Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational
Before watching this I was a little confused about the story, but now I have learned all about this subject.
T
Published 18 months ago by A. Harborne

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse print I have ever seen
This shockingly bad print/transfer defies belief. The image is terrible and the sound just as bad, Also it is not correctly framed. I watched 2 minutes and could not stand any more. Under no circumstances buy this version. I don't know if the other version on Amazon is any better - I just know it cannot be any worse!!!
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Adrian Drew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse print I have ever seen, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
This shockingly bad print/transfer defies belief. The image is terrible and the sound just as bad, Also it is not correctly framed. I watched 2 minutes and could not stand any more. Under no circumstances buy this version. I don't know if the other version on Amazon is any better - I just know it cannot be any worse!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genesis 19:12-13, 7 Dec 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
"Sodom and Gomorrah" is a reasonably entertaining,if overlong, drama loosely based on the Biblical story about the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah.It features a show stealing performance by Anouk Aimee as the glamorous,wicked,lesbian Queen of Sodom ,with Stewart Grainger playing the role of Lot,the leader of one branch of God's Chosen People.The film starts with Lot's God-fearing people living close by,but separate from,the hedonistic,amoral Sodomites.However eventually they are driven by circumstances into living inside Sodom, optimistically hoping to convert the Sodomites to decency, but surprise ,surprise, it is Lot's people who end up being corrupted. The moral of this film is that co-existence with a race of scumbags isn't possible unless you become scumbags as well. As I said, the film is only loosely based on the Biblical story in which Lot's uncle Abraham played a leading role in the events and where only Lot and his family were saved from the destruction of the two cities.The film does drag on somewhat and it features a protracted battle scene, intrigues amid the Sodomite leadership and a few love stories as well.It is a decent enough Biblical epic ,but not really in the same league as the likes of "The Ten Commandments" and "The Greatest Story Ever Told" which were released around the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, acceptable transfer (if you remember the days of VHS!), 21 Dec 2013
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
It is a shame that this film has not been given a UK release. So I resorted to this. The sound and picture quality are very reminiscent of VHS but this has the added bonus of subtitles. At least this appears to be the full version of the film and I think the transfer is very watchable, if far from perfect.

The film itself is engrossing enough to seem rather shorter than its actual length. To enjoy it, you have to first accept that it is only very loosely based around the biblical story. In fact only the beginning and ending borrow heavily from its source. Even the episode when the messangers come to stay is strangely absent from this film. Other details are understandably altered in the context of the film, like the fact that Lot and not Abraham pleads for the cities. I particularly liked the idea of the salt mines. Furthermore, the issue of slavery actually works well here, even though the keeping of slaves was in reality acceptable to the Israelites of the era, and provided for in the Law of Moses. More importanly, I found the main characters to be complex and interesting personalities. Of course there are some good morals and this film wisely steers clear of the common overly sexual interpretation of this story. But I won't go into theology here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, 20 May 2013
By 
A. Harborne "Netty" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
Before watching this I was a little confused about the story, but now I have learned all about this subject.
T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's the wrong Sodom, 3 Dec 2012
By 
amfortas (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
This is not the film with Stewart Granger but a more modern version with Richard Harries. It says Stewart Granger on the dvd cover but has a picture of Richard Harries. Utterly confusing and no dount a mix up by the Koreans who repackaged the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good old classic, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
Wonderful Sunday film - snuggled up with a duvet on the sofa watching a good old classic movie , if you know the story you know how it will all end but this film still keeps you intrested all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wot i think of this dvd, 1 Mar 2011
By 
derek taggart (Birmingham/England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sodom and Gomorrah (DVD)
This is a great film i like it a lot i got it for a friend and thay love it it is well woth siting down to see i give it 10 out of 10 :):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sodom and Gomorrah
Sodom and Gomorrah by Stewart Granger (DVD)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews