Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2009
brilliant flashgun with some great tricks up its sleeve.

I'm using this on a Sony @200, and its a brilliant flashgun with some great tricks up its sleeve.

In dark rooms, churches etc - set the camera to manual, set the flash to auto power, and auto zoom. Then dial in your shutter speed, aperture and ISO on the camera eg - f2.8, iso 100 & 100th sec. Despite the camera meter saying your images will be underexposed, the flashgun calculates & emits the perfect amount of light for correct exposure every time meaning you can keep the iso low and the image quality high.

Flash head rotates, High Speed sync for all speeds only works with the flash facing forward(ie not rotated or pointing upwards for bounce), otherwise it only syncs up to 160th sec (haven't found this to be an issue).

Remote trigger uses the popup flash in the camera, as stated on other reviews. Also, exposure assist light really helps speed up focusing in low light conditions
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
In just a few uses it was obvious that the Alpha350 benefits from a flashgun when taking portraits. We found the onboard flash harsh and so slow that 75% of shots the subject was blinking. This gun is invaluable in reducing that problem. We also found the remote shooting facility a boon when shooting objects close to background. Careful positioning of the gun eliminates shadow effectively although setting it up first time took a little working out.

Overall we found the gun a little heavy, but it comes with it's own holster, but it does pack a punch!
0Comment21 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
I wanted more flexibility to use flash off camera and this is the cheapest option I could find.

As a first time user it is a very simple flash to use and has the benefits of manual & auto settings as well as high speed sync too.

Comes in a holster with a mini stand and this allows it to stand on it's own feet or you can mount it on a tripod and use it as a wireless flash (it uses the Alpha's built in flash as a commander).

Flexible lighting from 1/1 down to 1/32 and a fully rotating head is a bonus.

Has a built in pop out wide angle filter too.

All together I'm very pleased
0Comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
This flashgun is perfect for every occasion for a amateur and professional photographer. it emits a powerful flash - and i mean very strong that it can affect up to metres away. It is intended for use in low light conditions and outdoors and does a great job. it also has a stylish design which makes it look cool on your dslr. I have the a500 which suites very good. It has a good screen at the back of it where it shows battery and power level, along with wireless sync option. This flash also can be used as an external mount flash wirelesly without connecting it to your camera.

For the price i think it is worth it if you want a powerful flashgun for your dslr. I would highly recommend this to any photographer - amateur or professional!
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Having had difficulty synchronising generic flashguns I bought the HVLF-42AM to use with a Sony A350 camera. I wanted a more powerful flash than the built in one with the ability to use bounce techniques and avoid the 'rabbit caught in headlights' effect. It turned out to be very easy to use since it automatically takes its settings from the camera; a litle servomotor zooms it as you zoom the lens. However, at the very shortest focal length setting only you do have to remember to pull down the built in wide panel. Accurate flash exposures are assured using the Sony ADI technology which worked well with both my 18-70mm and 50-300mm lenses. The flash can also be used off camera in wireless mode where the exposure is set through TTL, again with a good measure of accuracy. What I have not yet used is the HSS mode which allows it to synchronise with shutter speeds up to 1/4000 second. It is important to choose a flash gun which makes use of all the facilies you have on your camera
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
I have two HVLF42AM flash guns which i use wireless triggered by the internal flash on my Sony A350 camera and using a reflector and a dissfuser gives me a great home studio
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
Good price, fast delivery, excellent bit of kit - flash photos with this product are so much better, as you would expect with an external flash, as opposed to the built-in flip up on the camera!!!
The wireless feature is something else - amazing - opens up a whole new ball game, brilliant. Thank you.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
I have not used a wireless flashgun since the days of manual slr, but it is so easy to set up & the results speak for themselves. Smashing pictures looking very natural.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
This is a fantastic piece of kit! It was a very good investment for me (I use a sony A200). It does everything I require. You can set the power of the flash manually (the brightest setting being more than adequate for most situations). It is possible to set the flash distance as well.

I also bought some diffusers to slide onto the end of the flash and a disc reflector that folds up into a bag. Together with the flash they make a very portable kit that is great for portrait photography.

I have found the wireless off camera flash feature to be a great help. It saves space in the camera bag and it's nice not to have to trail a wire about.

I can't fault the flash in any way. Great value for money. If you don't already have an external flash it will transform your photography.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
arrived next day .well i have seen the light if you pardon the pun.this flash works well on or off my a200 you can stick it on auto so the camera and the flash do all the technical stuff and when your ready you can reduce power and zoom settings recomend 2700 rechargable batteries.dont know how i took pictures with built in flash this is a must.
0Comment19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.