Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great info
Graphics: A-. In terms of visual quality, the SNES generated remarkably clean, crisp graphics in a multitude of colors. Gamers were blown away to discover that the SNES version of Street Fighter 2 was almost identical to the spectacular arcade game. Mario Kart utilized the system's "mode 7" capabilities with roadways that moved smoothly under the wheels of the karts. The...
Published 22 months ago by ben cook

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Falsely advertised
TRUST ME DO NOT BUY FROM!!! U DON'T GET WHAT U PAY FOR AND ITEMS MISSING!! PLUS THEY DON'T REPLY WHEN U TELL THEM THE PROBLEM..... NOT HAPPY! PLUS IT WAS GOING TO BE MY LITTLE GIRL XMAS PRESENT, WHAT SHE ASKED FOR. NOW SHE WON'T GET WHAT SHE WANTED
Published 3 months ago by amy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great info, 8 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Graphics: A-. In terms of visual quality, the SNES generated remarkably clean, crisp graphics in a multitude of colors. Gamers were blown away to discover that the SNES version of Street Fighter 2 was almost identical to the spectacular arcade game. Mario Kart utilized the system's "mode 7" capabilities with roadways that moved smoothly under the wheels of the karts. The system's only downside is that its processor could not easily handle many objects moving on the screen at once, causing certain titles to be choppy or hampered by slow-down.

Audio: A. In terms of sound, the SNES is practically flawless. Not only can it generate lush orchestrated music (Super Star Wars, Final Fantasy III), but it produces crystal-clear digitized voices and sound effects. The Genesis simply could not compete with the SNES on this front. The difference is obvious when you compare versions of the same game for both systems.

Collectability: B+. Super Nintendo systems and controllers are inexpensive, but the games are more pricey than their Genesis counterparts. In addition, due to their cardboard packaging, it's difficult to find complete SNES games, and complete games in mint condition tend to go for hefty sums on Ebay. Loose cartridges are common and tend to age well, but locating an instruction manual can be a challenge. Still, the SNES library is so strong and loaded with classic titles that it would be difficult for a collector to overlook this system.

Innovations: 6 button controller (with shoulder buttons), mode 7 effects, built-in scaling and rotation, S-video output.

Pros and Cons:
+ Sharp graphics and S-Video output
+ Crystal clear audio
+ Six button controller
+ Excels in terms of RPGs and fighting games
- Sports games and shooters not as fluid as Genesis versions
- Complete games rare and expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing piece of game architecture, 19 Feb 2009
By 
C. Bailey (Leeds,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console
well what can i say this has to be one of my favourite consoles ever!
the sheer scale of games is amazing for such a diddy console
the playstation 3, 360 and Wii have a hell of a lot of work to do to get this good
the graphics arnt something to gawwk at but the replay value of the games are great
if you cant manage to get an actual console then google a "snes emulator"
games to get:
zelda a link to the past
final fantasy 4 or 5 or 6 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snes the ultimate game console, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
I chose this rating as it is the best ever console ever made, I bought my first console approx 24 yrs ago from my neighbour who had split up with her bf and to spite she sold it to me with a pile of games, i was 23 at the time, omg mario is still my ultimate fave, i bought the 25th anniversary game for the wii and it has all the mario games on it from the snes, using the snes my hubby and i used to play zelda together, i had the controller and he worked out the map and where to go and i was brill at killing the bosses lol, proper team work haha, other fave games are total carnage and super turrican oh not forgetting donkey kong and mystical ninji, i played and played them but as my 3 children came along they took over the console and sadly it got wore out, i have now bought a excellent console from amazon and i am over the moon, my family have grown up and i shall play it to my hearts content, i may let them play with me now and again, i dont watch tv much i would rather have my head in a book and read, but now i shall become addicted again, thank god for amazon the only website i like to buy from as all products i buy are in excellent condition, good P &P rates, not like that auction site as u dont know who you are buying from, so whatever your age, buy a snes console or get one bought for you, even beats the wii and that takes some doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Purchase, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Had one of these years ago and still as good as it was then. Came well packaged and as good as new. Console great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less a games console than a direct link.........., 9 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
to childhood. Nostalgia is the enemy of objectivity. It may be easy to discount the glowing endorsement that I am about to give the SNES as nothing more than a young man looking back on glorious childhood days through rose tinted glasses. I would just like to emphasise that everything I say in this review is heartfelt and genuine.

I love this console. I love it with a passion that only people who were about ten years old in the early to mid nineties can begin to even comprehend. I also love the Sinclair ZX Spectrum that I owned before I got my SNES but the big difference between the two is that the Spectrum holds a place in my heart as the first games machine I ever played. I wouldn't want to play on it now though other than as a very quick blast to see how far things have advanced. Not so with the SNES which still has, for my money, the best games ever made on any system ever in a pound for pound match up.

Super Mario Kart!!! A tear comes to my eye and a lump to my throat as I think back on the sheer amount of pleasure that this game has given and continues to give me. Forget all the sequels that have disgraced the series since. Forget the fact that it doesn't look amazing nowadays. At the time the graphics wre astonishing. Just enjoy the best set of tracks with simple, short laps and the most balanced weapons and character roster of the series. Multiplayer will last a lifetime as will the excellent time trial. God like skills are required for the time trial but this is certainly a game where putting In the effort reaps major rewards. Quite simply the best game ever in any genre on any system. Fact.

Super Metroid!!!! At the time it was so big it would take at least three hours to complete. Not particularly impressive nowadays but astonishing at the time. Mere mortals were more likely to take anywhere from seven to twelve hours on a first play through and the chances are they would have only scratched the surface. Everything about this game is perfect. Just thinking about the perfect soundtrack that suits every location perfectly makes me grin like a chimp and then you had the atmosphere. Nothing since can match it. I find it hard to articulate just how much Iove this game so I will just leave it here. Some people reading this will feel exactly the same as me.

I could go on listing games and eulogise about them but this review will stretch to the length of the average nineteenth century Russian novel so i'll get back to the console.

Shoulder buttons. Absolutely indispensable nowadays. Apart from a handful of crappy obscure stone age consoles that you have never heard of the SNES was the first console to bring them to the table and every major console since has them. Apart from the Wii. So there.

I need to finish with a heartfelt plea. If you have never played a SNES and are reading this thinking about whether it can still cut the mustard nowadays then do yourself a favour and give it a go. I feel so sorry for people who don't read books because they think it is old fashioned and square because they are missing out on what is for me one of the greatest and most rewarding pastimes in the world. I feel exactly the same about the SNES. Do not dismiss it because the games look bad. Scratch beneath the surface and you will find some of the best entertainment available in video games or any other medium.

Buy it now youngsters. Forget crappy FPS's that are all the same. Travel back to a more simple time when a big green reptile kidnapping a princess was all the story a game needed. If you want a story read a book. Anything I have reviewed previously is a good place to start. If you want to play a pure video game buy a SNES. It's that simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 16 Aug 2011
By 
Evilnecrosis (Hykeham, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
The SNES is just awesome! To be honest, I'd rather play this than my xbox 360.
If you like old games, then I urge you to buy one :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars super console, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Good condition worked well little discolouration but to be expected for the age arrived within period expected everything was fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good alternative to buying a console, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
Works well and loads of games are included. If you don't mind playing games on a PC and don't want to spend hundreds of pounds on a SNES/games, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
its the snes what else do i have to say but its he goddamn sens he best Nintendo console EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Falsely advertised, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console (Video Game)
TRUST ME DO NOT BUY FROM!!! U DON'T GET WHAT U PAY FOR AND ITEMS MISSING!! PLUS THEY DON'T REPLY WHEN U TELL THEM THE PROBLEM..... NOT HAPPY! PLUS IT WAS GOING TO BE MY LITTLE GIRL XMAS PRESENT, WHAT SHE ASKED FOR. NOW SHE WON'T GET WHAT SHE WANTED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb68d0fd8)

This product

Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console
Super Nintendo Entertainment System Console by Nintendo (Nintendo Super NES)
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews