Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fell-walker's Treasure
Every serious fell-walker, and many a less-energetic Lake District fan, knows about the famous Wainwright Walks and the ubiquitous little handbooks with their reverent commentaries and sparse route-maps. For such folk, and many more who simply love dramatic countryside, this DVD set encapsulates all the rugged beauty of the region and the effort needed to reach the most...
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by B. Cooper

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is the Blu-Ray?
An excellent and enjoyable series. Beautifully filmed, accentuated with pleasing narrative snippets from the great mans guide books, and an unobtrusive and understated host. My only query is why it hasnt been released on blu-ray. The programme was aired in high definition, and is still oft repeated on BBC HD. That format produced stunning images of the Lakes, and greatly...
Published on 13 Jan. 2012 by Paul Casey


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fell-walker's Treasure, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
B. Cooper (Yorkshire Dales, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Every serious fell-walker, and many a less-energetic Lake District fan, knows about the famous Wainwright Walks and the ubiquitous little handbooks with their reverent commentaries and sparse route-maps. For such folk, and many more who simply love dramatic countryside, this DVD set encapsulates all the rugged beauty of the region and the effort needed to reach the most advantageous viewpoints, admirably transformed into something that can be enjoyed, over and over, from the comfort of an armchair.

Julia Bradbury positively radiates her enthusiasm for the subject, while giving proof positive of her own physical fitness and (in spades!) that of her camera team. The Wainwright commentaries and routes are faithfully depicted and the camera work is superb. A real bonus in a box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright, 8 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent product. This is a valuable resource for planning a walk in the lakes - the helicopter fly by of the route as well as JB's commentary. You can show the kids if your taking them so that they can see what they are going to attempt. JB fills you with the desire to dust your boots off and get out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wainwright, 21 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Each walk clearly described with excellent photography. Julia Bradbury is a marvellous narrator. A series not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely guide to a lovely area, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
Bakersboy (Kingsbury, Staffs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I missed a lot of this series when it ran on the BBC so was very pleased to find it it on DVD at such a fantastic price. My main reason for buying this is that I am a keen walker but have not really explored the Lake District much. To this end, this charming introduction to many of the popular walks in the Lakes was just what I was looking for. It is beautifully put together with stunning views along with some very useful tips on the grade of each walk. This means that anyone can make a clear assessment as to which walks to attempt, based on their fitness level (as well as their head for heights!). However, I wouldn't just recommend this just for walkers. Anyone who loves spectacular scenery and interesting facts on the Lake District would also enjoy this series. So, all in all, this is an excellent series which can can be reviewed time and time again if only for the fantastic scenery it portrays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I first heard of this series when my wife and I stayed in the Lake District a couple of years ago on our very first visit. We live outside of the UK and weren't able to see the series when it was broadcast, so the DVD package is very welcome.

It has immediate interest for all who have any interest in the outdoors, but for anyone who is considering walking in the Lake District it is an extremely useful resource. The selection of walks ranges all the way from the relatively short and simple (Catsbells and Castle Crag) to the more advanced (Scafell, and Helvellyn via Stridng Edge). It gives a good overview of the route and the level of difficulty, and we found it very useful in planning our next trip.

The only criticism I have is that this particular DVD-edition has no subtitles, so those who either have impaired hearing or who do not have English as their mother tongue it may be a problem. My wife is not a native English-speaker and she found it a bit of a challenge following the local dialect. I'm sure the original BBC series must have been produced with English subtitles so why weren't they included on this DVD set?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mostly breathtaking, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Giles (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Nice, compact format - breathtaking views of course and a very pleasant companion in Julia Bradbury. It's sure to inspire most anyone to get on their gear and attempt at least one or two of her jaunty peaks.
The Lakes has been one of my favourite places since childhood and this series does it full justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great views and info on wainwright walks, 17 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this a lot. There are spectacular views for those like myself who would like to go on Wainwright's walks, but couldn't handle the walking and climbing. Or for those of us who live too far away to get there. The camera crew is right there alongside Julie Bradbury to show us what she is seeing each step of the way; there are also aerial views which give give good overviews of the walk to be taken. Bradbury is the perfect host. She injects just the right amount of narration and information without being too intrusive, chatty, or boring. When we visited the Lake District, it was the summer of the torrential rains, so we didn't get to see much of it. This is my compensation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julie Bradbury's Wainwright Walks (box set DVD'S of complete BBC series), 16 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. J. R. Andrews (Newtownabbey,N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent product; Julia Bradbury, an 'AW' fan and Fell walker,takes up the challenge to climb the many peaks around Cumbria and the Lake District
made famous by Albert Wainwright('AW').She uses his famous Guide books to aid her in retracing his steps to very summit of the mountains amid the beauty of the lakes. Stunning views. Excellent presentation.Up to the Beebs usual high quality.Suitable gift for any lover of the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Tool for Me, 23 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this video set to prepare for an upcoming Coast to Coast walk. I am walking the route with a group of women, some of whom have never had the privilege of visiting Great Britain before.

Since the new Julia Bradbury videos highlighting the Coast to Coast walk have not even aired to date and our walk is in August, I thought these videos would be the most useful tool for seeing what at least part of the walk looks like.

This is a very beautiful and informative compilation, and we have enjoyed watching all the video fell walks on both DVDs. Even if you aren't planning to walk in any of these areas, these videos are a delight! Be warned though: watching these videos may turn you into a fell walker...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lake District, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
We are delighted with this video although of course it does not work on our television as we are in Canada however we are watching it on the computer. We used to walk in the Lake District each year when we lived in England and always used Wainwright's guide books. The girl who is doing the walks and commentary is very easy to watch and listen to and it is reliving very fond memories for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD]
£28.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews