Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars190
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2008
With the release of Mario Kart Wii the wii wheel is finally here, we can experience racing games as they were meant to be played!

The wheel is quite sturdy and easy to grip onto. The remotes fit very nicely onto the front as there's a gap provided to let the strap through and the space is snug enough to place the remote gently in without having to jam in it.

In terms of response, it's been very effective so far. Such as in Mario Kart Wii where you need to flick the wheel in various directions to perform tricks - its been effortless. As some characters are heavier than others, it feels wierd at first to twist the wheel to the side strongly in one direction, it takes some getting used to as all new control schemes do.

Fans have been divided between loving it and loathing it, me and my 16 year old brother love it. I think the problem some people experience is that they don't use it correctly; like they twist the wii wheel when they simply should just be turning it like an actual car steering wheel.

A few minor problems include a large B button on the back, if the game is still running and you leave the wheel flat on a service the B button will be pressed. And since the B button is usually used to 'cancel' actions, it can be annoying to see you go back and forth between the main and character selection menus. If you lie it on its front the same problem occurs, plus it can scratch if not handled carefully.

The strap can also prove to be an annoyance as it often irritates the wrist when its on. If it's not strapped on its as risk of flying around, knocking against the wheel itself or it tickles your lap!

Last problem is when using the cursor, holding the wii wheel is quite awkward when you first start up the wii and have to select your game using the cursor.

Overall it's a good quality product and a good addition to the wii remote accessories family.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
I've experiemented with playing Mario Kart Wii, with and without the wheel, but I find the wheel does make things more fun! There's not much to it really, but the remote fits snugly in and there is a trigger on the reverse of the steering wheel which presses the B trigger when driving (drift and slide button).

You can play with just the remote, but I found my right thumb got more cramped, and the slide buttons were more uncomfortable to reach. The wheel gives you something to grip, and also keeps the remote more level.

I haven't tried it with the Game cube controller, or the Remote/Nunchuck set up, as I wanted to get used to the tilt sensor. It could well be that you'll achieve faster lap times by using the traditional controls....but I hope that isn't so. Nintendo need to be commended once again for being innovative and intuitive at the same time.

I only wish I could purchase another wheel, but they're sold out everywhere!!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
I got the Official wheel and a free generic one when I bought Mario Kart.

I offered a friend of mine the use of the non-official wheel on a recent visit, while I would use the official wheel.

His response was "Hmmm... You can work that up your bangle sir."

He's right.

The Nintendo one fits the controller like a hand in glove, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has places for all the buttons and bits, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one feels like a quality bit of kit, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has an eyehole for the IR, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has lovely textured plastic that is just 'right', the generic one does not.

And it's dirt cheap, why buy something else??
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2008
As Mario Kart only comes with one Wii wheel then a second wheel is a must purchase for multiplayer. Obviously you don't have to use the wheel at all, Mario Kart allows you to use just the regular Wii Controller and Nunchuk, or even the Classic Controller.

But to not use the wheel takes away some of the insane fun that is Mario Kart. The beauty of the Wii is that you can use all these cool accessories to enhance the gaming experience, so playing Mario Kart without the wheel means you're really missing out.

The Wii wheel itself is nice and light and easy to hold. It takes a little bit of practice to get used to the wheel, you have to remember to hold it steady and simply turn it left or right to steer and not twist it at funny angles or over-steer. Is sounds simple but when you're taking a corner at high speed while frantically trying to overtake an opponent it's easy lose control and start wiggling the wheel all over place! Just keep it steady and turn it, there's no need for for any extreme movements with it.

Believe me, once you've used the Wii wheel for Mario Kart you'll never go back to using the Wii Controller, it's a must purchase!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
£13.99 - your having a laugh.

I just bought 4 of these from Argos at £6.99. Take note £6.99 is the rrp as seen on the official Nintendo website.

Game is the best yet and the wheel makes it much easier. Also the official wheel is better than the other brands. Top marks for the product - no marks for the price.
22 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2008
Don't let anyone tell you that there is no difference between using the wii wheel and sticking with just the remote. It is true that all you're getting for your money is a bit of plastic which the wii-mote slips into but the transformation in games like Mario Kart Wii is extraordinary.

The wii wheel is simple, convenient to use and makes the gaming experience much more satisfying, especially if playing with mates. The wii remote alone is too small and fiddly and can be really awkward to control on some tracks and, lets face it, whats the point in having a Wii if you're going to use a nunchuk or traditional remote?

It might be true that the wheel is a tad expensive and seems like nothing substantial but its effect on gameplay, however subtle, makes it well worth the buy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
The official wii wheel is by far the best wheel for wii out there, and it makes games like mario kart wii seem more realilstic and comftable to use. also the blue ring on the back adds style and colour 5/5
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2008
Some people find using the wii wheel an intuitive method of controling mario kart, and they are correct to a certain extent as steering is good fun when using the wheel but it does have its drawbacks.

Using the wii wheel isnt as precise as using the trusty Gamecube pad, as its almost impossible to judge where the remote will pick up movements due to the fact it doesnt lock to a point like the stering wheels of old and the neutral position is never quite in the same place.

Personally speaking its matter of preference on the type of gamer you are.

Casual: Go for the wheel
Hardcore: Go for the Gc pad
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 May 2008
I bought this Wii Wheel to use with 'Need For Speed: Pro Street', and its really enhanced the gameplay.
Steering is much easier and less prone to simple errors such as misholding or over turning the remote.
My wife and five year old daughter have also enjoyed using this, and have both said how much it improved the game.

I looked at a few Wheels before getting one of these, but some were too flimsy, and others lacked simple features such as the window for the infra red part of the Wii remote.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this wheel if you have driving games. Ok, the Amazon price is a touch high so you might want to look around.
One issue I found was finding somewhere that stocked this Nintendo item, many retailers only stocked their own branded version which was inferior as far as I was concerned.

So all I need to do now is find somewhere with 'Mario Karts' in stock and then me and my family can enjoy some good fun multi player driving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
Purchased this at the same time as the Mario Kart game with one wheel included, and needed this as a second wheel. It is exactly as described and essential if you want to play the game with 2 people. Not expensive so really recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)