Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown ok UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by Tetsugaku-San

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, spoiled by the below-par UK DVD release
This is a great addition to the Terminator franchise and a must-see for mainstream sci-fi fans. However, this UK DVD release is spoiled by the lack of extras beyond the 'Terminated Scenes'.

I ended up taking the plunge with my first Blu-ray player in order to watch the feature-rich UK Blu-ray box set instead; alternatively, if your DVD player can play region 1...
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by J. P. Schlackman


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown ok UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough good things about this show.

There have been some genuinely chilling moments, just as you start to feel that Cameron is taking on human qualities, she walks away from an innocent being murdered, but then we see her trying to Ballet dance and being watched by a hiding human.

I really cannot express what a pleasant thrill it was to sit down and watch something so good.

5/5 - go get it now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles on Blu-Ray... Myles (I Know Bad T2 Pun) Ahead of the DVD, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Martin "Martin IK Kelly" (Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
another one of those shows you start to watch to see what it's like (Stargate SG-1/Atlantis, Buffy The Vampire Slayer) and find yourself a fan as it grabs you, and i agree with so many people, that this is a great alternative to T3 (A Film that in itself had only two major leauge excellence's - Kristana Lokens Shadowed Bum/Leather Clad form, and the ending that personally for me picked up my ineterst where they don't stop Judgement Day... it comes full circle to the whole thing that i think is anot only mentioned in T3 but T2 also - Judgement Day is Inevitable) and has little in common with the series... (Despite the fact that this is supposed to be different - Sarah Connor Being Dead in the year 2007 seems to have been nicked from T3...)

The Extra's on Blu-Ray are miles better too, where the DVD had a few measly deleted scenes... (don't belive the Blu-ray Special Features on Amazon.co.uk... they have more on the disc than they let on...)
firstly you hhave more deleted scenes (as well as and extended cut of the first seasons 7th episode: "The Demon Hand"), as well as Commentaries on "Pilot", "Turk" and "What He Beheld", 3 Part Making of Featurette: "Making the Chronnicles", Cast Audition Tapes, Storyboard Animatic, Summer Glau's Ballett Rehersal (Listed as Dance on the case) and a Gag Reel (Poor Summer Glau - Every time she's in something a Gag Reel is on the DVD: ANGEL: Season 3 (Though she doesn't appear in Outtakes Reel), FIREFLY: The Complete Series, SERENITY, and Now T:TSCC)

all in all i would say to any TERMINATOR Fan, Buy this if you have a PLAYSTATION 3, Blu-Ray Player or a Blu-Ray Laptop (all three if your lucky people)... buy the Blu-Ray rather than the DVD - You Won't be dissapointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely surprising and fantastic TV SF, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Terminator for years, ever since it was first shown on UK TV in fact, I put up with the T3 travesty and thought no more of it.

This series has taken me by as much surprise as the new Battleststar did however. The acting is brilliant and believable, the special effects are top notch, the camera work is emotive and moody - I can't say enough good things about this show.

There have been some genuinely chilling moments, just as you start to feel that Cameron is taking on human qualities, she walks away from an innocent being murdered, but then we see her trying to Ballet dance and being watched by a hiding human.

One good thing, in the cannon of the terminator stories, this carries on straight after T2, T3 never happened in this time line, a great blessing.

I really cannot express what a pleasant thrill it was to sit down and watch something so good.

5/5 - go get it now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator: The Sarah Chronicles Season 1 Blu-ray, 29 Mar 2011
The Story
The Sarah Conner chronicles follows on from the terminator 2 storyline. It changes where instead of Sarah dies from cancer before judgement day she is still alive due to a time jump into the future. Thus the story is focused on Sarah and John in their mission to stop judgement day whilst trying to keep John alive. What makes this story interesting though is the development of John as a teenager and his preparation into becoming the leader that he is destined to be while Sarah is battling to change his destiny whilst trying to delay hers with her battle with cancer.

John's development takes a twist though as the terminator assigned to guard him changes his decisions in the future due to his increasing closer relationship in that terminator. This is counter balanced by a new character introduced as his uncle who tries to remind John that the machines are the enemy.

This show deserves to be apart of the terminator franchise. (minus the third and last terminator films which I felt they could have done better)

The Cast
I loved the cast. It was a very good choice since they played their parts so well.

Sarah Conner is played by Lena Heady (the actress who plays Leonidas' wife from 300). I felt that she did a very good job being Sarah as the benchmark was already set high by Linda Hamilton in the films. She is tough and she will do anything for John whilst also trying to prepare a teenager John for the future.

Thomas Dekker plays John Conner and he does a good job. John is still in his teens and he is vulnerable to influence from different role models from his uncle and from his mother. Cameron adds to this conflict as she knows future John very well.

The assigned protecting terminator named Cameron Phillips is Summer Glau (River from Firefly) is not only HOT but she plays a very unique and convincing terminator. The terminator role was written for her and it was a great choice as it plays on the typical alpha male protecting. She does a great job in portraying a terminator trying to understand humans and tries to emulate one as close as possible.

Brian Austin Green plays an entirely new character (Derek Reese) introduced for the series as John's uncle. John's uncle has been living in the hell post judgement day and as a freedom fighter sent back he constantly reminds John of the suffering the people in the future experience everyday from the terror of the machines.

Richard T. Jones plays Agent James Ellison who is with the FBI trying to catch Sarah for blowing up Cyberdyne systems. He is an interesting character as he is an external observer to what is happening to the Conners and pieces together the story but is unable to accept the evidence due to his faith in his God.

The series
The script is great and there are a lot of emotional scenes which shows the human side but also there are many scenes that show Sarah's love for her son. The music is terrifying when the terminator sound comes on whilst also achieving a emotional response in scenes of beauty or hardship. The action scenes are a nice touch with stunts that looked convincing as it was really done most of the time. The CGI is of a very good quality and something you wouldn't expect from a series. The writers also inserted some jokes which work as the terminator or actors/actresses pull it off really well (more about this in my fav lines/scenes section).

About the Blu-ray
Picture quality is great, the bandwidth for normal scenes is around 20Mbps. Sound is output for dolby digital 5.1 at 48khz is around 640kbps. In other words it is fine for a series but not Dolby TrueHD or DTS-MA quality like in some films.

The Blu-ray that you get contains a blu-ray box with a cardboard sleeve. Three discs are included with pictures of the cast on them. The extras give an extra dimension and time to viewing the series which I thoroughly enjoyed as a fan of the series.

Sci-fi guest stars I noticed in this season
Jaffa master Bra'tac from stargate SG-1 as an old ally of Sarah
Zoey Graystone from Caprica as a suicidal student
Sam Adama from Caprica as a cop

Personal favourite lines/scene
"Class dismissed" - Cromatie exiting the classroom
"Much better... when you wear clothes... much better" -Sarah after noting Cameron walking around the house with no clothes
"It's freaking big"- Cameron describing the graffiti
"You've reached the future leader of mankind"- John making a voice mail account
"You mean this news could've waited..."- Derek in the shower disrupted by Sarah

I would highly recommend Terminator: The Sarah Conner chronicles for those who enjoy the terminator franchise, those who enjoy action, those who enjoy a solid script and acting and those who enjoy sci-fi. Enjoy your copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, spoiled by the below-par UK DVD release, 1 Mar 2009
By 
J. P. Schlackman (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a great addition to the Terminator franchise and a must-see for mainstream sci-fi fans. However, this UK DVD release is spoiled by the lack of extras beyond the 'Terminated Scenes'.

I ended up taking the plunge with my first Blu-ray player in order to watch the feature-rich UK Blu-ray box set instead; alternatively, if your DVD player can play region 1 discs, consider buying the US Import Region 1 version as the special features are worth it - disk 1 alone has two cast and director commentaries, three production featurettes, and a gag reel on top of the deleted scenes included on the UK DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "These are the men that created Skynet.", 3 May 2008
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The Terminator saga is one of the longest running and well created predestination paradox stories in modern science fiction and it is with great care that they have created The Sarah Connor Chronicles.
Set after the events of Terminator 2, the series centres around Sarah's efforts to keep John safe and 'off the radar' while keeping an ever watchful eye out for the Terminators themselves.
John has to deal with growing up, never staying in one pace too long and he feels the tremendous weight on his shoulders and the responsibilities that Sarah is reminding him of.
Help for them arrives in the form of Cameron, a new Terminator sent by John in the future to protect himself in the past.
As the show progresses we begin to see just how complex the paradox has become and the frightening levels which the machines are prepared to go to win.
Not content with sending the T-1000 back, the machines have sent others into the past and their missions are not all about John and the Resistance.
The Resistance themselves appear to have sent their own troops back, some as far as sixty years in order to prepare for the coming war.
Behind all the events in Sarah and John's lives are the investigations of FBI Agent Ellis, who is beginning to piece together the parts of Sarah's past and is coming to understand what she is running from. The best episode for him is in The Demon Hand where he catches up with Doctor Silberman, now played by Bruce Davison, to talk about Sarah's stay in the mental hospital.
The show runs along at a good pace, with carefully thought out scripts and a talent for twists and turns. The most shocking cliffhanger comes in at the end of Queen's Gambit when we discover the identity of one of the Resistance fighters. There are some flashes of the future which begin to explain certain events but while they answer some questions, they give you more to think about. That said, the final ten seconds of the final epsiode 'What he Beheld' are also shocking in their suddenness.
The series is intended as a continuation of Terminator 2 but the writers have already specified that the events from the pilot episode will place the series in a parallel timeline to those events established by Terminator 3 so the remainder of the movie franchise will not have any direct baring on the show.
The three main stars of the show do very well indeed. There was some debate that Lena Headey was not suitable for the role but after a couple of episodes there is no doubt at all that she is Sarah Connor. Thomas Dekker (Zach in Heroes) is well cast as a young John Connor. His interplay with Cameron is excellent and you can see the beginnings of the man that will one day lead the Resistance. Summer Glau is okay as Cameron but sometimes she seems to play the part as either River (from Firefly) or Tess (from The 4400) which is a shame as it almost makes it seem like she cannot bring anything else to her performance. That said, she has a Terminator stare that just makes you want to run a mile.
Due to the writer's strike season 1 only ran for 9 episodes with Pilot, Gnothi Seauton (it means know thyself), The Turk, Heavy Metal, Queen's Gambit, Dungeons And Dragons, The Demon Hand, Vick's Chip and ends with What he Beheld.
So, for fans of the Terminator saga or some good science fiction, The Sarah Connor Chronicles is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alternative to Terminator 3, 29 Dec 2008
By 
S. Gardiner "samgardiner" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is set in an alternative timeline to Terminator 3 and begins a couple of years after Terminator 2. If you enjoyed the story behind the Terminator movies and don't just like to sit and watch things being blown up, then this series is great and definitely worth watching. Not to say that it doesn't feature a fair bit of action, the action just isn't its main focus. The show is very much about the characters, if you normally just skip past all the story and look for the fires and the mini-guns, this series may seem dull to you.

This Blu-Ray is definitely worth the extra over the DVD version, not only is the quality much better but the extra content you get with it are worth the money themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable series, 4 April 2011
By 
Tina (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I am a fan of the Terminator movies. I had heard of this series but thought it would be a let down after the movies, however after reading many good reviews I thought I'd give the series a try and I am very pleased that I did.

I had wondered how good Terminator vs bad Terminator could be brought to a television series, however the new slant in the series is that Sarah and John Connor try to stop Skynet ever being created and the show follows their progress with this. It has some interesting developments along the way, whilst still staying true to the first two movies, and fans of the films should appreciate name dropping of characters from the original movies.

All in all, I very much enjoyed this 9 episode (40 mins each) series and I have already ordered the second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Connor Chronicles - Season 1, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. G. Schofield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
If you are a fan of the Terminator series you will not be disappointed with this. I bought this first series after seeing the good reviews on Amazon. I watched the series over the period of a few days and was most impressed - very enjoyable. Not seen second series yet but will be getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supprising, 2 Jan 2010
By 
J. O'sullivan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles - The Complete First Season [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I watched this show with no expectations (I haven't seen the films) so when I got hooked straight away I was genuinely chuffed. Summer Glau is weirdly robotic/graceful and Lena Headey was a good choice for Sarah. I thought the show was good until Brian Austin Green joined the cast as Derek Reese and elevated it to fantastic. A few of the scenes just stuck with me (the mark of a good show in my opinion). The part where Derek was watching Cameron dance just broke my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa627c60c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews