Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii Wheel Play With Yee!
With the release of Mario Kart Wii the wii wheel is finally here, we can experience racing games as they were meant to be played!

The wheel is quite sturdy and easy to grip onto. The remotes fit very nicely onto the front as there's a gap provided to let the strap through and the space is snug enough to place the remote gently in without having to jam in...
Published on 19 April 2008 by Sarah R

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice accessory for casual gamers who like using the remote, for the hardcore i would dig up your old gc pad instead...
Some people find using the wii wheel an intuitive method of controling mario kart, and they are correct to a certain extent as steering is good fun when using the wheel but it does have its drawbacks.

Using the wii wheel isnt as precise as using the trusty Gamecube pad, as its almost impossible to judge where the remote will pick up movements due to the fact it...
Published on 8 Dec 2008 by James Petford


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii Wheel Play With Yee!, 19 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
With the release of Mario Kart Wii the wii wheel is finally here, we can experience racing games as they were meant to be played!

The wheel is quite sturdy and easy to grip onto. The remotes fit very nicely onto the front as there's a gap provided to let the strap through and the space is snug enough to place the remote gently in without having to jam in it.

In terms of response, it's been very effective so far. Such as in Mario Kart Wii where you need to flick the wheel in various directions to perform tricks - its been effortless. As some characters are heavier than others, it feels wierd at first to twist the wheel to the side strongly in one direction, it takes some getting used to as all new control schemes do.

Fans have been divided between loving it and loathing it, me and my 16 year old brother love it. I think the problem some people experience is that they don't use it correctly; like they twist the wii wheel when they simply should just be turning it like an actual car steering wheel.

A few minor problems include a large B button on the back, if the game is still running and you leave the wheel flat on a service the B button will be pressed. And since the B button is usually used to 'cancel' actions, it can be annoying to see you go back and forth between the main and character selection menus. If you lie it on its front the same problem occurs, plus it can scratch if not handled carefully.

The strap can also prove to be an annoyance as it often irritates the wrist when its on. If it's not strapped on its as risk of flying around, knocking against the wheel itself or it tickles your lap!

Last problem is when using the cursor, holding the wii wheel is quite awkward when you first start up the wii and have to select your game using the cursor.

Overall it's a good quality product and a good addition to the wii remote accessories family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo do make nice stuff..., 30 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
I got the Official wheel and a free generic one when I bought Mario Kart.

I offered a friend of mine the use of the non-official wheel on a recent visit, while I would use the official wheel.

His response was "Hmmm... You can work that up your bangle sir."

He's right.

The Nintendo one fits the controller like a hand in glove, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has places for all the buttons and bits, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one feels like a quality bit of kit, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has an eyehole for the IR, the generic one does not.

The Nintendo one has lovely textured plastic that is just 'right', the generic one does not.

And it's dirt cheap, why buy something else??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Official Nintendo Wii Wheel, 15 April 2008
By 
Mr. A. Pepper "Pepper" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
I've experiemented with playing Mario Kart Wii, with and without the wheel, but I find the wheel does make things more fun! There's not much to it really, but the remote fits snugly in and there is a trigger on the reverse of the steering wheel which presses the B trigger when driving (drift and slide button).

You can play with just the remote, but I found my right thumb got more cramped, and the slide buttons were more uncomfortable to reach. The wheel gives you something to grip, and also keeps the remote more level.

I haven't tried it with the Game cube controller, or the Remote/Nunchuck set up, as I wanted to get used to the tilt sensor. It could well be that you'll achieve faster lap times by using the traditional controls....but I hope that isn't so. Nintendo need to be commended once again for being innovative and intuitive at the same time.

I only wish I could purchase another wheel, but they're sold out everywhere!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential part of the Mario Kart experience!, 23 May 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
As Mario Kart only comes with one Wii wheel then a second wheel is a must purchase for multiplayer. Obviously you don't have to use the wheel at all, Mario Kart allows you to use just the regular Wii Controller and Nunchuk, or even the Classic Controller.

But to not use the wheel takes away some of the insane fun that is Mario Kart. The beauty of the Wii is that you can use all these cool accessories to enhance the gaming experience, so playing Mario Kart without the wheel means you're really missing out.

The Wii wheel itself is nice and light and easy to hold. It takes a little bit of practice to get used to the wheel, you have to remember to hold it steady and simply turn it left or right to steer and not twist it at funny angles or over-steer. Is sounds simple but when you're taking a corner at high speed while frantically trying to overtake an opponent it's easy lose control and start wiggling the wheel all over place! Just keep it steady and turn it, there's no need for for any extreme movements with it.

Believe me, once you've used the Wii wheel for Mario Kart you'll never go back to using the Wii Controller, it's a must purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way over priced, 26 May 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
£13.99 - your having a laugh.

I just bought 4 of these from Argos at £6.99. Take note £6.99 is the rrp as seen on the official Nintendo website.

Game is the best yet and the wheel makes it much easier. Also the official wheel is better than the other brands. Top marks for the product - no marks for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior Driving Experience, 7 May 2008
By 
Carl Spencer "Carl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
Don't let anyone tell you that there is no difference between using the wii wheel and sticking with just the remote. It is true that all you're getting for your money is a bit of plastic which the wii-mote slips into but the transformation in games like Mario Kart Wii is extraordinary.

The wii wheel is simple, convenient to use and makes the gaming experience much more satisfying, especially if playing with mates. The wii remote alone is too small and fiddly and can be really awkward to control on some tracks and, lets face it, whats the point in having a Wii if you're going to use a nunchuk or traditional remote?

It might be true that the wheel is a tad expensive and seems like nothing substantial but its effect on gameplay, however subtle, makes it well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 9 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Philip G. Sorrell "Mr. P. G. S" (Littlehampton (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
The official wii wheel is by far the best wheel for wii out there, and it makes games like mario kart wii seem more realilstic and comftable to use. also the blue ring on the back adds style and colour 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice accessory for casual gamers who like using the remote, for the hardcore i would dig up your old gc pad instead..., 8 Dec 2008
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
Some people find using the wii wheel an intuitive method of controling mario kart, and they are correct to a certain extent as steering is good fun when using the wheel but it does have its drawbacks.

Using the wii wheel isnt as precise as using the trusty Gamecube pad, as its almost impossible to judge where the remote will pick up movements due to the fact it doesnt lock to a point like the stering wheels of old and the neutral position is never quite in the same place.

Personally speaking its matter of preference on the type of gamer you are.

Casual: Go for the wheel
Hardcore: Go for the Gc pad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great wheel, really enhances some games., 25 May 2008
By 
A. Davis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
I bought this Wii Wheel to use with 'Need For Speed: Pro Street', and its really enhanced the gameplay.
Steering is much easier and less prone to simple errors such as misholding or over turning the remote.
My wife and five year old daughter have also enjoyed using this, and have both said how much it improved the game.

I looked at a few Wheels before getting one of these, but some were too flimsy, and others lacked simple features such as the window for the infra red part of the Wii remote.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this wheel if you have driving games. Ok, the Amazon price is a touch high so you might want to look around.
One issue I found was finding somewhere that stocked this Nintendo item, many retailers only stocked their own branded version which was inferior as far as I was concerned.

So all I need to do now is find somewhere with 'Mario Karts' in stock and then me and my family can enjoy some good fun multi player driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included (Video Game)
After reading some of the other reviews about the generic wheels available and problems with the window being too opaque, I decided to opt for the official wheel which doesn't cost much more and does what it says. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Wii Wheel (Wii) - Wii Remote Not Included
£12.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews