Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown ok UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by Tetsugaku-San

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, spoiled by the below-par UK DVD release
This is a great addition to the Terminator franchise and a must-see for mainstream sci-fi fans. However, this UK DVD release is spoiled by the lack of extras beyond the 'Terminated Scenes'.

I ended up taking the plunge with my first Blu-ray player in order to watch the feature-rich UK Blu-ray box set instead; alternatively, if your DVD player can play region 1...
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by J. P. Schlackman


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown ok UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough good things about this show.

There have been some genuinely chilling moments, just as you start to feel that Cameron is taking on human qualities, she walks away from an innocent being murdered, but then we see her trying to Ballet dance and being watched by a hiding human.

I really cannot express what a pleasant thrill it was to sit down and watch something so good.

5/5 - go get it now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator: The Sarah Chronicles Season 1 Blu-ray, 29 Mar 2011
The Story
The Sarah Conner chronicles follows on from the terminator 2 storyline. It changes where instead of Sarah dies from cancer before judgement day she is still alive due to a time jump into the future. Thus the story is focused on Sarah and John in their mission to stop judgement day whilst trying to keep John alive. What makes this story interesting though is the development of John as a teenager and his preparation into becoming the leader that he is destined to be while Sarah is battling to change his destiny whilst trying to delay hers with her battle with cancer.

John's development takes a twist though as the terminator assigned to guard him changes his decisions in the future due to his increasing closer relationship in that terminator. This is counter balanced by a new character introduced as his uncle who tries to remind John that the machines are the enemy.

This show deserves to be apart of the terminator franchise. (minus the third and last terminator films which I felt they could have done better)

The Cast
I loved the cast. It was a very good choice since they played their parts so well.

Sarah Conner is played by Lena Heady (the actress who plays Leonidas' wife from 300). I felt that she did a very good job being Sarah as the benchmark was already set high by Linda Hamilton in the films. She is tough and she will do anything for John whilst also trying to prepare a teenager John for the future.

Thomas Dekker plays John Conner and he does a good job. John is still in his teens and he is vulnerable to influence from different role models from his uncle and from his mother. Cameron adds to this conflict as she knows future John very well.

The assigned protecting terminator named Cameron Phillips is Summer Glau (River from Firefly) is not only HOT but she plays a very unique and convincing terminator. The terminator role was written for her and it was a great choice as it plays on the typical alpha male protecting. She does a great job in portraying a terminator trying to understand humans and tries to emulate one as close as possible.

Brian Austin Green plays an entirely new character (Derek Reese) introduced for the series as John's uncle. John's uncle has been living in the hell post judgement day and as a freedom fighter sent back he constantly reminds John of the suffering the people in the future experience everyday from the terror of the machines.

Richard T. Jones plays Agent James Ellison who is with the FBI trying to catch Sarah for blowing up Cyberdyne systems. He is an interesting character as he is an external observer to what is happening to the Conners and pieces together the story but is unable to accept the evidence due to his faith in his God.

The series
The script is great and there are a lot of emotional scenes which shows the human side but also there are many scenes that show Sarah's love for her son. The music is terrifying when the terminator sound comes on whilst also achieving a emotional response in scenes of beauty or hardship. The action scenes are a nice touch with stunts that looked convincing as it was really done most of the time. The CGI is of a very good quality and something you wouldn't expect from a series. The writers also inserted some jokes which work as the terminator or actors/actresses pull it off really well (more about this in my fav lines/scenes section).

About the Blu-ray
Picture quality is great, the bandwidth for normal scenes is around 20Mbps. Sound is output for dolby digital 5.1 at 48khz is around 640kbps. In other words it is fine for a series but not Dolby TrueHD or DTS-MA quality like in some films.

The Blu-ray that you get contains a blu-ray box with a cardboard sleeve. Three discs are included with pictures of the cast on them. The extras give an extra dimension and time to viewing the series which I thoroughly enjoyed as a fan of the series.

Sci-fi guest stars I noticed in this season
Jaffa master Bra'tac from stargate SG-1 as an old ally of Sarah
Zoey Graystone from Caprica as a suicidal student
Sam Adama from Caprica as a cop

Personal favourite lines/scene
"Class dismissed" - Cromatie exiting the classroom
"Much better... when you wear clothes... much better" -Sarah after noting Cameron walking around the house with no clothes
"It's freaking big"- Cameron describing the graffiti
"You've reached the future leader of mankind"- John making a voice mail account
"You mean this news could've waited..."- Derek in the shower disrupted by Sarah

I would highly recommend Terminator: The Sarah Conner chronicles for those who enjoy the terminator franchise, those who enjoy action, those who enjoy a solid script and acting and those who enjoy sci-fi. Enjoy your copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown on UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough good things about this show.

There have been some genuinely chilling moments, just as you start to feel that Cameron is taking on human qualities, she walks away from an innocent being murdered, but then we see her trying to Ballet dance and being watched by a hiding human.

One good thing, in the cannon of the terminator stories, this carries on straight after T2, T3 never happened in this time line, a great blessing.

I really cannot express what a pleasant thrill it was to sit down and watch something so good.

5/5 - go get it now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, spoiled by the below-par UK DVD release, 1 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a great addition to the Terminator franchise and a must-see for mainstream sci-fi fans. However, this UK DVD release is spoiled by the lack of extras beyond the 'Terminated Scenes'.

I ended up taking the plunge with my first Blu-ray player in order to watch the feature-rich UK Blu-ray box set instead; alternatively, if your DVD player can play region 1 discs, consider buying the US Import Region 1 version as the special features are worth it - disk 1 alone has two cast and director commentaries, three production featurettes, and a gag reel on top of the deleted scenes included on the UK DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles on Blu-Ray... Myles (I Know Bad T2 Pun) Ahead of the DVD, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Martin "Martin IK Kelly" (Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
another one of those shows you start to watch to see what it's like (Stargate SG-1/Atlantis, Buffy The Vampire Slayer) and find yourself a fan as it grabs you, and i agree with so many people, that this is a great alternative to T3 (A Film that in itself had only two major leauge excellence's - Kristana Lokens Shadowed Bum/Leather Clad form, and the ending that personally for me picked up my ineterst where they don't stop Judgement Day... it comes full circle to the whole thing that i think is anot only mentioned in T3 but T2 also - Judgement Day is Inevitable) and has little in common with the series... (Despite the fact that this is supposed to be different - Sarah Connor Being Dead in the year 2007 seems to have been nicked from T3...)

The Extra's on Blu-Ray are miles better too, where the DVD had a few measly deleted scenes... (don't belive the Blu-ray Special Features on Amazon.co.uk... they have more on the disc than they let on...)
firstly you hhave more deleted scenes (as well as and extended cut of the first seasons 7th episode: "The Demon Hand"), as well as Commentaries on "Pilot", "Turk" and "What He Beheld", 3 Part Making of Featurette: "Making the Chronnicles", Cast Audition Tapes, Storyboard Animatic, Summer Glau's Ballett Rehersal (Listed as Dance on the case) and a Gag Reel (Poor Summer Glau - Every time she's in something a Gag Reel is on the DVD: ANGEL: Season 3 (Though she doesn't appear in Outtakes Reel), FIREFLY: The Complete Series, SERENITY, and Now T:TSCC)

all in all i would say to any TERMINATOR Fan, Buy this if you have a PLAYSTATION 3, Blu-Ray Player or a Blu-Ray Laptop (all three if your lucky people)... buy the Blu-Ray rather than the DVD - You Won't be dissapointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As expected!, 23 July 2009
By 
Very, very fast Shipment by Amazon! Impressive!

The Price is unbeatable, even less expensive than the DVD-version down here in Switzerland, including shipment and everything!

Yesterday I started watching and already have seen the first two episodes. I guess, the fact, that I'll be through with Episode 6 or 7 tonite says a lot about how I like this Series!!!

Summer Glau is absolutely stunning! She's not my type of girl but I'm sure, I could not stop staring at her, when I saw her on the street.. She's got an amazing Charisma!
John and Sarah are also very well casts and I'm very looking forward to watch the rest of the Series and I already preordered Sesaon two.

it's sad, they don't go on, with that!

To the Blu-Ray:
Picture Quality is not top of the arts (compared to Movies like "the Dark Knight") but I'd give it a 4 out of 5 stars, because the overall is very sharp and the colors are perfect. (I've got to admitt, that I even like the bright orange of CSI:miami, so this does not count that much :D )
Sound Quality is very clean and nice, but for me there's missing a lot of BASS and Surround Effects!
Of course, it is a TV production, for 2 channel Setups, but that doesn't count!

The Bonus content seems to be "complete" to spend another few hours with watching.

Overall I can say:
First Series I've ever bought and I don't regret it at all!

ps: I love that scene, with the Diamond in Episode two..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They'll be back!, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a disappointment! Only nine episodes of what has the makings of a fantastic companion to the original two movies. The storyline was developing nicely and the twists and turns within the paradox that Sarah Connor's life became after The Terminator were fascinating and beautifully brought to life by all concerned.

Lena Heady and Thomas Dekker as mother and son are truly phenomenal and the FBI agent pursuing them and pursuing the truth (cos it is out there if he only opens his eyes to it) has great depth and Richard T Jones plays him with pathos and conviction. However, for me, the true star is Summer Glau as Cameron (the terminator sent back by John Connor to protect his younger self). She is cold and automaton-like and yet has great presence in every scene. Her "developing"(?) humanity is really a joy to behold whilst her fight sequences are mesmerising and remind me of the fight scenes Sarah Michelle Geller often had to act out in Buffy.

The paradoxical nature of the show doesn't leave me confused, it just makes me want more and when I heard that the series was likely to be cancelled after the abrupt end of the first season I was nervous of buying into the series. Now I am really looking forward to Season 2 on DVD later this year. Love the scene in the bar where Cameron plays pool and shocks the guys who think they are on for an easy bit of money. Then I hear that the show has been cancelled again!! Now that is a huge shame. Just because the American viewers aren't staying with the show the production company decide to pull the plug? An even bigger disappointment than the short first season. I can only hope that the worldwide success of the show might just persuade them to restart filming. Fingers crossed.

If you enjoyed the films (well the first two, at least) then this is perfect to keep your hunger for more sated. Personally I enjoyed T3 as a film but I can understand the issues with it's canoniacal situation within the idea of the first two films and where they were heading.

I just hope that one day they will be back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the films, 12 Mar 2009
By 
P. R. Nokes "hotlurvemachine2" (Ipswich, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This series follows on almost directly from the second film and while remaining faithful to all the films it also builds on many of the ideas and elements. (E.g, you get to see the captured time-displacement technology, you see how the rebels operate, there's an old 'rubber' terminator as mentioned in the first film, there are different terminators with different missions and specifications, e.t.c).

The dialogue and scripts are excellent - you can go from the films direct to the series as the spoken word of the characters is identical with the characters spot-on.
Although the actors are quite dissimilar to the appearance of the movie actors the performances are very convincing (I thought Sarah Connor was particularly good).

As you'd expect with a series there's some good character development and some welcome humour - usually concerning the 'goodie' terminator.

At first I was a little unsure of a young female terminator (possibly this is to boost ratings and appeal to the male audience ?!) but to be fair I think this works well and makes sense as she can pose as John Connors sister and accompany him everywhere.

The only bad points as I see them, are firstly the budget restraints. (In a 'flashback' episode to the future terminator skeletons are seen from a distance pulling something along when it would have been nice to see more of them and see more action and effects in general).
There did not seem to be many episodes in the first season, though possibly because I enjoyed each one there didn't seem to be enough.
Also - and this may just me - is it realistic that a young teenage boy suddenly given an attractive female terminator (who likes wearing no clothes initially) and who has to obey his commands is never once tempted to `explore the relationship further' - shall we say ??

That all been said, I don't think anyone who is a fan of the films would be disappointed with this series. Its very good !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Appalling content structure., 11 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The authoring of all three discs in this Blu-ray set is appalling.

There is no main menu on any of them and no way to select a particular episode to watch. The first episode on each disc plays automatically when the disc is inserted into the player. The only way to get to later episodes, other than to let them play through in sequence, is to advance through each chapter, one at a time, until the desired episode is reached.

The worst example of how bad this is is found on disc three. Episode 7, the first on the disc, plays automatically when the disc in inserted into the player. When that episode finishes, playback does not progress to Episode 8 as you would expect, but instead plays an introduction to a special extended version of Episode 7 and then the unfinished extended version itself. The only way to get to Episode 8 without watching through this extended repeat of Episode 7 is to advance through all the chapters of it, again, one at a time. Extremely annoying and disruptive to the flow of the story.

If there is a way to directly access episodes, it is well hidden.

Otherwise, technically the discs are much better. The picture quality is generally very good, with high levels of detail, pleasing colour and deep blacks. A lossless soundtrack is not included, but the Dolby 5.1 audio provided does a good job nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, thought-provoking and fun!, 7 Jun 2009
By 
M. M. Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Having only recently watched the first two Terminator films, I was pleased to hear about this series which I had missed on TV.
Due to friend's recommendations, I didn't watch the third movie and am happy to say the series seems to have ignored it too!
I found the series exciting, well written and brilliantly acted by all the cast, Lena Headey in particular.
I have read criticisms about Summer Glau's acting in this - she's a machine! They don't overflow with personality!
Anyway, as a sci-fi and fantasy fan, I am glad I discovered this show and can't wait for the second series to come out on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews