Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

  • 3
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2009
As before a number of the songs (Road to Nowhere & Heaven) sound as though they have been chirped into hairbrushes in some delightfully innocent school karaoke. Others (particularly Master and Servant and Parade)sound as though they have been spat out by a tortured diva between vodka martinis and doomed love affairs.

While I greatly admire the guest singers themselves (Mr. Adamson and Mr. Gore in particular) and love the fact that they're in on the fun, I don't think they added much I'm afraid.

That said, if you like your cover versions to be inventive and fresh and/or you thoroughly enjoyed the previous output you're going to be satisfied and (dare I say it - go on dare!) thrilled. Word of warning: if you didn't enjoy the other Nouvelle Vague albums or are particularly precious about the original versions I doubt this will persuade you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
I first heard this in my hairdressers and was intrigued enough to buy the album. It is weird to hear songs from my heyday played in entirely different ways, but enjoyable. In fact liked it so much I bought another of their albums!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
No change from their previous two cover-versions ... beautifully recorded, excellent interpretations ... a perfect lesson in how to breathe sexy lounge life into old punk and rock favourites
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This really shouldn't work, a slow tempo, sensual voiced re-working of a handful of 80's hits, yet somehow far more often than not this really does have that certain something that makes you return only to find it's even better than you remember.
So often when you just expect a simple, stripped down, reworking the rug is pulled out from under your feet as a completely unexpected style is used. The bonkers retro 'Metal' complete with French vocals really ought to be a disaster. I love Numan's work & view this as his finest track but this really works with a groovy hammond organ alongside some effective improvised vocal work. A million miles from the original and no bad thing either.
The ska version of plastic Bertrands early punk classic 'Ca plane pour moi' is somehow like a re-mix of the original.
'say hello wave goodbye' brings an even sadder reflection than the original while still reflecting the hopeful wishing of Soft Cells original.
The highlight for me is 'So lonely' which drops the pace to funereal and strips the vocals back to bare bones with sparse backing and lovely harmonies that is just so sad its awesome!
Not everything works. The more up-tempo covers just dont do it for me. This is all about ballads that allow the vocals to take centre stage where they belong and when the music takes over this is not so strong.
If you are fed up with has beens releasing awful cover albums, X-factor by the numbers warbling and middle class bimbo's pretending to be 'cockerney' then this is just the thing for you. There is nothing else like it out there, it is genuinely different and when it works it really is quite something.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Thank you Amazon for the free introduction to new music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
Good consistent recording with Master & servant,Say Hello Wave Goodbye and Heaven being the highlights still plenty more tracks for them to cover from the 80's catalogue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
Well, they're in Edinburgh at the moment and in Brighton on stage next week; and they've got a string of UK dates in the Autumn - so it's looking as if they'll be promoting something!
I agree though - if you get a chance to see them live - DON'T MISS IT!!!
Cheers
SPARKY
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
Nouvelle vague latest tour of the UK kicks off 24 November 2008 in Brighton, according to their My Space site it will feature "two NEW SINGERS
Nadeah and Marianne Elise - They will perform songs from the forthcoming album on the UK Tour !!!".

Maybe the new album is nearer than you think? ;0)
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£10.51

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)