Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut album - Manchester has a new band to be proud of!!
Well, it's been a long time since I played an new album, and on the very first listen been blown away, but The Whip have managed it. This album is catchy from start to finish, and melds a wide range of influences such as early New Order, "Sons & Facination" era Simple Minds, Daft Punk, various grungy guitar bands, and many others into one fabulous sound. The opening...
Published on 30 May 2008 by J. Gambling

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mess, but what potential!
At their best on tracks like Sirens or Sister Siam this lot are quite clearly capable of replacing the New Order-sized gap currently leaving a gaping hole in the Manchester music scene.
Alas, elsewhere on this rather underwhelming record it all gets a bit formularic and a bit 'nu-rave' which is already 2 years past its sell by date. The live DVD shows the crowd...
Published on 30 Mar 2008 by T. Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut album - Manchester has a new band to be proud of!!, 30 May 2008
By 
J. Gambling "jay-72" (Congleton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
Well, it's been a long time since I played an new album, and on the very first listen been blown away, but The Whip have managed it. This album is catchy from start to finish, and melds a wide range of influences such as early New Order, "Sons & Facination" era Simple Minds, Daft Punk, various grungy guitar bands, and many others into one fabulous sound. The opening track "Trash" could become a classic for years to come, appealing to both the dance, and indie crowd alike as it motors on through airwaves like a ten ton truck. Ala, Kasabian's debut, the lyrics are simple on this album, but ensures that it will have you singing throughout as the songs grab you, and take you on it's passionate, intense, and anthemic journey. If you are at any of the festivals this summer such as Creamfields, make sure you see them as they are already getting a great live repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See them Live, 6 July 2008
By 
W. Burns (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
The album is great but to appreciate The Whip you need to catch them live.

I was recently at the O2 wireless festival and The Whip were the first band on one of the tents at 2pm but they were the ones that have stayed with me the longest even more so than Fatboy Slim and even Underworld who were great.

The songs are catchy and the singer does a great job on stage with a lot of charisma - they finished with Trash which was a highlight, but there are many others. A strong recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never thought I'd like electronic dance music so much!, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Marks Destination (MP3 Download)
This makes me stop whatever I'm doing anf dance (or at least nod my head up and down and tap my feet in the bus queue).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I need more Electro now! Brilliant......, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Jon Whyte "Jon" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
Recommended by a friend, im going to have to buy him a pint! - going to catch them at a festival next week, cant wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Electro Buy This Year, 19 July 2008
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
Long Live Electro! and it will too with an absolute stonker of an album of this calibre.

Full to the brim of pounding beats. You'll be thrased by Trash - Set Alight by Fire and wanting to slip the leash on Muzzle#1. believe me!

Buy this and hear it for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 17 April 2008
By 
Mr. G. R. Nightingale (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album, i havent stopped playing it since i bought it. Its full of really good songs, Trash, Frustration and Blackout my particular favourites. I've heard a lot of average electro-dance-rock albums lately but this one got me buzzing again. Im surprised how many indifferent reviews i've read on this album, The Whip deserve to be massive! They've put a smile on my face. They're awesome live as well, i spotted myself on the DVD at the Manchester gig. Cant wait for the Preston show. Keep making great music guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mess, but what potential!, 30 Mar 2008
By 
T. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X Marks Destination (Audio CD)
At their best on tracks like Sirens or Sister Siam this lot are quite clearly capable of replacing the New Order-sized gap currently leaving a gaping hole in the Manchester music scene.
Alas, elsewhere on this rather underwhelming record it all gets a bit formularic and a bit 'nu-rave' which is already 2 years past its sell by date. The live DVD shows the crowd lapping this up..glowsticks aloft. But that won't last forever.

But there is definitely a lot of potential here and you really should catch one of their gig if you can.

My advice to The Whip, burn your Rapture and Klaxons LPs and listen again to the Talking Heads, OMD, New Order and ACR LPs that are obviously in your collections, try changing the pace a bit..you're onto something there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X Marks Destination
X Marks Destination by The Whip (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews