Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of something great!, 27 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. Ra Atherton "Hawkeyes" (St Helens, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
Alkaline Trio's debut album shows just how the band started. A punk rock ride with an edge. Combining dark, clever lyrics, ("crack my head open on your kitchen floor, just to prove to you that I have brains") hooks a plenty and guitar riffs any pop punk band would kill for, this is a must have for all fans of melodic punk. Containing a few acoustic numbers and vocals from both Matt Skiba and Dan Andriano, this is a modern day classic... buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best work..., 10 May 2008
By 
Mr. Mw Elliott "Elmarkyboy" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
This LP remains, in my humble opinion, the best A3 set and is likely to remain so given the recent degredation in their records quality. Goddamnit is a work packed with youth and alcohol fuelled tales of Skibas then existence. Kicking off with the incendiary 'Cringe' all the way through to the broken heart lament of 'Sorry Bout That', this record rarely takes its foot off the pedal or slips from a postion marked 'classic', though one or two tracks are notably inferior for me, such as 'My Little Needle'. However, 'Clavicle' is worth the money alone an absolute beast of a track highlighting A3s lyrical genius and knack for writing knockout melodic punk.
Whilst many fans might consider one of the next two records superior to this one, (surely no-one could possibly argue for Good Mourning or Crimson) I would beg to differ. 'Goddamnit' might sound like it was recorded in a barn by comparison to their later, slicker efforts, but thats all part of the many charms to be found here.
If you're into melodic punk then, seriously, you have to own this. Its so good its worth buying twice to have one spare for the inevitable day that the first ceases to work due to playing it to death. A better debut I challenge you to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Alkaline Trio Album, 29 Mar 2005
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
Many people would beg to differ on this opinion, but before the mainstream success of Stupid Kid, Alkaline Trio was very much popular as a cult in the underground scene, and for people like me, an album like this would have just gone under my nose.
Thankfully though after a year of waiting for the album to appear on the shelves again, i managed to get it and boy let me tell you, this is has some of the most heartfelt songs to set foot on a punk record.
The strange thing is some of these love songs would never find their way onto a Westlife cd in fact if Brian Mcfadden said "I wanna wake up naked next to you, kissing the curve of your clavicle" on a song then god knows what the pop world would be like.
My favourites have to be Cringe, Nose Over Tail, Message from Kathelene and Trouble Breathing for they define the sound of the Alkaline Trio and also they are lyrically some of the best songs ever written by a punk band. Also the acoustic songs Enjoy Your Day and Sorry about That really hit home with Skiba and Adriano taking the last pint on the bar table and drinking it all to lost love.
You will be stumped to find an album like this one, i suggest you buy and find out why it is so immensely popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
Probably the best punk album iv ever had the pleasure of listening to, the songwriting is of the highest standard.
Stand out tracks for me are: Cringe, As You Were, Enjoy Your Day, Clavicle, Sorry About That and my personal favourite, Ninety-Seven which is one of the demo's at the end of the album.
goddamnit = genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
This is amazing. I own the original '98 CD but i LOVED how Matt Allison remixed this tracks. They are almost the same, but just a bit better. He produced the original version, he knew how to make this thing even better. And he did. About DVD. I've never seen a DVD like this. 2 hours all about alk3, goddamnit, songs stories, interviews, 2 live performances (1 old, with original members, 1 new (2006) with derek grant on drums). This is something unbelievable. Buy it! This never gets old. Never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goddamnit - Alkaline Trio, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
Very Raw. For me they have got better with age and maturity. Hopefully, these songs will grow, as is usual for me and the trio, after a few more listens. I've left plenty of reviews for A3 and if you read any of my others you'll realise that I love their music. Probably have all of their releases but worked from the midawy point of Crimson onwards. Buy it if you are a fan just so you have the 'collection'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original album plus more!, 18 Mar 2008
By 
J. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
The original album in itself warrants a five star rating. Add in the suttle yet satisfying re-mastering, and excellent DVD feature, and you've got one of the best tenners you've ever spent. Once i uploaded the album to itunes i went through and compared each song for differences, and i was glad to see all the rawness and almost 'garagey' feel was still present, and the changes make it a bit 'fuller' without sacrificing the original vibe. The DVD is well put together (including a few surprises) featuring the band's story up to and a little after Goddamnit's release, including comments from Matt, Dan, and Glenn on the writing of the songs and their general feelings towards them. It then allows those who were there to re-live the Occult Roots tour with the performances of the album from then, adding a nice contrast point to the performances from around when the album was released. I will not give a review of the album itself as you can look at reviews of the original album for that, but i will say that the songs are still enjoyable with the changes made, and the amazing lyrics are ever-more clear and the mix between instruments has been improved and there is nothing worth complaining about. Basically you should buy this album either as a great addition to your trio collection, or as an insight into what the trio were all about back then if you are just now getting into them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Any need for a Re-master?, 15 Mar 2008
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
No one could make such an impressive debut then the almighty trio. With jumpy rock pop rhymes like "cringe" and "clavicle" to the epic sounds of "Bleeder" and "trouble Breathing". They also show thought provoking insight into the bands dark and gloomy thoughts despite the jolly upbeat sound. Whats more original than the sound and lyrics is the way both vocalists matt and Dan have their own acoustic songs "Sorry about that" and "Enjoy Your Day" each beautifully tear enducing. The only possible downfall of this album is that some tracks can feel a bit samey, what with all the slighly sketchy guitars and over-eager vocals, but in a way its like a trademark of Alkaline Trio. This is also probably the most cheery-sing-along album that the Trio have produced throughout their career. A must buy for any Alkaline Trio fan, and a Should buy to anyone else. As for the 4 Bonus Tracks, you may be disappointed, as they are clearly very early demo's from the Trio..Sundials being the best.

But don't let these throw you off.. the hour long documentary behind Goddamnit will keep you busy, as will live versions of ALL the albums tracks.. from back in the day and the newer alkaline. and some other cool clips from the bands past are thrown in too. So the album isn't exactly much different from before.. its just that you get some cool stuff with it, so its best you get it if you dont have the original or if its busted up or if your just crazy for alkaline.. good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can i say?, 18 July 2005
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
I have loved alkaline trio for years, they have been my favorite band for all of that time.In my opinion, no other band comes close. The truly beautiful one liners and haunting melodies caught me when i first started listening to them.
This album is one of their best, with the pace and feel of the songs really varying, from the upbeat punky sound of "Cop" to the acoustic brilliance of "Sorry about that".
I have to say that the lyrics in this album surpass all the rest-
"and i can't see straight, but the two of you look awfully pretty", and countless others.
If you havent heard alkaline trio, buy this. It encapsulates their sound wonderfully well. Listen to it, buy the others and alkaline trio will be your favourite band too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius!, 23 Jan 2005
By 
Sarah Barker "Sarah B" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goddamnit (Audio CD)
I started a bit backwards with Alkaline Trio. A friend lent me 'Good Mourning', I liked it so I went out and bought it then went backwards until I came to this little gem. It's probably not the best way to go but it was worth the wait because I think this is the best album they've done so far. It's just so un-apologetic as it stumbles along in it's alcohol fuelled path to greatness.
Another good thing about this album is that most songs are by Matt. I just prefer his songwriting and his voice is just so much better! I've never been too keen on Dan's songs (not all, but most...) but one of Dan's songs on here just so happens to be 'Message From Kathleen' which is brilliant.
In my opinion the best songs on Goddamnit are 'Nose Over Tail' and 'Sorry About That'. They're complete contrasts but equally as thrilling. 'Sorry About That' also proves that Alk3 can write fantastic 'ballads' too (more commoly known as Acoustic!). 'My Little Needle' and 'Cop' are also worthy of a mention. There are also 4 extra tracks of which '97' is the best. However this song's not been recorded very well and the music tends to swamp Matt's voice, but I'm sure you can live with that! If you want to hear a better version, get the DVD and hear (& watch!) it live instead.
You may accuse me of only being a relatively young Alk3 fan seeing as I only discovered them last year, but I know a good thing when I hear it, and this is it.
Also for anyone who's interested, I've heard their new album is due out in April and is rumoured to be called 'Church and Distroy'. Can't Wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goddamnit
Goddamnit by Alkaline Trio (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews