from the kind of fairytale romance that saw Snow White carried off to her castle in the clouds.

The film peaks not in the CGI-created violent final stand-off with Narissa, but shortly before with Alan Menken's 'So Close,' an achingly sad song about never quite reaching the love of your dreams, matched to a classic ballroom scene, and arguably one of Disney's finest moments of the last ten years.

Disney have strayed somewhat from their original vision in their recent obsession with Pixar-powered, Dreamworks imitative productions - with lots of heart, Enchanted brings Disney back to what they do best.

Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Enchanting Story, 12 April 2008
By 
H. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is absolutely brilliant. You have a great actress to come Amy Adams as the leading lady. This is a enchanting story about a girl who want to meet her leading man find's her leading man (or does she?) fall's down a waterfall into the real world. That's where the magic really shines. All the actors are outstanding. The little chipmunk really steal's some of the film with his way of doing things. Patrick Dempsey is very good as the other leading man. I really loved this film as it has some of the fairy tales loosely in this film. (you have to spot them.)
I give this gem of a film 10/10 it's that fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted is full of the joys of spring., 14 April 2008
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is one of the best films to come from the Walt Disney studio. I saw this at my local multiplex when it came out in December 2007. I fell in love with it and enjoyed every minute. When I left, I had a smile on my face knowing that my inner child had been released.

It starts off in animation where we see Princess Giselle spring cleaning the house with the help of her woodland friends. Then after a complication with a giant ocre, she falls in love with her Prince Charming and plan to marry the next day. But the evil Queen Narissa has other plans and wants the throne for herself. So she plunges Giselle down a magical well to a place "where there are no happy ever afters". Giselle ends up in modern day New York appearing through a drain hole. She is lost and confused until she happens upon a lawyer and his daughter who becomes smitten with this damsel. Prince Edward soon follows in an attempt to win back his lost love.

What makes this film such a delight to watch is that it appeals to everybody young and old alike. One of my favourite scenes is when Giselle is left in the lawyer's apartment and decides to give it a spring clean so she starts singing and the animals from doves to ferrets to bees give her a helping hand. It's such a delightful scene that one immediately thinks of Snow White. The all-singing, all-dancing routines are well played and the set pieces are wonderful.

The scenes from animation to live action are extremely well conceived and everyone involved are having a ball. I thought that Amy Adams was perfect casting as Princess Giselle giving her such vulnerability, sensitivity and warmth that is touching. An absolute joy and a pleasure to watch, this film is Disney at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film - brings a smile to your face, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Bridget O (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film - well done Disney! A modern day Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty all wrapped up in one. And it's soooo cheesy being a musical - I dare anyone not to smile at the singing in the park scene. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney animation comes to life, 19 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Disney fantasy comes alive (literally) in this animated masterpiece that transforms into a real-life movie with some added CGI cuties. This is all in all a typical Disney movie; the feel, the sound, the songs and the plot. But what makes this heart filled comedy special is the contrast between the happy sweet life of a fairy tale story and the reality of life in the city of New York.

The story sees the evil queen Narissa (Susan Sarandon) deviously plotting ways to stop her nephew - the prince from meeting his true love. Giselle (Amy Adams) encounters the prince and on her wedding day is tricked by the queen, and finds her self transported from the animated fantasy world of Andalasia to the real-life city of New York. She befriends a divorce lawyer and his daughter who takes this confused fairytale princess into their lives. The rest is a funny sequence of mishaps and magical elements as Giselle tries to adapt to real-life whilst the Prince is amusingly trying to track her down.

A fun filled family movie that brings out a magical "Disney style" smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Modern Fairytale, 27 Mar 2010
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
An Enchanting modern fairytale from Disney that uses the fun approach of mixing fairytale animation reminscent of "The Little Mermaid" with live action film. While it may not hold as much magic as the older Disney Classics that we all grew up on, it still has enough of that old sparkle to make your heart swell with a catchy and innocent soundtrack, amusing comedic sequences, and undying romance that makes you believe in love again.

PLOT:

In a cartoon fairyland called Andalasia (the epitome of every Disney Cartoon you've EVER seen), a beautiful, innocent and saccharine sweet woman called Giselle is saved from a Troll by the handsome charming and confident Prince Edward; the two become so immediately enamoured that they plan their wedding on the spot, much to the disdain of Prince Edward's wicked Stepmother Queen Narissa. Convinced that Giselle's marriage to Edward will ultimately rob her of her throne, Narissa devises a scheme to get rid of the soon-to-be Princess, and before the wedding can occur, Giselle is pushed into a magic Wishing Well that sends her into a different world entirely - our world.

Now no longer a cartoon, Giselle finds herself climbing out of a manhole in the middle of Times Square, New York as a real woman with a ridiculously large and puffy dress in amongst a crowd that has no time for her silliness. Frightened, confused and desperate to reach the castle and find her Prince, she goes on a mad search that leads her to meeting a handsome, divorced and rather cynical lawyer known as Robert and his lonely six-year old daughter Morgan.

As Giselle eagerly tries to find her way to Edward, she inadvertantly turns Robert's life upside down with her fairytail approach to dealing with life and an incredible magic that seems to enchant all the animals and people around her when she sings. Giselle's odd way of behaving gives Robert reason to believe she may be clinically insane. Meanwhile, Prince Edward has found his way to New York with the help of a talking chipmonk called Pip but is completely unaware that his attempts to find the beautiful Giselle are being foiled by the Queen's right hand man Nathaniel.

While Giselle's attempts to find Edward begin to fail, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to cynical Robert despite his negative opinions about true love and happily ever after; but can she give up the beauty of Andalasia for the noise of New York, and accept a Penthouse instead of a Castle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, endearing movie, 25 July 2008
By 
J. Hunt (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enchanted [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is a funny, clever and very entertaining piece which is really made by the high quality of the acting and the excellent musical numbers. Amy Adams makes a perfect Disney princess and is supported by a super cast, each of whom makes their character believable. It's lovely from a romantic point of view but was also enjoyed by my ten year old sons who watched it a number of times (just don't tell their friends....)Highly recommended feel good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enchanted [DVD] [2007]
Enchanted [DVD] [2007] by Kevin Lima (DVD - 2008)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews