Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty's still got it...
First of all, I really can't compete with the first review on here, as it's fantastic, but I really want to praise Betty as well!

Although season 2 doesn't have such a strong storyline as season 1, hey, it's still Betty! It's still as funny as ever, Marc and Amanda are still brilliant, whether they're together or off scheming by themselves. There are also some...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by Caitlin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars annoyed!
Thanks Amazon for taking this off prime view when I was halfway through the season will be cancelling my subscription!!!
Published 8 months ago by FIONA HUNT


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty's still got it..., 4 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
First of all, I really can't compete with the first review on here, as it's fantastic, but I really want to praise Betty as well!

Although season 2 doesn't have such a strong storyline as season 1, hey, it's still Betty! It's still as funny as ever, Marc and Amanda are still brilliant, whether they're together or off scheming by themselves. There are also some very good and unexpected twists in the story, so stay on your toes or you'll get confused! Although the season finale (what I mean by that is the last few episodes) is a bit disappointing, it's almost virtually impossible to go wrong with a bit of Betty.

Overall, it's a great TV show that has given so many people all over the world the confidence to believe in themselves, and it's thoroughly enjoyable. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 13 Feb 2009
By 
Vivienne Joseph (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Watched Season 2 while recuperating from spinal surgery. For the Ugly Betty fan this is fun, colourful, ridiculous but leaves you wanting more. Can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for ugly betty!, 14 April 2010
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
When the show first hit our television screens in 2006, I loved it, and still do as a matter of fact.
ABC, the television network in the US, has axed the show due to low ratings, this could be due to the fact that they kept on changing the timeslot of the show, so no-one could really find out which day or time, it was on.
The writing is fantastic, the characters also. Season 4 (the final season) is ending tonight as i write this I look back on all the amazing moments ugly betty has given us, it was the greatest show on TV, and still is in millions of ugly betty fans today (including myself). But fear not, as a brand new show called 'Glee' you might of heard of it seeing as the show has become an international phinominon XD. But this is'nt about glee (which is my favirote show at the moment, apart from doctor who, desperate housewives, gossip girl, murder she wrote, 3rd rock from the sun, the simpsons etc... lol), this is about the fantastic show ugly betty, which I and many other will miss dearly.

We love you betty.
Goodbye :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back wonderful memories of a great season of the show., 7 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. P. O. Mills-Robertson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I managed to get through this box set in only three days. In this series we see the vulnerable side of Daniel Meade as he falls in love with a super crazy pyromaniac who also happens to be Wilhemina's sister (played with gusto by the wonderful Gabrielle Union). We also see the return of Henry Grubstick (the handsome Christopher Gorham) and an introduction to Betty's new love interest Gio (played by Six Feet Under's Freddy Rodriguez). Wilhemina continues to go to great lengths to get her hands on the ownership of Mode magazine(let's just say it involves an a corpse, some sperm and a hostile womb).Amanda attempts to find her biological father, and Marc finds a man with a lot of love to give. Betty struggles with her loyalties and her ideas of what her future may be. Don't really want to spoil the first episode so i won't tell you about Justin, Hilda and Santos. Betty's father manages to make it back to America with the unexpected help of Wilhemina Slater's father. Great show I truly recommend buying this box set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly Betty - Season Two, 24 Aug 2011
By 
N. Wilson "nigel-wilson" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Season Two of the excellent television series "Ugly Betty" is a marked improvement on the already brilliant season one- with stronger and better character development and more interesting and twisted storylines.

The show has an great mix of comedy moments and a good dose of drama chucked into the mix- there's also a mingling of touching, emotional moments and some heart-racingly great plotlines- it makes for excellent viewing.

Following on from Season One, "Ugly Betty" continues the story of New York underdog Betty who dreams of being an editor for a magazine. The show centres around her adventures as the "ugly" and "fat" girl at America's top fashion magazine 'Mode', working with shallow, stick-thin, martini sipping socialites and arrogant, womanizing men. The characterisation remains to be great, and there is some great character developments during this season- especially Mark, Amanda and Justin who are audience favourites.

The special effects with this season greatly improve from Season One, the writing standard and development of characters is far greater, and the plot lines are far more unique and exciting than those seen in the previous year's programmes.

With better comedy, improved writing and great storylines, fans of the show are sure to adore this season- and for those who are tempted to mingle with the show, this certainly satisfy those appetites. A great season; a great show; and I highly recommend this boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Betty's BACK, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Oh Betty :) This series has all the bitchiness, backstabbing and bizzareness of the first series, but unlike the first series, all but abandons any lingering believability. If you're a cynical, grounded sort, maybe this isn't for you: the plot twists and turns and jumps about like nobody's business. If you're a fan of escapism, laughs and loveable characters on the other hand, then this is for you.
I must admit, there were a couple of points in the series where I became frustrated with the story, as it seemed to stall. The plot stutters at times, and characters end up playing out the same scenes and conversations all over the place. Then again, [SPOILER ALERT] this reflected the element of Henry and Betty's relationship that was "stuck in a moment", just waiting for the baby to come. That said, where I used to watch episode after episode after episode in one sitting, simply because I couldn't leave it like that, I would find myself leaving days between episodes, something I never did with series 1.
Likewise, a couple of characters seemed to be being really grown and developed early on in the series, but are sidelined once again later on. That said, all the characters are as lovable, funny and well-written as ever.
If you loved the first series, then the second series will only grow this love. I would 100% recommend this series, as long as you're ready to not take it too seriously. It's thoroughly unbelievable, but then again, isn't that why we watch these things: to escape?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betty is back!, 8 Jan 2009
By 
Ms. RH Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was thrilled to receive my copy of Ugly Betty Season Two and I have not been disappointed. The writing is as sharp, witty and ironic as ever with the strong feel good thread of family binding it all together.

I love everything about the series, from the often over-the-top characters to the fantastic attention to detail of the set design. The plot line is unpredictable, holding attention without fail and yet we always know that good will come in the end and family will pull through. And what an ending to the last episode!

It just goes to prove that great entertainment need not always be about doom, gloom and violence. I'm looking forward to season three already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ugly Betty just get better!, 2 Oct 2009
By 
M. P. OKeefe "martinphilipokeefe" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is one of my all time favourite TV shows. With moments of high comedy as well of those of sentiment and tenderness this programme makes you laugh and makes you cry. With Wilhemina's one liners and Betty trying to help the well meaning Daniel there are the characters that you love for their goodness and those you appreciate for their deviousness. Yet you are often reminded that all of them have some goodness deep in side them, no matter how well they hide it. Great comedy without being smutty and even better for managing to remain original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Box Set, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Item arrived as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun and quirky programme, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
you are either a full-on fan of Ugly Betty; or you just don't get it. Basically each episode on the surface is crazy American people in the fashion mag business, who wear loud clothes and bitch a lot; but look deeper and we find a morality theme. Good, honest people eventually win over against the bitchy, sneaky ones. Betty looks weird, dresses over-the-top, tries too hard to please everyone; but you cannot help loving her...she's so nice, honest and kind. Everyone should have a "Betty" friend!
All the other characters are very strong; even the nasty ones sometimes show their vulnerable side. It's almost like a panto...you hiss at the villains, and cheer on the losers. Give it a try.....you will get hooked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007]
Ugly Betty - Season 2 [DVD] [2007] by America Ferrera (DVD - 2008)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews