Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The album is finally here
Having first heard Foals a while back, I was instantly drawn to their music. I downloaded a few demos last year before all the hype started and was really impressed.Their use of multiple layers and time signatures leaves the listener slightly confused but ultimately amazed.
The only thing wrong with the album is prodction. The whole point of Foals' music is that it...
Published on 2 May 2008 by Mr. A. Kehoe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much sense but a lot of energy.....
Foals style is really reminiscent of late 70s, early 80s bands ( Talking Heads etc ) and you sometimes feel that there is a bit too much style over substance on this album. Don't expect to make much sense of the lyrics - I am guessing they write them down on pieces of paper and chuck them over the floor, then pick them up randomly. However, what really counts in this...
Published on 7 April 2008 by J. Bloss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The album is finally here, 2 May 2008
By 
Mr. A. Kehoe "Gordo20" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having first heard Foals a while back, I was instantly drawn to their music. I downloaded a few demos last year before all the hype started and was really impressed.Their use of multiple layers and time signatures leaves the listener slightly confused but ultimately amazed.
The only thing wrong with the album is prodction. The whole point of Foals' music is that it is multi layed and raw, and this album has lost some of that. Seeing them live will really make the listener appreciate them fully. Personally I dont like the use of saxaphone, and many of the songs have changed drastically from the original demos, mainly being mellowed out.

The 2cd version is the better deal, you get live recordings, which show what the main album was getting at, it just couldnt quite get there

Overall a good album for someone that is tired of typical indie and who wants to be absorbed into something very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly Good Stuff, 31 July 2009
By 
A. J. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
Not my usual fare and took a few listens to get into, but will definitely buy the next album aswell. Read the first guy's review for the full-on, I know what I'm talking about, arty sort of stuff. I just liked it. A lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to it a few more times and you'll never stop..., 19 May 2008
By 
Allison Holliday "there he goes" (wallingford near oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
What's everyone complaining about? Why are they saying its a disappointment? O.K i'll admit that its not a one-listen pure pop album, but after a few listens there's really not a record on this that i don't think would be able to be released as a single. The best part about it is the feeling you get of moving along with the band, progressing from the beginning to the end, i generally feel that most peoples music taste and horizons will be changed and expanded after a good few listening of this debut. If you've seen them live or ever met them you'll realize that they defiantly feel that they're all about the live performances, and recreating this on an album would be impossible and create horrific results of beautiful songs. So they decided to go down a much cleaner, refined and go full out and throw in some extras, like the horns and sax. Overall it creates a stunning album that, I'm sure although many attempts will never be replicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only so much, 2 May 2008
By 
Mr. A. Kehoe "Gordo20" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
Having first heard Foals a while back, I was instantly drawn to their music. I downloaded a few demos last year before all the hype started and was really impressed.Their use of multiple layers and time signatures leaves the listener slightly confused but ultimately amazed.
The only thing wrong with the album is prodction. The whole point of Foals' music is that it is multi layed and raw, and this album has lost some of that. Seeing them live will really make the listener appreciate them fully. Personally I dont like the use of saxaphone, and many of the songs have changed drastically from the original demos, mainly being mellowed out.

The 2cd version is the better deal, you get live recordings, which show what the main album was getting at, it just couldnt quite get there

Overall a good album for someone that is tired of typical indie and who wants to be absorbed into something very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wind is in my heart, 10 April 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
Here's a minor prediction for the musical year -- the Foals just might be the Next Really Big Thing in indie-rock.

Yeah, someone says that about a fledgling band every year, sometimes more than once. But this little Oxford band has what it takes, and "Antidotes" is a gloriously energetic debut album -- mellow, bright rock'n'roll that makes you dance and bounce, yet has some postrock spaciness, nimble electronics and clever funky twists to keep things interesting. And it actually gets better as it goes on.

It opens on a relatively simple note -- "The French Open," an jazzy-funky little pop intro that periodically erupts into solid dancy rock. "Un peu d'air sur la terre/D'air sur la/D'air sur la/D'air sur la terre!"

With that as the intro, they leap wholeheartedly into the cocky, rollicking "Cassius," with its muscular riffs and confusingly jabby lyrics ("Cassius, it's over! You're second best!"). And with "Red Sock Pugie," we get another catchy indie-rock melody -- but wrapped in a shimmering post-rock blanket, riddled with kettle drums.

And most of the songs that follow linger somewhere between those two styles -- ringing circling pop with convulsing violins, moody rock tunes, fast funky dance music, fast-moving spacey tunes with airy fantastical lyrics, and a shimmering pop anthem in "Big Big Love (Fig. 2)."

The Foals seem to wind down the album with the catchy "Like Swimming," a little instrumental that sounds like eavesdropping on a tropical pool party. Then they yank you back up for the final song "Tron," a dark little rocker with tight, muscular instrumentation and chirruping guitars.

The Foals don't seem satisfied just by making music that makes you dance -- they seem to be striving for something cool yet fun, clever yet not pretentious. And they apparently want a mishmash style -- if you listen carefully, the indie-rock sound is infused with elements of funk, dance, and shimmering hazy spaciness. All this, and it's fun too.

Part of what makes their music so appealing is the versatility -- we've got powerful bouncy riffs, undercurrents of grainy bass, and solid, hollow-sounding drums keeping the music energetic. But they can also make those instruments do some very odd things -- their guitars alone are a sonic circus, chirping or creaking or spiraling around in glittering loops.

And then you get the really out-there stuff -- blares of Afrobeat brass, the occasional kettle drums, shimmers of keyboard, and some pedal guita to, as it's been reported around the Web, "mimic the sound of the solar system." I don't really know what a solar system sounds like, but I presume that's the gloriously spacey, shimmery sound that wafts through most of these songs.

Yannis Philippakis always sounds like he's about to run out of breath, but his flexible voice has enough energy to keep up with the music. And for a beginner band, the Foals have a knack for lyrics, filled with "butcher birds," falling towers, nameless fuels, exploding hearts, and eating clouds to pass the time when you're not fighting vampires. Isn't that great?

The Foals at first sound like just another art-rock band, but these guys have a special knack for effortlessly mixing elaborate cross-genre indie-rock with energetic dance. Keep an eye on these lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and beautiful., 30 April 2009
By 
R. G. Lapidus "RGL" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
I had the pleasure of seeing these guys live before i heard the album. I don't know if that makes me biased, but this is a fantastic album and is best listened to in its entirety. The complexity of the music and its quality are breathtaking. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of 2008..., 25 Mar 2009
By 
D. L. Young "young Danny" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
Simply wish to add another five star review for this joyful, inventive, unique and stunning debut album. This is music that challenges, invigorates and never fails to surprise. All in all a premier quality chocolate box of an album...here's hoping that these boys really do make it big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful album, 19 Oct 2008
By 
Andy Lloyd (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
I first heard of Foals through a friend and egged me on to buy their album, the opening of the French Open grabbed my attention, such a classy intro of guitars and the slow build up

My favourite 2 tracks on the album are Cassius and Red Sock Pugie, Cassius opens with plucky guitar and collective vocals, an interesting sound that will grow on you, all the way through the album it changes stance and will then come in with something different, the final track Tron i thought was just going to be an indie album filler, but it again builds up and just gives you that feeling of leaving you wanting more.

Superb debut album and in my current top 20 albums ever.

If you like Foals and are Electro-indie inclined try Late of the Pier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 1 Sep 2008
By 
Jon Turner (Bradford on Avon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
Original, inspirational, beautiful music.
The stand-out track for me, Red Socks Pugie, is original songwriting at its best.
Listen to it. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 8 April 2008
This review is from: Antidotes [Cd Album] (Audio CD)
I just wanna listen and listen and listen to this amazing 46 minute segment of jerky,twitchy,intense funk-rock.
Foals build tracks on millipedes legs of jittering riffs and notes,while the synths lay a solid base of melody and colour to the rantings and yelps of the vocalists.
I'm sure some of this has been done before, the trebly jazzy guitars and the smooth,dextrous basslines seem familiar,but this is a fresh blast of art-pop form 2008 and seems to get better at every listen,superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antidotes [Cd Album]
Antidotes [Cd Album] by Foals (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews