Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb kit, easy for kids & adult use WHEN you know how...(instructions)
I've popped this up on a few sellers review aspects because I use these a lot, & am forever encountering folk who simply cannot fathom them out....

If you cannot use one then you are doing something wrong, VERY wrong.
I have this model & have taught succesive children as young as 5 to use, strike & light a fire with this kit.

1.First off the...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by J. Spennewyn

versus
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product fine - but not what's advertised
The product was of a fine quality and did the job, however, the name of the product and the picture displayed weren't the same as the product that arrived. The name and the picture need to be changed.
Published on 29 April 2009 by T. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb kit, easy for kids & adult use WHEN you know how...(instructions), 4 Jan 2012
By 
J. Spennewyn "boxer lady" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
I've popped this up on a few sellers review aspects because I use these a lot, & am forever encountering folk who simply cannot fathom them out....

If you cannot use one then you are doing something wrong, VERY wrong.
I have this model & have taught succesive children as young as 5 to use, strike & light a fire with this kit.

1.First off the striker needs to be the right way up for max effect.
2. you need tinder (the phrase is tinder dry)
3. sparks ignite small items not chunks of wood initially, we need to coax a flame.
4 if possible for practise grab a few cosmetic make-up remover pads 9round ones) from the bathroom.

5. Tease the pad till it's wispy but still as one pad.
6. make sure your striker is not on the string (limiting movement & potential)
7. your shaft will improve with age, practise strike technique without making grooves on the length of the shaft (rotate it after a few strikes for even wear) ..exposed silver will make for better sparks compared to a brand new black shaft.
NOTE this doesn't mean removing all the black, it just means practise & observe the difference over time!

8. you need to strike in very close proximity to your fuel & make sure it's out of wind in order that it cannot scatter.

9. hold the striker angled against the shaft (you'll see)
10. pull the shaft away from the striker*

*otherwise you stand every chance of bashing your striker into your tinder, scattering it completely.

11. practise the same with a few more cotton pads before moving onto more fuels & bigger things.

It's all technique, you'll get a sore thumb initially ..but it's a simple knack, so I estimate a good 10 -30 minutes getting your strike technique down (it's addictive) ..which will wear the black off & make for better bigger sparks..

Congratulations fire starter!
Now show your kids, how to learn the knack & respect the flame!
In my own experience this made my child very fire aware & keen to keep safe where a naked flame is, she's not curious about lighters, matches or similar, but she's proud that she can set a fire & cook, she knows to spot good fuel & assemble the basics.

Because sometimes denying kids access to this sort of thing may make them more curious & likely to hurt themselves & others.

These are basic tips not outright user instructions! ..you-tube is also good but uyou may wade through alot of tutorials that are in part erroneous, ..some are good some are lousy.
Ultimately though don't use the striker use the flint as the lighting tool & "draw it back", don't place the flint shaft on the ground & put lots of pressure on it, they may snap, ..again scattering all your tinder material as you thump about, ..using downward striking pressure on the striker (down the shaft) will merely scatter your tinder, so always pull back on the shaft holding the striker still & angled!

Have fun.
follow my technique as a guideline & establish your own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST HAVE item for outdoor folk.., 26 Dec 2008
By 
Wolfboy (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
The previous reviewer has commented on how good these Firesteels are. I can only add my endorsement - they are truly awesome and work in any conditions. In order to get a fire started you need to to have very dry tinder - I'd recommend you carry some cotton wool balls with a small amount of Petroleum Jelly smeared on them - they light easily and burn for a good 20+ seconds - enough to get your fire going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Constant companion", 23 April 2010
By 
J. R. HARRIS "Jeff :-)" (Carmarthen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
If you need a fire in an emergency then you need a Firesteel you can trust 100%, and this is it my friends. I speak through personal experience. I have had my Firesteel for 3 years and it's still going strong despite 100's of fires being lit by it using many different tinders, natural and man-made! (I lit a fire using a cramp ball fungus with it!) When it eventually wears out I will be buying another one. This is Ray Mears personal preference for a Firesteel (say no more!) and he states this in his excellent book "Essential Bushcraft" along with an identical photograph of it! Anyone who down rates this awesome, essential piece of outdoor equipment is obviously not using it right, or Mr Mears and myself are wrong, I"ll let you decide. It's also under a tenner so if you're on a tight budget, Happy days! Enjoy! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light My Fire, 1 Feb 2010
By 
G. Barton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
If you need to light fires, stoves or other outdoor flames this is for you.

It's waterproof, easy to carry and has no batteries to go flat. Easy to get the hang of striking and produces a complete shower of sparks, suitable for lighting dry shredded paper, leaves or other tinder. For gas, meths or similar just strike through the fuel vapour over the burner.

When mine eventually wears out (each strike uses a tiny bit of material) I'll certainly get another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FireSteel 2.0, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
Great quality item, as expected. Just one thing to note, and it's not a criticism of the seller or the product. The Firesteel shown is the original version of the product and the one that arrived is version 2, boasting a rounded oak handle on the steel and a plastic easy to grip handle on the striker with an integrated emergency whistle. Again, these modifications are not a bad thing but it is something that appears time and time again in reviews of this product, often as a negative towards the seller and/or product. The Firesteel is fantastic and does exactly what it is meant to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product!, 28 Aug 2010
By 
cutie (england...<3) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
I bought this for my teenage brother, who absolutely loves it, and tries to use it whenever necessary (or not so necessary!) It is very easy to use, and very effective. I would recommend it to people who you know to be responsible, or it could possibly end up causing some damage it's so effective!!
I would definitely recommend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect lighter for outdoor living, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Antonio (Italy, land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
When you stay in an outdoor space, with real harsh environment, and you fall down in a river/lake/wet-land, all normal lighters stop their functionality. With this beautiful object, you recover a real important situation: the possibility to ignite a fire. When you understand the (simple) actions you have to make to generate a beautiful spark, without electricity or others, you will be very happy !
You can feel like the captain of fire !!!
It is important to have very dry objects under the spark! Also paper you can ignite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this one., 12 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
Great shopping experience from Glosticks. This product is so much better than the Webtex version. V2 of the Swedish Army Firesteel has been completely re-designed: newly shaped grips on the rod and striker making them much easier to grip; great steel striker; striker handle incorporates brilliant little survival whistle (surprisingly loud). The metallic composition of this rod is absolutely spot on and it is really easy to get a great shower of sparks with minimal effort simply by scraping the tip of the rod. This firesteel is so easy to use and any muppet can use this with success every time. The sheer ease of use and the fact that you don't need to strike along the entire length of the firesteel also means that it's longevity increases tenfold (every time you scrape the rod you wear a bit away). So, if you're looking for one of these products then look no further. THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY.

April 13

Used this loads of time since I first purchsed it. Without doubt this is the easiest fire steel I've ever used and can throw a great shower of sparks with minimal effort and pressure. Absolutely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Army Firesteel, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Swedish Army Firesteel (Sports)
Length:: 1:18 Mins

my review of the Swedish Army Firesteel. // Video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for outdoor people, 28 April 2006
By 
Master Md Smith "smithy1405" (Port Talbot, S. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just bought the smaller version of this one but it works all the same. Quick and easy. One thing I will say is that to get the fire going you have to get some good, dry leaves, bark etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swedish Army Firesteel
Swedish Army Firesteel by Light my Fire
16.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews