Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band.....Good Selection For The Beginner
I am a convert from 'Closer'....so decided to buy the album of the same name, great songs lead me to buy this album, after some research went for 'substance'...now i cannot stop playing them.
After looking on Amazon for more JD cd's saw the new release of 'Heart and soul'...a 4 cd boxed set for less than 18.00 with 81 tracks on could not be turned down.
Published on 5 Dec 2008 by Blue Tornado

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with owning some songs, own all the albums
I think that best offs are really ideal for people who either kind of like a band or for someone that wants to try them out. The thing is, Joy Division are one of the best bands of all time. I could have the best of David Bowie, but I don't - I have all his albums and have enjoyed the music much more for it. There is no substitute for an album.

There is also...
Published on 2 May 2008 by ANewKillerStar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band.....Good Selection For The Beginner, 5 Dec 2008
By 
Blue Tornado (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
I am a convert from 'Closer'....so decided to buy the album of the same name, great songs lead me to buy this album, after some research went for 'substance'...now i cannot stop playing them.
After looking on Amazon for more JD cd's saw the new release of 'Heart and soul'...a 4 cd boxed set for less than 18.00 with 81 tracks on could not be turned down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with owning some songs, own all the albums, 2 May 2008
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
I think that best offs are really ideal for people who either kind of like a band or for someone that wants to try them out. The thing is, Joy Division are one of the best bands of all time. I could have the best of David Bowie, but I don't - I have all his albums and have enjoyed the music much more for it. There is no substitute for an album.

There is also a very natural flow to albums like Unknown Pleasures which you will simply miss out on with a best of. The inclusion of the Peel sessions is good, but realistically that's only for a true Joy Division fan and they will probably already have them.

My advice is to get Unknown Pleasures first if you're new to Joy Division - it is one of the most startlingly accomplished albums I have ever heard. From there, get Closer and if you're loving what you're hearing seek out such amazing tracks as Transmission, Atmosphere, Love Will Tear Us Apart and Dead Souls. Joy Division have an incredibly strong catalogue of songs. The fact that they kept some of these tracks/singles off their albums might hint that they weren't good enough, but the truth is that this band was so good that these singles matched if not superseced some of the album tracks!

I'll finish by adding that if you do love Joy Division and want to hear some bands that have similar styles, try out Magazine, Echo & The Bunnymen (particularly Heaven Up Here) and early The Cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peel sessions make it great, 22 April 2008
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
If your new to Joy Division then this is a good intro, and with the peel sessions (alone cost double this 2cd comp) chucked in its good value for anyone who hasnt got them already. Thats why I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must, If your a fan of bands like 'The Smiths, The Cure you will like these., 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
This is a whole Joy division package with songs which blow your mind away. Also with John Peel Sessions and Interviews it's quality. Ian Curtis was a talented individual indeed. Watch Control 'Film' to understand his songs better. "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so recordings of a few great songs recycled, 2 Nov 2010
By 
R. C. Lucas "RichardXXL" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
Despite loving Joy Division's material, I was a little disappointed with this album.
Although the style of the band has a lot to do with its' 'ragged edge genius', several of the tracks here were quite poor recordings, with the music badly balanced (far too heavy on the bass), and several songs repeated.
Sad fact is that this band weren't around long enough to generate a double album's worth of 'best of' music.
Brilliance still shines through on tracks like 'Shadowplay'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Substance Might Have Been A Better Reissue, 25 April 2008
By 
J. D. Ando "jeffa79" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
but I for one reckon this CD has a place in anyone's collection, managing to serve as the perfect accompaniment to last year's reissues of UP, Closer and Still.

8 of the 14 tracks are digitally remastered versions of tracks found on Substance and not on the above 3 releases (including the single version of 'She's Lost Control' as opposed to the UP version), while Disc 2 (pointless interview aside) is worth the cost of this compilation alone. Sure, the likes of NDF, Shadowplay, Heart & Soul and 24 Hours are on the studio albums, but surely there's nothing wrong with having these tracks on more than one album, such is their quality.

A great introduction to newcomers and an excellent addition to existing fans alike. I agree Decades should have been on there though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Song remains the same., 25 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
There was an inevitability that London Records would milk the current media frenzy surrounding all things Joy Division. This release is a manifestation of that. And it will be of no surprize that similar releases will appear in the future. But lets get it straight from the start, Why else would have London bought the rights in the first place? Joy Division re-releases are no different from re-releases by the Clash, Boyzone, Led Zepplin or Britney for that matter. Thats the way the business works. The packaging may be different, but the song remains the same.

So what are we to make of this latest compilation? It is feasible to own all these tracks already or at least have the MP3 files. The tracks selected have included many of the quintessential Joy Division songs, but that not difficult considering the band only recorded two studio albums.

Digital represents an early example of the meshing of Hooks and Morris's style that was to concrete the Joy Division sound. Pulsating bass and off-beat drumming: the Joy Division trademark. Disorder Unknown Pleasure's opener, a song which caught my attention instantly when hearing it many years ago is a welcome track, Albrecht-Sumner's shearing guitar creates the mood of the sound resulting in the hypnotic-trance sound dynamics allowing that "Dance" to mature.

Both Shadowplay and New Dawn Fades have both been covered by The Killers and Moby respectively. Both these tracks will be perpetually associated with UP and that period of the bands development. New Dawn Fades in my view, still remains the greatest Joy Division song, so any record without this song would be futile. The track is beautiful in it dimensions-one should appreciate Hannett's remarkable contribution to the song-It starts with an descending A-bass scale tinged with the glassy sounding picking of the strings by Barney. Curtis's baritone vocals are quietly introduced into the song steadily building up in intensity, reaching a climax then coming full cycle to the opening scale riff. It is easy to feel we have been on some journey after listening to this song.

Dead Souls the wonderful paradoxically titled song is rather distrubing in its vocal delivery, the theme being of nightmares. Its a reminder that not all is well on planet life. "They keep calling me" Curtis reminds us.

I dont need to say much about Love Will Tear Us Apart because too much has already been said about this song. And the danger here is that Joy Division may be seen as a "one trick pony" but its totally understandable why it have been included. Unless you have been living on Mars, you will know the song.

Shes Lost Control an other hightlight of UP was given further credence by the performance of the song live on the BBCs Something Else. This recording can be found on disc 2. No one can fail to recognise the authenticity of both the song and the performance: Rock Art at it very best. SLC allows the bass to become lead and the lead to become rhythm, having the bass so high in the mix at the time was something of a rarity unless you were the Gang of Four. Grace Jones of all people went on to cover this song for any buffs out there!

Atmosphere is a song that has grown on me over the years, maybe not as dynamic as many of the other tracks, but one must stop and pause for breath. The strange thing about atmosphere is its simplicity yet ability to create such a lasting impression on the listener. The miminalist design of the song is countered by eerie teardrop-like keyboards ( My that sounds like a Hannettism!) The listener is asked not "to walk away in silence" as life is rebuilding. This song might be considered to contain, along with Love will tear us apart, Ian Curtis's most biographical lyrics.

Transmission was always a victim of its own success and brilliance. Far too clever to get the airplay it merited and deserved.A brilliant pop record in its own right, commercial radio didnt understand it or didnt have the bottle to give it airplay. The same people many years later were trying to claim credit for breaking Joy Division! Thanks to Tony (thats Wilson not Blackburn!)for keeping the faith.

My guess is that only collectors and original fans will venture into the marketplace to get this "latest" release. I will buy it because it should fit quite nicely with my car cd collection. And any morning I feel the need for some existential/introspective reflection, I have the material available. I remember when we were young!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars deep joy, 6 July 2014
By 
Edwardbutler "eddie hamster" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
great cd of the best of joy division .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New to joy division!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Joy Division (Audio CD)
New to joy division thought I'd give it a go! Still listening to it. Glad I started with the best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Joy Division
The Best Of Joy Division by Joy Division (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews