Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must have for "Nozze" lovers.
Mozart: Le Nozze Di Figaro [Blu-ray] [2006]

According to Stage Director David McVicar the special thrust of this fine production is the wedding of Figaro representing freedom of choice and not purely contractual considerations as contrasted by Figaro's obligations under his loan agreement with Marcellina: personally I did not notice this emphasis in...
Published on 17 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marriage of disparate parts
I bought this dvd on the strength of the reviews, and found the singing and playing as excellent as so described. The production, however, is pedestrian at least to this viewer, not helped by film cuts that more than once shift from the main singer to minor actors during significant musical moments. Filming staged opera can suffer from this tension, where opting between...
Published 5 months ago by R A DALE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other reviews are not for this DVD!, 10 May 2008
By 
Philadelphus (New Quay, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is the page for the wonderful ROH production. All the other reviews in this section are for a Salzburg production. Don't know what that is like, but this - the ROH production - is great, with a believably young and predatory Count, a splendid Susanna (Persson) and so on.

Amazon - please sort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-round success, 28 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The play by Beaumarchais on which the opera is based was banned in Vienna presumably because Figaro told the Count that only an accident of birth gave him position and fortune. Otherwise he would be a mediocre nobody. Whereas he (Figaro, a mere servant) has enough knowledge and skill to rule all the provinces of Spain. Hardly "Death to the aristocrats!" but too incendiary for the time. Mozart and da Ponte turned it into a comedy in which emotions sometimes take a more serious turn and sometimes there are social undertones.
We are told in the usual pretentious way when a director substitutes his concept for the composer's that this production "is set in 1830s post-revolution France where the inexorable unravelling of the old order has produced acute feelings of loss."
Fortunately this is not emphatic enough to spoil enjoyment. In fact the staging is excellent with many imaginative touches. Act 4 with characters wandering around pretending not to see and recognise one another cannot work on the stage. The director's idea to lower cutout trees into the hall and scatter leaves around is just a baffling mess.
Singing, acting, playing and conducting are all very good. (Miah Persson as Susanna is quite outstanding.) What a relief that Antonio Pappano does not feel the need to show us how fast or slow Mozart can be played. Mozart always welcomed improved sound. He would surely love the perfection of modern instruments, the brightness of higher pitch, the tasteful use of vibrato etc. He would laugh at the insistent period instrument brigade. If the conductor occasionally fails to turn a phrase with real magic, well, as a world famous pianist said of playing Mozart's music: "Too easy for a child, too difficult for an adult." Pappano does make the forgiveness by the Countess (one of the greatest moments in all opera) deeply moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marriage of disparate parts, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought this dvd on the strength of the reviews, and found the singing and playing as excellent as so described. The production, however, is pedestrian at least to this viewer, not helped by film cuts that more than once shift from the main singer to minor actors during significant musical moments. Filming staged opera can suffer from this tension, where opting between close-ups and the wider stage is always a problem, i.e. it is seldom good cinema. The worst aspect of this production, however, is that the sound recording of the singers is uneven, varying in its distance to the singer so that the voice is at times in and out of the foreground. And while one reviewer to whom I responded found strength in the acting, for me, I only saw an exaggeration verging on silent screen posing, i.e. silliness.
The return to realism in opera is surely a backward step in light of the important advances that theatre has made in technical innovations, multiplicity of forms and conceptual understanding. And it doesn't have to be an expensive production to achieve profundity.
I am not a fan of the star rating system, so don't the take the three stars seriously. I bought this version mainly on the strength of Finlay and Roschmann and their singing is as I would have expected: wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 27 April 2008
By 
Karen Henriksen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'd have an extremely difficult time pointing out *anything* about this DVD that I don't like. - So I won't. Perfect for beginners and faithful fans of this masterpiece alike. Direction and casting is perfect - the central performers are amazing - all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The struggle to rekindle their love contrasts tragic-comically with the sexy ease between a feisty ..., 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. M. Roebuck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
In David McVicar’s spellbinding production of Le nozze di Figaro the break-down of the relationship between Finley’s suave, dashingly self-absorbed Count and Röschmann’s passionately dignified Countess lies at the heart of the opera. The struggle to rekindle their love contrasts tragic-comically with the sexy ease between a feisty Figaro (Erwin Schrott) and a sassy Susanna (Miah Persson) is starkly absent, and the tenacious spark that remains between Marcellina (Graciela Araya) and Bartolo (Jonathan Veira). Antonio Pappano conducts (and accompanies the recitatives) with invigorating wit and emotional depth, allowing the ensemble to capture the moments of dramatic tension to perfection and engaging fully with the rhythm of an already classic production, captured in High Definition video and surround sound. OA0990D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Delivers Sheer Joy, 8 April 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
In this 2008 Royal Opera House treatment of "Le Nozze di Figaro," the beloved opera by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart that was written more than 200 years ago, Erwin Schrott plays Figaro, the title character. The opera was based on a play of the same name by the Frenchman Pierre Beaumarchais, with a libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte. It was a tremendous hit for Mozart when it opened, despite, or perhaps, because of the fact that it was controversial and radical in its time: It is titled for a servant, Figaro, and shows him outsmarting his master, the Count Almaviva.

The plot seems intricate and complicated but is not. It is the wedding day of Figaro and the delightful Susanna, two servants of the Count Almaviva. They are wary of the Count, who has abused his power and seduced many servant and peasant girls, and now has eyes for Susanna. The count regrets having publicly given up his historic "droit de seigneur,"the right of the lord to have the first night of her marriage with a woman under his control, merely to impress his friends and servants with his enlightenment liberalism. His Countess is suffering,too, seeing her husband flirt with and charm innocent young women every day. She teams up with Susana, devising a series of plans to teach the Count a lesson: the Countess and Susanna switch their identities by exchanging outfits. The Count does not realize that the woman disguised as his wife is actually Susanna, and, for once, feels the unfamiliar twinge of jealousy as he sees her flirt with Figaro. Soon after, he sneaks off to what he believes is his rendezvous with Susanna, except the woman is actually his wife. Upon being confronted with his actions, he begs the countess's pardon.

Susanna is played by the lively and lovely Miah Persson; Count Almaviva, by Gerald Finley, who has also played Figaro; the Countess, by Dorothea Roschmann; Cherubino, by Rinat Shaham. The opera was directed by David McVicar; the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, conducted by Antonio Pappano. The Royal Opera Chorus is also featured. The flavorful sets and costumes are by Tanya McCallin.

I recently saw this at a local movie house, in $25 seats, to celebrate my birthday, as I love this opera. I had somehow forgotten (Oh, those senior citizen moments) that I was shortly going to see it live, presented by the Wilmington Concert Association, a local - Wilmington, North Carolina-- based organization. Though surely, not done by so grand a company. Anyway, at the end of the performance, I noticed a 2006 copyright date and had an OMG moment: I could probably find this for sale at Amazon. And I could, and I did purchase it, and am delighted with my purchase.

Mind you, I love music, most of us do, don't we all? In my case, I treasure a fairly wide range of it, rockabilly, golden oldies, pop-Great American songbook-Broadway, jazz, classical, opera, some country. Unfortunately, I haven't that much technical knowledge of music, nor the world's greatest ear. I have read the excellent, very informative reviews of this opera on this site, and am not qualified to produce anything remotely like them. I can only say that I love this purchase: it is sheer joy to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very credible artists, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Marko Rauhamaa (Espoo, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this performance. The prince, Figaro, and the lady are not only sung terrifically but acted very credibly as well. Impressive, enfuriating, romantic, funny and moving. The other parts are not done badly, either, although Susanna comes off a bit two-dimensional.

Sets, clothes, camera work, orchestra all worth five stars. Knocked off one star for Susanna and some coughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 13 July 2008
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Was lucky enough to see this delightful production again at the Royal Opera House last night with Mackerras conducting gloriously.

It is pure delight from start to finish , my only quibble the cast milling around during the Count's Act 3 aria but otherwise simply superb up there with the 1994 Glyndebourne production. Pappano conducts with a very sure touch and Finaly and Persson are particularly fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart sublime on Blu Ray!, 6 Jun 2009
Mozart, Röschmann, Persson and Blu Ray - you could not have a greater cultural experience in your own home! More Mozart on Blu Ray please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2012
This review is from: Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a typical Pappano ROH work, very well sung and staged. The bonus of this DVD is a short extract from an interview with designer McVicar who refers to Mozart as 'Voolfy' (M's wife's pet name for him in the Forman film). This must be the most sensational example of pretentiousness this decade !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010]
Mozart - Le Nozze Di Figaro [DVD] [2010] by David McVicar (DVD - 2008)
29.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews