Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years past and still the master
Whilst you tire of some detectives by the end of series 2 Rockford just seemed to get better as time went on. Series 5 has more excellent stories and plots; so unbelievable they could just be true. It's just a pity the great and underrated James Garner had but a few more episodes to go after this series. The acting as always is excellent and despite the lack of Beth...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by AndrewNT

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ROCKFORD FILES SEASON 5
I have been watching the series from the beginning and find that the newer seasons are not as interesting as the older ones. I think the writers where running out of ideas.
Published 5 months ago by Vanessa Furnival


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years past and still the master, 30 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst you tire of some detectives by the end of series 2 Rockford just seemed to get better as time went on. Series 5 has more excellent stories and plots; so unbelievable they could just be true. It's just a pity the great and underrated James Garner had but a few more episodes to go after this series. The acting as always is excellent and despite the lack of Beth Davenport to bail him out of his problems with the law, the remaining regular cast members support Garner very well indeed. The series seems to leave no body untouched with its merciless ribbing of CIA/FBI/POLICE whilst also outlining the main characters flaws perhaps something that undermined the series overall success, Americans tend to favour the winners and Rockford tends to solve the case but somehow lose out, perfectly depicted in one of the best episodes here White on White and Nearly Perfect with Tom Selleck providing great support as Lance White. Some great deals on these box sets and something you can dig out at least once a year and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 23 Oct 2009
By 
L. J. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I just love James Garner...he plays Rockford with ease, wit, intelligence and humour. The plots are easy to follow and funny. Yes there may be some repetition in tales of morality, i.e good versus evil, but they are enjoyable and watchable tales. It wiil take you back to the 70s....the clothes, the cars, the gentle action and the dodgy language. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files - excellent series, 29 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. Mary L. Glover "Amazon fan" (Jersey, C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
For any fans of the Rockford Files this is excellent viewing. Still as good as when it was originally made. Jim Rockford gets into all kinds of situations and always manages to get himself out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rockford files series five, 4 Feb 2009
By 
L. K. Fraser (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, i have been a fan of the rockford files from the very beginning, and i am collecting each series as they come out. This is very good value, and i am more than pleased.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rockford Files season 5, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I love rockford files as a kid, so i decided to get the whole collection on dvd and i have been disappointed, would recommend. any one who loves the show to get the dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ROCKFORD FILES SEASON 5, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been watching the series from the beginning and find that the newer seasons are not as interesting as the older ones. I think the writers where running out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rockford Files series 5, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I had already bought series 1 to 4 at an average price of 8 each, series 5,6 and 7 were too expensive at around 22 each so I waited and as soon as I saw series 5 at 8 I bought it. This is an excellent buy at that price, I am waiting now for series 6 and 7 to come down to around the 8 mark and I will buy those too. Must be one of the best Detective Series ever on TV, even if it is 1970's/80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The just don't make tv shows like they used to. Really enjoy watching this show again brings back memories. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dvd, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
james gardner at his best will buy the next seasons dvds so I will have the full dvd collection great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Rockford is good light hearted fun, no sex, no undue violence and the good guy invariably comes out ok even if Rockford is unpaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD]
The Rockford Files: Season 5 [DVD] by James Garner (DVD - 2008)
10.00
Usually dispatched within 6 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews