Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deer Hunt
This is a beautiful film, very understated but the resonance stays with one for a long time. Emotionally gripping, superbly acted, it has two strands of storyline with no apparent connection between a lawyer (Damian Lewis) with a high-powered city firm and a call girl (Penelope Cruz) dying of cancer, and their various friends and relations. At the opposite ends of the...
Published on 4 May 2008 by izzy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling ensemble film with an excellent cast
Given the talent on offer, it's a wonder a film like this might go under the radar. There is a tradition, even a bit of a joke, about these British ensemble movies which seem to contain loads of famous faces, but I was reminded of films like Short CutsShort Cuts [DVD] [1993] (clever) and Magnolia (not so clever), US flicks. There's also a nod to As Good As It Gets, but I...
Published on 21 Oct. 2010 by Philoctetes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling ensemble film with an excellent cast, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Given the talent on offer, it's a wonder a film like this might go under the radar. There is a tradition, even a bit of a joke, about these British ensemble movies which seem to contain loads of famous faces, but I was reminded of films like Short CutsShort Cuts [DVD] [1993] (clever) and Magnolia (not so clever), US flicks. There's also a nod to As Good As It Gets, but I won't explain how.

By the way, before watching Chromophobia, I sat through Bergman's To Joy, which also made use of Beethoven's Ninth but to rather more purposeful effect. Despite plenty of misery, it was also more intimate and more uplifting.

The title somehow refers to a work of contemporary art purchased by KST's character, which changes according to environmental stimuli. Or something. Hardly proves relevant or meaningful. You have several characters, most of them quite rich, but one, played by Penelope Cruz, a downtrodden single mum sex worker. They all have various life/career threatening circumstances and bad decisions are made. Mistakes always offer the promise of a new and better start, so the situation isn't hopeless, but it's hard to care much about anyone in this film, with the exception of Fiennes' and Ifans' sensitive characters.

It does look well made, opulent, glossy, not at all grainy or dirty or working-classy, so that makes a change for a Brit flick. One might derive a certain comfort from the fact that ambitious, avaricious, pretentious Londoners are even more screwed up than the rest of us, for all their surface polish.

In short, worth seeing once but insufficiently clever or profound to warrant a second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deer Hunt, 4 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This is a beautiful film, very understated but the resonance stays with one for a long time. Emotionally gripping, superbly acted, it has two strands of storyline with no apparent connection between a lawyer (Damian Lewis) with a high-powered city firm and a call girl (Penelope Cruz) dying of cancer, and their various friends and relations. At the opposite ends of the social spectrum, they are equally vulnerable and the ending for both of them is unbearably poignant. The symbolic high point is a deer shoot in Scotland at which point I had to pause the DVD and go away for half an hour before I had the guts to press play and face the final scenes. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost absurdly relevant for 2012, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I found it hard to believe (apart from the wallpaper in some scenes and perhaps the lavish nature of the wealth display) - that this film first appeared in 2003. Not only does it deal with the subject of breast implants (let's hope some misogynistic French company did not glean ideas from this) - but someone has also pointed out to me that in these days the judge at the end WOULD perhaps be able to silence the case against his son with some sort of injunction....(again, let's hope not)...?

Also there are very pertinent questions about the Media and Government members' finances - and I disagree with the viewer who commented here that the two main stories don't seem to overlap at all - it is about juxtaposition and contrast as much as about connection - with the theme of motherhood uniting both.

The soundtrack too is excellent - especially potent the track about being a Hero for Only One Day, and the ironies involved there - tugs between friendship and career/lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hidden treasure, 14 April 2009
By 
Fredde (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
One of those films that seems to have missed the media spotlight or was underrated at the time of release. A great film with a super cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the Reviews This is a brilliant film, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This is a great film, one I will definitely watch again, probably several times as I feel there is more to be gained from it.

I liked the way it explored modern life, our assumptions and values. It challenges some and reinforces others. Scott Thomas is at her most brittle in places. Fiennes at his most vulnerable. It is not a romantic or thrill- filled film but a thought provoking one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Doesn't Martha Fiennes Work More?, 8 Aug. 2010
By 
Stephen M. Kerwick (Wichita, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
For reasons I'm entirely unable to understand, this wonderful film isn't available in North America. Fortunately I have a code free machine and ordered it here. I was mainly intrigued by the tremendous cast and the director, whose work in Onegin impressed me as some of the very finest in recent years. Chromophobia is no step back. To me, it is absolutely unfathomable why a director this fine isn't working all the time. If nothing else, and there are many other reasons "else", Ms. Fiennes is regularly able to assemble casts of the very finest of British actors, as well as from around the world. With the casts she directs, even mediocre scripts would make splendid films, but this is no mediocre script, merely a splendid film. I'd recommend it to anyone who is capable of understanding that excellence in film doesn't require a rap music track, lots of gunfire and an automobile chase. This is just wonderful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex tale, 18 May 2014
By 
Jean A. Morgan (Kent, southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
A complicated story - which I bought for Kristin Scott Thomas's participation - so would hesitate to recommend it wholeheartedly..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual but good, 18 Nov. 2011
By 
L. S. Hubbard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Was really plesently suprised by this film, its pretty weird but very watchable and we really quite enjoyed it. good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fine form for the Fienneses, 16 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This film had elements to make for good viewing, but could not deliver. Most of its cast is wasted here, particularly Harriet Walter and Penelope Cruz. Riddled with cliches (the prostitute with a heart of gold, the homosexual art fanatic, the bored housewife with the eating disorder, the slightly morally corrupt high court judge, the lawyer son who lives in his shadow, the journalist who betrays a friendship for a story; and then the slow-motion sequence as Scott-Thomas is compelled to go into 'Mummy-to-the-rescue' mode seemed a rather cheaply sentimental touch) the film tries to do too much and fails to deliver on each count.

Imagine Robert Altman's SHORT CUTS set in the UK ... only not quite as interesting or compelling, despite the luminous cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unavailable in the U.S. of Idiots., 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I had "Chromophobia" on my Netflix wish list for over a year. It was clear that Netflix wasn't going to move on obtaining it. Amazon UK had it at a reasonable price and it arrived via the Royal Mail promptly.
Caution: The DVD is not playable on NTSC players. The DVD player must be compatible with all formats, PAL in particular.
Great service, and movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chromophobia [DVD] (2005)
Chromophobia [DVD] (2005) by Martha Fiennes (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £0.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews