Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2015
This is rip-off pricing. People in the UK exploring the benefits of resistant starch/potato starch can get potato starch much more cheaply than this For example: Ocado stock Swedish "Potatis mjol" potato starch (500g) for £1.99. (the Ocado website calls it "Flour" but it is actually starch - exactly the same potato starch as Bob's Red Mill ) . Holland and Barrett sell 500g of "Good Stuff" potato starch for £1.65 (from Germany). Infinity Foods do an organic version of potato starch at £2.75 for 500g. So, just because the Bob's Red Mill version is the one mentioned on various US websites, there's no need to put up with this profiteering rip-off behaviour from UK online suppliers! Exactly the same product is available elsewhere in the UK for about a fifth of the price...
99 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This product was recommended by Mark Sissons of Mark's Daily Apple fame as a way to feed your lower gut. As most people know, potato is full of starch that is not digestible until cooked. The idea is to mix this raw, and therefore undigestable, starch into something like a whey shake and the starch passes undigested into the lower gut where it ferments and becomes a potent food for the gut itself as well as encouraging good while discouraging bad gut flora and fauna. Start slowly - I began by adding only a teaspoon to my post workout or morning shake a few times a week and now am adding about two tablespoons, which is roughly the amount of undigestable starch a more ancient diet might have contained daily. It's a low cost (per dose), and low risk idea and so far, I have obtained only positive results aside from a slight tendency to flatulence at the beginning. The real benefits seem likely only to show over a very extended period though, so it's a long-term strategy for improving bowel health but in the short and medium term, it comes under the heading 'pre-biotic' and so should show results in improved immune response and better digestion of the other good (and let's face it, increasingly expensive), high quality foods that might be in my diet.
Highly recommended.
11 comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
If you're looking for better gut health this stuff is what you need. It's a form of resistant starch (RS2) which your gut bacteria feeds on and allows them to remain in healthy numbers and multiply.

Mix 1 heaped tablespoon into a glass of water, stirr, and drink. Don't worry, there's no bad taste!

Build up to 3 tablespoons after a few months, but do this SLOWLY or you will get room clearing farts.

A probiotic should be used alongside this. Bio-Kult is a good one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
The mark up being charged here is verging on extortion ! Suggest UK consumers looking for raw unmodified potato starch to use as a prebiotic have a look into Encona Farina instead. Far, far cheaper and does exactly the same thing.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
yes this works well to reduce my sugar levels and is great for batter for prawns chines style and fish,chicken and veg dishes so try it its great for many things including helping diabetes 2 to help even out blood sugar added raw to shakes it works very well indeed ,i wish i had discovered this years ago !,amazing stuff but i must say you can get it alot cheaper than this on the internet and delivered cheaper so shop around a English version is just as good if not better and only £1.25 for 500grams .
as aways the case shop around for a better price .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Delivery - Super Quick
ease of use - Mixes Easily with Squash - Fruit Juice-
but Keep Stirring so it doesn;t turn to a Slurry concrete Glop in the Bottom
taste - not of anything...

If your After Resistant Startch then this is a good Source, been using it for 3 weeks and it
is a good product for it, I felt 'Fizzy' and a tuch Bloaty at first but this is to be Expected.

I will buy again
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Please be aware that POTATO FLOUR and POTATO STARCH are 2 different things, Starch is just Potato Starch and the Flour is the WHOLE Potato and is totally a different species.

This is a good product and exactly what it say's in the description. But it's not Organic, the company said they buy their Potatoes from EU not USA so they shouldn't be GMO either.

I bought this to use internally for 'Resistant Starch' to put good probiotics in to my gut, along with Drinking Kefir and Kombucha. I also 'revised' my diet and read up on ''' Gut Microbiome,''' and'' Soil-Based Probiotic'', which i just eat soil left on my veg not washed off.

And on ''Weed's'' ( REAL FOOD) i pick and eat as their really good for you. And if there is soil under my nails i don't wash that of either before i eat as we really need the pre and probiotics from soil as well as other places.

Dirt is actually really beneficial to us and our immune system, and all this 'Anti-Bacterial' crap is killing us and the planet off!!

We are made from mostly bacteria and water , so get dirty, eat dirt and stop being so Genocidal about germ's and bacteria. Without them we wouldn't be here. xxxx
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Bought this after reading articles on the benefits of ingesting resistant starch (RS) which apparently provides a good environment for the necessary strains of bacillus in a probiotic capsule, and enhancesd your health and immune system. It is easy to take (I mix two teaspoonsful in a little milk) .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
such a tiny amount thickens soups and stews and gravy best gluten free thickener |I have found
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Bobs mill starch. this is the one you need if you are taking it for your gut.As I am
See for your self active40 .. net
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)