Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful color rendition, superb bokeh, good contrast, 10 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
Although you can't expect a 300mm lens to be as sharp as a good 50mm lens, there's no reason why it can't produce excellent colors, contrast, bokeh, etc. It is precisely in those "subjective" categories that the DA* 300 performs most flawlessly. Resolution is also outstanding in a lens of this focal length, which makes this an outstanding critter lens for those who can't afford the immense prices for quality supertelephotos. In many ways, a 300 f4 lens hits kind of the sweet spot in terms of usuability and price. A faster 300mm lens, or a long f4 lens, or a zoom lens of comparable quality, would cost and weigh at least twice as much. It works superbly as a critter lens for larger animals, such as elk, moose, seals, feral children, etc. Because of its ability to focus to nearly 4.5 feet, it could, at least theoretically, be used for birds as well -- assuming you could get close enough to the nervous little critters. Of course, because of stunning IQ, it can be used in other types of work as well, including landscapes.

Focusing was accurate and AF-C works well as long as you can steadily track the moving object. Focusing ring has approximately 220°travel which makes manual focusing feel like in the good old times. The ring does not spin when performing AF so you can hold the lens as you please.

Finally a lens that should put an end on bidding wars over older F* and FA* 300/4.5 lenses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good quality lens, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
very very good quality lens. i use it on a k3 and it gives good results. focus is a little slow (not really slow just not very fast), i didn't notice any great focus improvement coming from a 55-300. image quality is miles better though. So if you have a 55-300 and your frustrated with the poor focus speed but happy with image quality this lens probably isn't worth the upgrade, if your happy with the focus but frustrated with the image quality then this is worth the upgrade. 100% crop on this is about the same as 25% crop on the 55-300.

Pentax customer service in europe though is absolutely useless, even worse than that. The lens cap broke on my one straight out of the box, no big deal really as you can get a no name replacement for a couple of euro. but i tried to get in contact with pentax customer support to see if i could get a replacement under warranty and there was just no reply. i tried using the contact form on the website and every email i could find. i eventually got a reply from jpss uk who said they passed it onto the correct people in pentax who assured them that they would deal with it. i never heard anything from pentax after that. If it was a major fault i would have gone through amazon for the warranty, who are usually very good, i just didnt want to have to sent the whole lens back for this small fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 lens with superb IQ and great focussing. The TC, 25 Nov. 2014
By 
D. Storm (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
This lens is stellar. There is nothing close to it for a Pentax DSLR and if you team it up with the Pentax 1.4 HD AW Teleconverter you have a 420mm constant F5.6 lens with superb IQ and great focussing. The TC, by the way, does not reduce contrast and the reduction in IQ is so negligible as to not be worth worrying about.

I can't speak highly enough of this fantastic lump of glass and metal, it is magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star of the DA* lenses, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
I absolutely love this lens. It's pin sharp (pixel peeping level). Fantastic colours, contrast and bokeh. Yes it is a biggish lens, but compare this to s similar Nikon or Canon and this is a light lens and it balances beautifully on the Pentax K5. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pentax smc DA 300mm f4 ED (IF) SDM lens, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
This is an excellent lens. The image quality from this lens is superb and it is comparible in sharpness to my 31mm f1.8 FA lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got one at last, 25 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
I had been lusting over one of these for a short while after reading the reviews on forums and seeing some of the outstanding results I was very impressed and have at last got one and I am not a long standing photogrpher with decades of experience but am one of these people that do tend to buy all the gear.
In the hope that this great piece of kit would enhance my humble offerings I went ahead and bought this.I found it just right for my K20D well balanced the sdm is almost silent and really quite fast the images so far have been very satisfying indeed if you are pondering this purchase I am no expert but this is one lens which I use almost daily if particular for birds and wildlife.

A recent trip to Whipsnade Zoo to test this sure was rewarding I am really over the moon with this lens and would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Croppable magic by Pentax!, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
This is a lens to take you beyond the ubiquitous and very good Pentax DA 55-300, which at 300mm is only f/5.8. By that, I mean that in spite of the 1Kg weight, you can still successfully take hand-held shots, and with more than a one stop increase in shutter speed and a higher optical quality over the 55-300 (especially when wide open), get sharper images. The near-silent SDM focussing is pretty cool, too - though not particularly fast. But I use it most as a "beyond 300 mm zoom" by cropping, often heavily - something that isn't usually successful with the 55-300 wide open. Aim for faster than 1/1000 shutter speeds and/or take other measures to achieve pin-sharp handheld croppable shots.

Its range can be further extended by adding the slim Pentax 1.4x rear converter, if 300 mm isn't quite enough (albeit losing a stop). Used to date on my K-5 and my K-3.

The only niggle I have is with the big and solid lens hood, which can be fiddly to attach until you get used to it, but that is not worth a one star reduction and with no hesitation after 4 months use, it's five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The images are a lot sharper than the 55-300 which is still a great lens for the money but not in the same ..., 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
Replaced my 55-300 with this and so far I'm extremely impressed with it. The images are a lot sharper than the 55-300 which is still a great lens for the money but not in the same league as this optic. The ultrasonic drive is near silent and reasonably quick ( a friend who shoots with a Canon 7D and a Sigma 120-300 says the speed is comparable). I get more keepers with this lens and because it has an F4 aperture it lets in twice as much light as the 55-300 at the 300 end. As I'm currently shooting with a K-R I was concerned I wouldn't see much of an improvement over the zoom but I'm well impressed. This lens must be awesome on a K5 or K3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pentax 300mm DA smc lens, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
I have read reviews of this product praising it's excellence and have tried unsuccessfully to acquire one before. Now I have this lens and it is all that I was hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars da* 300, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
P. N. Lynch "pete" (nantwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentax smc DA* 300mm f/4 ED (IF) SDM Telephoto Prime Lens for Pentax DSLR (Electronics)
Really well built lens,pin sharp the autofocus is silent also weather sealed. Like the rubber end on lens hood all in all joy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews