Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring ode to great modern musicals
In the same way attending a muscial leaves you pyning for a life on the boards, The Heat Is On creates an anticipation that can only be satiated through attending the show. For those who have been, all the vibrancy, excitement and even tears are relived. A splendid insight into not only the casting and rehearsal process, but also designing and marketing a show. The...
Published on 6 Sep 2000 by evan_perkins@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Heat isn't on in Saigon
This for me seemed like the "special feature" section of a DVD, but stuck onto it's own DVD. The film (75 minutes long) contains little recording of the stage show, with more of an emphasis on casting the role of "Kim". I hoped it would be more rehearsal/ scenery production-orientated, rather than see several auditions of girls who never got the part. To watch multiple...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Mr. A. T. Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring ode to great modern musicals, 6 Sep 2000
In the same way attending a muscial leaves you pyning for a life on the boards, The Heat Is On creates an anticipation that can only be satiated through attending the show. For those who have been, all the vibrancy, excitement and even tears are relived. A splendid insight into not only the casting and rehearsal process, but also designing and marketing a show. The moment when cast and orchestra are combined for the first time can only be described as spine tingling. A must for those interested in musical theatre, and any Miss Saigon fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good "making of" documentary, 16 Sep 2009
By 
R. Morrison "mondo" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This made-for-television documentary deals with the creation of the London production. Showing creator discussions, auditions, rehearsals and opening night, it offers an entertaining look at the stresses involved in putting on a show, especially one of such grand scale. It would've been nice to see far more actual performance footage, but this is worthwhile for fans of the show or those interested in what hellishness is involved in putting together a musical. Even those who tend to say "I don't do musicals" can get an insight into how much work goes into them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Saigon - Perfection, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Tricky JJ (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this first time round. When Lea Salonga started singing I got goose bumps. It's fascinating to see behind-the-scenes footage of a show being put together. Worth every penny, and revived a few memories for me as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight for an actor!, 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
The start of the video shows Boubil and Schonberg actually transposing Miss Saigon from french to English. The video is interesting from the strt showing the pain of the auditionees as they travelled round the world searching for the correct girl to play Kim and how the scenery proved a problem. If you have seen the show you will appreciate it even more and if you haven't then buy this video because it will help you learn not only about the show but about what its like to be an actor. Bieng a 17 year old hoping to be an actor it was a very useful insight. It does however need more influence from the shows two other stars. Namely Simon Bowman (the great) and Jonathon Pryce (the legend). The video seems to focus more upon the character Kim and people around her instead of really bieng a focus on the company.
I would however like to say it has origional footage from the origional London cast so this video is literally becoming a collectors item. I hope you enjoy it as much as i did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., 31 May 2010
By 
David C. Dewar "Dave" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of Miss Saigon then worth buying but the DVD does look a bit dated now. I would like to have seen more extracts from the show with less of the casting.
Hopefully Miss Saigon will return to the theatres soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making of Miss Saigon, 17 Aug 2003
By A Customer
I thought that this was a very good video, especially if, like me, you can't get enough of the show! It has a lot of footage of the making of the show, including designing the set and choosing who would play Kim (eventually selecting the brilliant Lea Salonga). However, I felt as if it needed a bit more to fully satisfy me. I especially felt that there should have been more footage of the rehersals, as they only really showed them rehersing The Heat Is On In Saigon and the American Dream, which are brilliant numbers, but I would have also preferred to have seen a couple more of the heartfelt songs being rehersed, such as Why God Why and I'd Give My Life For You. But overall, I think can safely say that I was pleased with my purchase, and would recommend it to fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Pre-Rehearsel to Perfection!, 17 Dec 2003
Miss Saigon premiered at Londons historic Theatre Troyal, Drury Lane in 1989! Winning oliver awards for its run in the UK, Tony awards for Broadway and many world theatre awards this video gives us the insight into how the musical began!
The documentary starts with Cameron Macintosh meeting with Boubil and Schonberg (famed for their work on Les Mis) translating the origional french script into English. We hear the actual story, some of the shows songs and talks about the difficulty in finding a leading lady capable of such a task?
The video then takes us to many different countries searching for the perfect person to play Kim... they found her! We see the great Lea Salonga before she was famous and hear her singing the lyrics that would catapult her into history!
From this we are shown the building of sets, the designing of posters and merchandise, script changes, dress rehearsels, and directors strops!!
The only flaw in this video is we dont get to see much of the other leads other than Lea Salonga and her understudy Monique Wilson!
It is well worth the money, its both entertaining and informative! A must have for anyone wanting to persue a career in performing arts (it shows a lot about, getting parts, auditions etc!) or anyone whos ever loved Miss Saigon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb 2011
By 
C. Obyrne (Hull. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen Miss Saigon at the Theatre, I wanted a DVD of it. Problem is there isnt one. So I bought this instead. Its the story leading up the first night of the production. Nicely done, and brought back many happy memories of the Musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect documentary, 9 Jun 2000
By 
David Stewart Mckee "nights_dawn" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fascinating look at the development of a major show from writing to first night, covering everything from casting to poster design as well as having great songs and clips from a great show. In fact so good is this vid that my old secondary scholl used it as part of their music class for 2nd years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic insight behind the scenes!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic insight into the making of Miss Saigon. This takes you through the pre-production process including aspects such as casting and rehearsals. It follows the original cast and production team, and goes in depth into the technical rehearsal process, as well as lots of excerpts from the first Preview and World Premier performances. If you have an interest in musical theatre, this is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heat Is On - The Making Of Miss Saigon [1988] [DVD]
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews