Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are better chargers in this price range
I got this charger over year ago so I could charge batteries other than AA and AAA that my previous charger was limited to, and it is still functioning well. However the limitation of charging pairs of batteries (other than 9V), is major. Many toys use an odd number of batteries, and even if you wait for pairs to both be used they often aren't fully drained. Recently...
Published 22 months ago by Adamovich

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly poor quality - there are better items out there
I bought the Energizer and Duracell chargers at the same time. Basically they do the same thing except the Energizer charger and the batteries getting charged in it get VERY hot. The Duracell charger takes a bit longer to run the charge cycle but remains cool throughout the charge, so do the batteries. Also, the Energizer charger is made of really cheap tacky plastic...
Published 23 months ago by laserdude


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are better chargers in this price range, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
I got this charger over year ago so I could charge batteries other than AA and AAA that my previous charger was limited to, and it is still functioning well. However the limitation of charging pairs of batteries (other than 9V), is major. Many toys use an odd number of batteries, and even if you wait for pairs to both be used they often aren't fully drained. Recently this charger indicated that pairs of batteries were faulty,so I purchased a AccuCell BC-700 / 9 in 1 intelligent Battery Charger for my AA and AAA batteries which includes individual charging as well as test, discharge and refresh functions. This has recovered all but one of the 'faulty' batteries and I would recommend that charger for those who don't need the universal capability. If I was buying a new universal charger now I would go for the Duracell Multi Battery Charger 6-8hrs Capacity, NiMH, 8x AA or 8xAAA, 4xC, 4xD and 1x9V Batteries - 75044676 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific charger!, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
I was having problems with batteries holding their charge when recharged via a quick (15 minute) charger and wanted a replacement charger that gave an indication as to the state of the battery. This unit is proven to do exactly that and, after only 2-3 days, I am delighted with it.
Place a pair or two of batteries - and it takes a wide variety of types - in the charger, plug in the lead, switch it on at the socket and you are off. The display indicator shows the state of each battery i.e. charging / full / bad and, if charging, indicates progress via one, two or three flashing indicator bars. After the requisite 2-5 hours charging time has elapsed the job is complete. It is as easy as that.
If you are after an easy to use yet efficient charger then I can wholly recommend this Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly poor quality - there are better items out there, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
I bought the Energizer and Duracell chargers at the same time. Basically they do the same thing except the Energizer charger and the batteries getting charged in it get VERY hot. The Duracell charger takes a bit longer to run the charge cycle but remains cool throughout the charge, so do the batteries. Also, the Energizer charger is made of really cheap tacky plastic and feels like it will fall apart at any moment, whilst the Duracell charger is made of higher quality materials and feels sturdy. Get the Duracell charger, it does the same thing only it's better quality and doesn't overheat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be, 12 Dec 2012
By 
R. Higgins "Electronically challenged" (Shropshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
No, it wasn't that good after all. However, silver lining and all that, the power cable fits the previous charger we had so I use the combination to charge my batteries. As we mainly use AA and AAA it's not a problem. The problem happened the second time I charged batteries with it, or tried to. It would not pick up that there were 2 AA batteries in it, even after placing two fully charged AA's in it. It refused to pick them up. Good when it worked though, but, just one charge and then Kaput! Not good is it Energizer? Hmmmm? Hence the 2 stars, and that's because it woked as advertised the first time, and I can use the chargers plug for our old charger. That's a Uniross by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as it said it does on the box!, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
Great bit of kit so far! - I did as it said in the very basic instructions and once the actual batteries are fully charged, the word 'Full' comes up - simple or what? - there is no problem with seeing the display panel as somebody outlined in an earlier review unless you want to contort your body to achieve this greatness.. All in all, it's charged my 'D' and 'AA' cells with no problems and would happily buy another if required as for the loot paid for it, its a gift - I note another concern is asking in excess of 22 for the very same charger PLUS delivery....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battery recharge., 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
This arrived in a timely manner. Used it twice for triple A batteries. Charges quickly and lets you know when complete. Professional plastic casing looks good and easy to use - clever design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energizer Battery Charger, 8 Nov 2011
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
A great buy, very neat and handy appliance. Charges all sizes of batteries and the light indicator to say they are ready is a great feature. So much better than having a draw full of batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battery charger, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
the product arrived well before the estimated date, it was well packed and in good condition, it is a very good and versatile charger able to charge various size batteries, I would recommend this product to all. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good battery charger, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
Charges up batteries quite quickly, I like it that the power supply is separate to the main unit.

If anything will break, it is going to be the lid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with this charger, 6 Aug 2014
By 
"QuickBrew" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Energizer Universal Battery Charger with Smart LCD 2-5Hrs Charging Time for Ni-MH AAA AA C D 9V Ref 629874 (Electronics)
Really pleased with this charger. I was in two minds to buy a cheapy or this unit which is well known and branded.
I am glad I did not waste my money on a cheap version as this is very well made, has a useful Mono LCD display which keeps you informed of the state of the charging cycle and when it is completed.
It covers a versatile range of batteries but you can only charge 4 at any time.

Comes with a seperate plug-in powwr pack. Very pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews