Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I must say, you guys have certainly come up with something..."
It was with a certain trepidation that I put this, my first blu-ray disk, into my new Panasonic blu-ray player. "2001: a space odyssey" has been my favourite film for as long as I can remember, and I've owned copies on a variety of VHS tapes and DVDs.

The theme is just about as epic as it's possible to imagine: the evolution of man from ape through human to a...
Published on 15 Aug 2008 by Kenneth F. Mcara

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I love 2001 A Space Odyssey. It's a lifetime faveourite. However as a Blue Ray film, the quality is scandalously bad. Note: this isn't a reflection on the seller in any way who plainly isn't responsible for what the studio released here! This is a criticism of the Blue Ray release. There is dirt and dust and scratches in evidence everywhere. This must have been mastered...
Published 23 months ago by Rocket Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1968 Yet You'd Think It Was Made Yesterday, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on DVD because as much as I'd heard a lot about this film I had never seen it.

Believe me - the optical illusions created in this film would convince you it was made yesterday.

There is zero CGI in this film - it is all done with optical effects/props and camera trickery.

Considering everything is done on the cheap with CGI nowadays - it is needless to say that this film is something you must have.

It is films like these where the maker's put in the passionate effort to create as realistic and illusion as possible with real life people and real life sets, where you feel totally entertained.

Like you believed Christopher Reeve really could fly, you'll believe these guys really are in zero gravity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pinnicle Of Evolution, 27 Sep 2006
By 
Vica (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
Masterful, exquisite, breath-taking, captivating, provoking. For as Kubrick proves words are not integral to a film, so these words I use cannot do this film justice, nor can they adequately encapsulate the vast landscape which the director has painted.

Undoubtedly the greatest science fiction film to have ever graced cinematic screens, "2001" dwarfs anything I have ever viewed in terms of grandiose imagery to deep philosophical notions. What is next? Who are we? Why are we here? The film touches all concepts. It is intrinsically scientific yet carries the connotations or religion. The evolutionary cycle of mankind from manape through to "star-child", this film tackles such a notion in such a simple, yet effective manner, it is difficult for many to comprehend or enjoy.

Those with limited attention spans will surely switch this film off come the early "docking" sequence, and the fact that words are not spoken til twenty-five minutes into the film, will stun many. This film has no blazing space battles, nor does it contain complicated dialogue involving hyperdrives and mangling with quantum mechanics. Kubrick stays true to reality. This film is certainly not for those under the age of 18, not due to violence or graphic content, but because young minds are not prepared for such a film as this.

Many complain (as fore-mentioned) about the docking sequence, being "sooo" long, this is done purposefully not to test ones patience, nor has it even been done for the aesthetic value, it is done to highlight the expanse that is space. The never ending vastness. The film is not about how fast we can go, but how much we can learn.

The presence of the domineering black monolith, here signifies moments of mans evolution. The touching, and exposure to sunlight, of the monolith triggers sparks of progression, the apes realisation of a tool/weapon, the revelation of the monoliths connection to Jupiter, the wonderfully hypnotic "beyond the infinite", it becomes the guideline, the pacemaker, the parent that holds a child's hand as they cross the road, so that they may continue their journey.

This film brings forth the notion of humanity in its purest form. The Monolith provides the manapes with the knowledge of "craftsmanship" yet shows technology to be our greatest asset and our greatest weakness. We place our humanity into a non-entities, metallic bolts, and leave none for ourselves. The reliance on technology is our downfall, yet we cannot progress without it. Kubrick has created a film mirroring the life cycle using creative, deep symbolism, while the dialogue fills our heads with wonder, feeding our instinctive, inquisitive nature, that makes us, as a race, what we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2001 revisited, 5 Feb 2006
Having just obtained a large, flat screen TV I am finally ready to watch this again. It was ruined on the small screen. I am old enough to remember watching 2001 in the cinema when first released and I was so gobsmacked I sat through it twice (you could do in those days!) and felt it was not so much a movie as a religious experience. It is a work of art. You can smile at the (surprisingly few) dated touches, or the antique special effects, but it is still a visual feast. Who can forget the dance of the spaceships, the enigma of the black monolith or the silent menace of HAL's glowing eye. I am ready to be mesmerised all over again. My only regret is that the real 2001 turned out to be such a disappointment compared to this vision of the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trying to explain, 17 Jan 2005
By 
Alex Fell (Rugby, Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
A perusal of the other reviews of this film show a sharp division in people's views: some people love this film (and I am one of those) and other people find it unutterably dull. I personally reckon that this difference is down to what people think a science fiction film should do.
If you think that Star Wars (or something like that) is the best SF film ever made, AVOID 2001. You will be disappointed. However, it should be pointed out that while Star Wars (to continue the example) is an excellent, highly entertaining film, it ain't, to be quite frank, science fiction at all. Why not? Because there is absolutely no science in it, and it does not hinge upon any scientific ideas (physical or social). You could take away the light sabres and the Force and all the other SF trappings, and it would work perfectly well as a fantasy movie (which is what it is), a gangster movie, a western, whatever. It deals with themes of good and evil, relationships between fathers and sons, and redemption (albeit somewhat cartoonishly, but still fabululous to look at). But these are not "science fiction" themes, but much more universal ideas (unsurprisingly, since Lucas drew his ideas from Joseph Campbell's analysis of the core themes of human myth).
SF, on the other hand, tries to take some sort of scientific idea or current trend, and give it a twist, pushing it into the future to explore that idea by exaggerating it. The film Soylent Green, for example, took the fears of overpopulation that were prevalent in the 1960s and imagined a future with massive overpopulation. Perhaps not the most compelling film in the world, but "proper" science fiction. 2001 considers what might happen if inscutable aliens were steering human evolution, to whatever mysterious ends they might have. This definition of science fiction is largely based on that of science fiction literature. 2001 had the ultimate SF writer of the period, Arthur C Clarke, on board, so the film ended up much more like a cinema version of a science fiction novel. It was also made before the time of the cinema "blockbuster" - Star Wars was arguably the first of these, for better and worse. As such, 2001's aesthetic was shaped much more by literary science fiction, and also by the somewhat bleak and chilly eye of Kubrick, and much less by the needs for non-stop action to keep the popcorn brigade happy.
The film is oddly paced by some standards, and not a lot happens in a conventional sense. It also at the end commits the "sin" of not actually explaining itself (it is slightly unfair to expect people to read the book of 2001 to understand the ending of the film, but on the other hand spoonfeeding the audience can be a tad patronising). (I won't go into details on the film itself as there are plenty of other reviews.)
But for me, the film is only one to really get close to what it just might be like to interact with a vastly powerful and hugely advanced alien civilisation, compared to which we are barely developed. It is also an antidote to the "Star Trek" notion of alien-ness (we are all human, only some of us are blue with little antennae on our heads). It is "sense of wonder" brought to the cinema screen in a way no other film has got close.
If you like Pitch Black more, well, you are entitled to your tastes. But then again, maybe you just didn't know what you were looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cinematic masterpiece, 18 Feb 2003
Quite simply one of the most beautiful films ever, a true work of art and an essential purchase for anybody who like sci-fi or film in general.
The film revolves around the evolution or the "ascent" of man from our earliest beginnings to the next step beyond what we are today, all given a few nudges along by some mysterious monoliths.
However, the subtle plot with its altogether Nietzschian overtones is only part of the picture, Stanley Kubricks/Arthur C Clarks(not just the author of the book he worked with Kubrick on the film) vision of the future from there world in the late 1960s is breathtaking.
The cinematography is incredible, watch this DVD in a dark room on a good widescreen set up and the beauty of this film just washes over you and the famous sound track is perfect.
This is cold hard Science fiction, films like Star Wars though set in space are more fantasy/action/adventure based really and even real sci-fi like star trek etc always seems to twist or just plain ignore the the laws of physics to get around a plot point.
There is none of that here, the attention to detail is spotless down to the small things like the fact there is no sound in a vacuum, a mistake, deliberate or accidental made in almost every space film ever mad.
Altogether this is a classic and this collectors pack includes the soundtrack on a separate CD and some nice stuff like a film frame with it, my only bad point is that there are no comentarys or documentarys on the DVD itself and a film of this caliber really merits some investment by the studio in that way, but still 5 stars all the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb transfer for 2001 on BluRay, 9 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001 - A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was very excited to watch this again as it has been some time since I last sat down to watch it. I read on a few sites that this BluRay was very good quality for a film it's age, and boy were they right.

The film looks like it was made yesterday, so clean and fresh looking, highly detailed and almost looks 3d - the images in space are awesome,the quality of the sets and detailing all add to this being one of the best BluRays available.
How on Earth Stanley Kubrick came up with this level of production at the time I don't know. It's even groundbreaking by todays standards.

We have to remember there was no CGI back then and the film benefits from incredible models that look phenominally real.
This is not an action movie as such and the 2 and half hours go along at a steady and sometimes slow pace, but what you get from the movie is just sheer awe. The story of HAL going haywire is brilliant and I wished there had been a little more to that part of the story, but it's not a major gripe, it was and still is a classic movie for me.

Probably the most realistic looking SpaceMovie ever made, and on BluRay, it looks absolutely pristine, like watching it for the first time,there is oodles of stuff you end uplooking at that you simply can't see on DVD and the colours are also tremendous. From the sunsets to begin with, the lighting effects in Space and beautiful iconic images that imbed into your mind make this film a breath of fresh air, and even more so on BluRay
.Some nice Extras are on the disc too, so it's been very nicely put together. One thing to notice is the movie instantly started upon playing in my ps3, so there was no menu from the start, but that was ok as I couldn't wait to get into it, I just had to press topmenu for the extras.

A Very Very Highly Recommended BluRay, one which will be treasured for a very long time. Reference stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIND-BLOWING, 17 Jan 2008
By 
Kelvin J. Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The greatest science-fiction film ever made.

You've seen it, you sort of know the plot: extra-terrestrial guidance, via ANCIENT MONOLITH, shapes Mankind in preparation for his next stage of evolution. For many, it's the quintessential love-it or hate-it experience.

And since we haven't been able to catch STANLEY KUBRICK's masterpiece in a cinema - much less a digitally-equipped one - for over thirty years, I'm assuming that you already possess a HIGH-DEFINITION WIDESCREEN TV, a PS3 (or similar) and want to know if this BLU-RAY edition of 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY lives up to expectations, yes?

Well, it does. The picture is fantastic, the level of detail just incredible. THE DAWN OF MAN sequence has astonishing depth of field, which is all the more amazing when you discover that the skyscapes were in actuality stills, or plates, front-projected onto the backdrops of an outdoor studio near Shepherd's Bush. A place, or a moment, in 'pre-historic' 1968 where something ordinary became truly extraordinary.

As we reach outer space, and fractured bone becomes brushed metal, pinpoints of stars twinkle like never before, the exterior cladding of ships, satellites and moon shuttles rendered with similar clarity to allow us the ultimate space vehicle inspection tour. And isn't THE USS DISCOVERY the most beautifully designed ship of them all?

JUPITER AND BEYOND THE INFINITE is where we get to take the ultimate trip in every sense. This is where the high-definition image really earns its money, as far as I'm concerned, and it's the showcase moment let loose in all its glory, a sequence that had much the same effect when I saw it in 70mm Cinerama. Completely mind-blowing.

Soundwise, the film has a very centre-speaker feel but don't be put off too much by that. The dialogue is well placed and significantly superior in uncompressed 5.1 to the regular DVD, right down to the oft-present oxygen hiss in the EVA sequences or the infamous moment when DAVE BOWMAN literally pulls the plug on the "incapable of error" HAL 9000 series. I wonder whether Daisy would have had such a heartless response to his distortion of information?

Music is used sparingly but to brilliant effect. For example, STRAUSS's THE BLUE DANUBE and KHACHATURIAN's haunting GAYNE'S ADAGIO sound wonderful and complement perfectly their out-of-this-world setting (a quite audacious leap of faith on the director's part, incidentally, seeing as both pieces were only intended for use as guide tracks on the rough cut).

Whichever way you look at it, this REGION FREE BLU-RAY DISC is a stunning example of what the format stands for.

Did I also mention that the film's pretty good, too?

UNRESERVEDLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Classic, 12 Dec 2008
By 
Chris A "chris_store" (From my undersea lair) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001 - A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is essential for all Blu-Ray playing sci-fi fans. I have seen this in the Cinema, so I knew this was good visually. It certainly stands up to the latest films. What is really special is the pacing of the film. recent films drown you in atmospheric music, silence is not allowed, nor is long shots. Director are now afraid to give the audience pause, there has to be constant cuts and wobbly hand held shots to make it 'real'. 2001 shows how it can be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine masterpiece, 6 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Much as the terms 'genius' and 'masterpiece' are over-used in describing just about anything that's remotely worthy, Kubrick's interpretation of Arthur C Clarke's book deserves every accolade it gets. It's an astounding, spell-binding, remarkable epic that leaves you with the tangible feeling of having been on a journey that has jangled every sense in your body beyond recognition. The visual scope is breathtaking, the famous score will haunt your mind forever and the special effects are brilliant, especially given the film's age.

'2001' is certainly not going to appeal to everyone and there are plenty of people who simply won't get it. I can only feel sorry for them, as to enjoy this film is one of the most satisfying cinematic experiences I've ever had. Debate will rage as to what the film is actually about: just to throw in my twopence worth, I believe it's a commentary on the evolution of humankind and how we always revert to the same basic instincts no matter what our technological advancements. But on a more fundamental level, it's simply a great film. The creepy sense of foreboding that pervades the film is beautifully executed by Kubrick and you really get the feeling of being alone in the big black more succinctly than many more recent effects-laden efforts. Dialogue is minimal and the better for it, as it allows the audience to involve themselves in the story to work out what is going on and there are so many iconic scenes that you will end up breathless trying to count them.

An awesome work of grandeur and vision that still overwhelms the senses, decades after its release. One of the best films ever made and deserves a place in any true cinema fan's DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic piece of 20th century cinema, 12 Jun 2006
'2001' is a wonderous piece of cinematic beauty. Kubrick's clever use of sound effects, musical accompaniment and his variation between simple backdrops and colours at the start, and, ultimately the pyschedelical colours towards the end, are simply breathtaking.

This film features very famous set pieces, most memorably, the interactions between HAL 9000 computer and Dave, which is the primary plot device for the film. These two characters have some, often, very humorous as well as tense interactions, which are accompanied by stylish retro-futuristic visuals and, now infamous, music. Kubrick's skills really shine through, and are ultimately what help make this film so watchable.

This film single-handedly revolutionised science fiction movies, and the designs for various interiors and such, have been mimicked by many other famous sci-fi films, such as Alien and Solaris.

'2001: A Space Odyssey" is not only an enjoyable film to watch, but also a piece of 20th century art and popularly pinned as Kubrick's apex. It'd be a crime to miss out on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2001 - A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
2001 - A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Stanley Kubrick (Blu-ray - 2008)
Used & New from: 34.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews