Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2008
I got this game a little while ago, and so far it's been really fun. You start off the game by doing a personality test which decides which pokemon you are. Then you decide what pokemon your friend will be, and after that you start the adventure!

The basic storyline is that your friend finds you unconcious on a beach. You find that you've turned into a pokemon and have lost your memory. The only things you remeber is your name and that you used to be a human. You then both set off together to join a guild to find out your true past, which leads you on many exciting adventures.

Overall I find this game very fun, and truly reccomend it. The reason I gave it 4 stars though is because-

A) If you are defeated you will have to start the whole level again, annoying if you are stuck on a boss 20 floors into a dungeon.

And B) It only lets you have one save file.

But apart from that it's great, with over 400 pokemon to meet and join forces with and hundreds of thing to do so you'll never get bored. Buy this game!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
Woah, this game is cool. I got it ages ago but am still playing it because it's so cool! I love the friend rescue option the most, which lets you rescue friends that have been defeated in dungeons!
Also, instead of catching pokemon in pokeballs, you can recruit them to your rescue team if you defeat them sometimes! (I have them all)
This game is awsome, and I would seriously consider buying it.
Pikachu ROCKS!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
(9 year old son dictated feedback). It was a great game, but a bit confusing at first because it tells you what to do, but doesn't tell you how to get to the places. Eventually after much searching I found my way around the game and then loved the graphics, the good and bad characters and especially the cool moves used by all the Pokemon.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Arrived quickly... Very quickly, in fact! Box was in fairly good condition for a preowned title.

Preferred the previous Red & Blue Rescue team titles, but this is still a fun game with quite a lot of depth as far as the exploring/collecting element goes. I would recommend this to fans of Pokemon, or anyone (big kid or small!) who enjoys dungeon exploration/monster collecting games.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
This game is really enjoyanble, I recommend it to anyone who had fun playing Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
The game is immersive and well thought out with great plotline that will keep kids and adults interested. The gameplay can get a bit grindy at times but is done exceptionally apart from when AI teammates wander off for no apparent reason, which is not very often.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
The game was delivered a little overdue of what I was expecting but it arrived regardless. It was advertised as new but the case appeared to have wear as if it had a previous owner, the game was fine aside from that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
I played this game good a few years ago and still remember it fondly! A very strange way to control and move around the dungeons but after a while it was fine! The gameplay was good but the storyline was actually stunning for a Pokemon game!

This was and remains to be the only game I have ever genuinely balled my eyes out, and be genuinely moved throughout. Whether your a fan of Pokemon or not, I highly suggest this game!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I really wanted to enjoy being a Pokemon in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness. However, despite numerous attempts, I just can't get into this game. The controls, graphics and sounds are as good as anything on Nintendo DS. My dislike for this game is purely subjective for the following reasons:

1) The lack of choice. The Pokemon you become is based on a personality test and you only get a limited choice of partner. Whereas in the more traditional Pokemon experience (i.e. Red, Silver, Black etc.) you can build a team of upto 6, from a range of over 100 Pokemon.

2) The dungeon crawling felt repetitive. I know a lot of Pokemon is repetitive (i.e. battling, catching, training), but previous titles have managed to keep environments fresh and engaging as your progress through your adventure.

3) On a more petty note, the notion of Pokemon talking in human language, for some reason, didn't sit comfortably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
Its good if you are not looking for a traditional pokemon experience but its set in the same world.but its irritating that you can't pick your own character and have to an irritating personality test.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.