Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nes review
I got it when i was twelve in 2009-10 but im now ready to give you a review, it comes with two controllers and they really feel clasical and cool, even if i do have an Xbox or wii, i still love playing a classic game or two, and some of the games like contra are really great and feel like an arcade in-a-box, two player! but there are still a few minor draw backs, you have...
Published on 17 Oct. 2010 by Oli

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad!
The description said this was a working console, did it work? NO. I had to replace the 72 pin connector, I suggest this seller gets off Amazon or write proper descriptions
Published 11 months ago by josh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nes review, 17 Oct. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
I got it when i was twelve in 2009-10 but im now ready to give you a review, it comes with two controllers and they really feel clasical and cool, even if i do have an Xbox or wii, i still love playing a classic game or two, and some of the games like contra are really great and feel like an arcade in-a-box, two player! but there are still a few minor draw backs, you have to make sure the games are new or very clean or it might not work the first time and start flashing a red light, just turn the console off, take the game out and blow at the chip inside the cartride then put back in and try again! and if you are trying to buy the zapper and duck hunt, make sure you have an old tv and not a plasma or it wont work! but still i would deffinatly reccomend this old arcade console to anyone out there who really like the classical feel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NES, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Great for playing the old school games again, expect the old school blowing the cartridge and placing it in gently to make it work.

This is how games were back then, so dissapointed to see previous reviews mocking this, they did this when they were brand new.

Got Mario, but don't bother with Duck Hunt new TV's can't work with the gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nes, 31 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
This console is possibly the greatest video games system ever made, boasting brilliant games such as the legend of zelda, Metroid, the castlevania series and of course, the world famous super mario bros system, if you can get hold of a complete console, give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition & Well Looked after, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
This product arrived to me not too long after being ordered and came in good condition, the console it self hasn't received any scratches or damage at all and is not stained. But it came with no wires whatsoever, and I was only informed that it lacked a controller, not wires, therefore I expected it to arrive with the wires. Because it has no wires, I cannot tell if the console runs okay, although, from what I've seen so far, I'm sure it will. Aside from that, it was delivered relatively quickly and is perfectly looked after. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic retro console, 15 April 2015
By 
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
great 80's retro console+still have it, but one of the things it says is:Home console developed by Nintendo and released in the UK and Ireland in 1987-which is wrong I know it came out in Japan in 83 called: Famicom +US got it in 85- I got mine in 1986 in the UK and not 87 so confused bout that statement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So retro. Does not compute. Shutting down because of awesomeness., 10 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
This is one of the best consoles ever made. Sure sega. You do what NintenDon't, but that doesn't mean you are better than nintendo. And I'm sure you all know this, but Super Mario Bros. 3 is the best game for this system. If you were to pick a game to be your first for this, it would be Mario 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gaming Industry as we know it owes its very existence to the NES, July 25, 2005, 8 Oct. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Arguably the single most important console in video game history, Nintendo Entertainment System (hereafter referred to as the NES), along with SUPER MARIO BROTHERS, singlehandedly resurrected the video game industry after the historic crash of 1983-1984. Rather than reviewing the system itself, which has been done many times, I think many people may find the history how of this revolutionary console came to the videogame industry's rescue very interesting; I know I do. I draw much of this information from various websites, one very good one in particular; unfortunately, I can't really plug them due to Amazon's policies. Email me if you want the websites.

By 1983, the gaming industry, in existence for a mere twelve years, had risen to an astonishing 3.2 billion dollar industry. Atari spearheaded the industry, which introduced its first console in 1977 (Atari Video Computer System), and since had grown to hold two thirds of the entire market. However, in 1984 all this would end with a thunderous crash. This concise overview will show you the history of the home consol crash and how the NES came to the rescue.

In 1976, Warner Communications bought Atari for $28 million from the company's founder, Nolan Bushnell. Over the next two years, Atari, suffering major production problems and Bushnell's bizarre management, lost Warner millions. Bushnell and Warner's CEO fought, and in 1978 Bushnell was forced to leave. Warner totally revamped the working style, and in 1979-1980, produced twelve new titles. However, Atari was still dragging down Warner's stock. Struggling to gain the market share, Atari made the smartest move they possible could have; in 1980, they began licensing arcade games, the first being SPACE INVADERS. Over the next two years, Atari overtook the market, bringing in over half of Warner's overall profits.

However, very significant problems would totally destroy the infant industry. In 1981, Atari released PAC MAN on the VCS, and, because it was such a huge arcade hit, quickly became a bestseller. Unfortunately, the quality was very low. This was a major blow to the company's image, with fans and critics alike extremely disappointed.

Another major stumble was one of video games' most infamous games, ET. Warner bought the rights from Spielberg for twenty one million dollars. Atari, expecting the game to be as big a hit as the movie, which was the highest grossing film at that point, purportedly made more ET cartridges than there were consoles themselves. ET proved to be a huge flop, nearly breaking Atari.

By 1983, Atari was in serious trouble. Suing Activision (which was disgruntled Atari employees who broke off and formed their own company) and Imagic, the two leading third party developers, Atari tried to gain control over its software catalogue. Atari lost the suits. Third party developers began popping up overnight, and the industry becomes saturated with very low-quality products. (One of the most controversial is CUSTER'S REVENGE by Mystique, where the goal is to rape a Native American woman while avoiding being shot by arrows.) The third-party developers went bankrupt; these cartridges were heavily discounted, and the major companies couldn't compete. Another factor is the home computer market, that was just starting to come alive in 1984. With an increasing amount of computer games and low prices, people started buying these over the consoles.

All these factors lead to the crash of 1984. In 1983 alone, Atari lost $356 million. Warner sold Atari to Jack Tramiel, former head of Commodore. The video game industry died, with no major American corporation coming anywhere near it. Enter Nintendo.

A little history here will be highly illuminating as well. What many people don't realise is Nintendo is a very old company, founded in 1889 (yes, you read that right) as a playing card company. It became Japan's largest playing card company, and was very successful. In the 1960s, they moved away from the cards and got into the game and toy markets. (A very interesting sidenote: during that same decade, Nintendo's president opened up a `special hotel' rented `by the hour.' Supposedly, the married president was one of the hotel's top customers). In the 1970s and early 1980s, the company scored significant points with big arcade hits and the Game and Watch product line. In 1983, Nintendo released the Famicom (Family Computer). It was a massive hit in Japan. In 1983, Nintendo went to Atari because they wanted to release the Famicon to the American market. Do to complications I won't go into, the deal fail through. In 1984 they were looking to broaden their market share.

1985, Nintendo announced the release of the Nintendo Entertainment System. They release SUPER MARIO BROTHERS in Japan, scoring a huge hit. In 1986, the NES comes full throttle into the American market, quickly becoming the biggest selling console ever, largely because of that title. The NES owes much of its success to SUPER MARIO BROTHERS. Coming prepacked with the console, there are an estimated 40 million copies of SMB in existence, making it the highest selling video game ever.

Unparalleled, SMB blew open the doors to the videogaming world. With rich palettes of colour, eight four level worlds, spot-on play control, and expert level design, SMB was a much longer game than most of Atari's products and was a game unlike any other at that time. SMB also had the benefit of being very simple to grasp; run, jump, and fire. It was also the first side-sroller as we know it, though Atari's PITFALL set up the concept. Also, it's one of the best. Without SMB, NES wouldn't have been nearly as big a hit in the beginning.

In the end, Nintendo came at the industry's key moment. With a powerful new console (for that time) and a very well-designed game, Nintendo resurrected video gaming. With its phenomenal success of the NES and SMB, the video game industry once again took off, becoming one of the world's most significant economical contributors.

And we very largely have the NES to thank for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Great game so many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo rocks, 30 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Amazing classic Nintendo games console Nintendo at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Yes I am happy to own a Nintendo NEC again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Entertainment System Console
Nintendo Entertainment System Console by Nintendo (Nintendo NES)
Used & New from: £38.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews