Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purcell
This is an excellent seven-CD set. With substantial box-sets like this which are very reasonably priced, there is always a slight worry in my mind that the performances will be a bit substandard. That was a misplaced worry with this set - Pieter-Jan Belder and Musica Amphion do Purcell proud.

The music itself is delightful. You get the Sonatas Of Three- and...
Published on 23 Oct. 2009 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product
the recording is fine most enjoyable but quality of manufacture of cds lets it down had to send mine back wouldnt play
Published on 12 Aug. 2012 by Discerning


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purcell, 23 Oct. 2009
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
This is an excellent seven-CD set. With substantial box-sets like this which are very reasonably priced, there is always a slight worry in my mind that the performances will be a bit substandard. That was a misplaced worry with this set - Pieter-Jan Belder and Musica Amphion do Purcell proud.

The music itself is delightful. You get the Sonatas Of Three- and Four-Parts, the Fantazias and In Nomines, three discs of harpsichord music and one of miscellaneous chamber music. All of it displays Purcell's melodic gift and inventive harmony and there's nothing in any of the seven discs that smacks of filler; it's a treasure trove of great music which will give you pleasure for many years.

The performances, too, are very good. I have the excellent London Baroque discs of the Sonatas, and I think these stand up very well beside them. Belder's harpsichord playing is very fine on the solo works. The Fantazias and In Nomines are also very well played by the ensemble. They play on violins, violas and violas da gamba rather than viols, and I miss the wonderful sound on Fretwork's superb disc of these pieces Purcell - The Complete Fantazias (Fretwork), but the playing is excellent and, on these instruments, I have no complaint about the performance whatever.

In short, it's a gem of a set and truly excellent value. This will make a fitting tribute for Purcell's 350th anniversary year in 2009, and I recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius of Purcell revisited, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
Dr. Bernardo Pinto Almeida (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
This is a marvelous collection of the instrumental chamber music by Henry Purcel. The several cds include interpretations of pieces less known and constitues an indispensable record.
The price for this jewell is another surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money, 12 Feb. 2012
By 
Stephen Churley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
Whilst I have many other performances of much of this music, having it all gathered together in a slim 7CD set is very handy for keeping in the car or taking on holiday. The disc of miscellaneous string music and overtures is particularly useful as much of that music is not otherwise available. There was a superb recording of much of it by the Leonhardt Consort which has never been surpassed. My one cavil: the famous Fantasia 3 Parts on a Ground Z731 is played on recorders in this performance. It cannot compete with the bite and swagger of violins as played by the Leonhardt Consort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
Over the years I have read many reviews on Purcell's music. All for the good and by default, they helped whet my interest. Thus I embarked on a voyage of discovery when I took possession of this magnificent set of seven cds.

All of Henry Purcell's chamber music is here. No faults can be attached to this recording. Perfection is the only way to describe these works.
As I am extremely partial to the Organ and Harpsichord, I tend to judge every other instrument against these. No disappointment ensued, as the standard of all the performers without exception is exemplary.

What impresses also is the quality of the packaging and the very expressive liner notes. This is a superlative recording by musicians who are passionate about their music, guided by Pieter-Jan Belder. I could not have asked for better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality product, 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purcell - Complete Chamber Music (Audio CD)
the recording is fine most enjoyable but quality of manufacture of cds lets it down had to send mine back wouldnt play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purcell - Complete Chamber Music
Purcell - Complete Chamber Music by Musica Amphion Pieter-Jan Belder (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews