Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I am hardly a literary critic. I'm just a 38 year old husband and father and the product of an extremely unfortunate childhood. I bought this book and couldn't put it down. If you're a guy, you'll find yourself described among the author's pages and you'll see yourself a bit differently as a man. It's really refreshing and inspiring. I know my life has changed. If you're...
Published on 15 April 1997

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Age guff
This book is the psycho-analytical equivalent of reading a horoscope in a daily paper. It's about as much use too! It suffers from the same fault as do all attempts to classify personality types. Namely that humans are too complex to be pidgeon-holed into neat little categories.

Her version uses the Greek Gods as archetypes and attempts to convince us that...
Published 22 months ago by M. Lawton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 April 1997
By A Customer
I am hardly a literary critic. I'm just a 38 year old husband and father and the product of an extremely unfortunate childhood. I bought this book and couldn't put it down. If you're a guy, you'll find yourself described among the author's pages and you'll see yourself a bit differently as a man. It's really refreshing and inspiring. I know my life has changed. If you're a woman, you'll probably understand the man you love, whether he's your mate, your son or father, a bit better. It's a great book. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" for anyone intersted in personal growth., 7 Sep 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the companion volume to Godessess in Everywoman, both are a mine of readable and understandable information for anyone wanting to follow the behest of the Delphic Oracle and "Know Thyself". I would go so far as to say that one volume isn't complete without the other because both the feminine and masculine archetypes are found in all of us.
Through these books and with the use of the stories of the mythical Greek gods and goddesses Jean Shinoda Bolen helps us to identify the many facets of personality and the stages of growth we all go through. She gives guidelines to help us offset the more negative traits of the personality aspects she explores, she warns us of the ruts we may get stuck into and what might precipitate a mid-life crisis. She also gives us an insight into the ups and downs of the parental and romantic relationships each predominant god and goddess type might have. She doesn't confine "romantic" to hetrosexual relationships either.
Both volumes are a "must have" on the bookshelves of anyone interested in personal growth and/or seeking to understand the driving forces in men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insignt into men, 11 Jan 2011
Women have always wondered what makes men tick - or even better, what makes them call or not call. Well, here is your answer, and then some. Joking aside, this is an excellent book into men's lives, loves and general psychology in relation to fathers, mothers, siblings and partners. Warm recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gods, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Dmponton "doug" (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a really excellent book
it can help you understand who you are, why you have problems, and what other people are like too
not many books I have read can do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book but read the companion volume as well, 9 Dec 1997
By A Customer
I feel that this book is an essential part of anyone's education. However, it is as important to read the original Godesses in Everywomen as it is to read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent follow-up to Goddesses Within. It actually made me think more sympathetically towards men who don't fit the Alpha male archetype and how they might also struggle to find their place in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Jungians, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods in Everyman (Kindle Edition)
This is not my favourite Jean Shinoda Bolen but is so well written nevertheless. A little bit too academic and dry but a very good introduction to Archetypes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Age guff, 5 Nov 2012
By 
M. Lawton (TWells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is the psycho-analytical equivalent of reading a horoscope in a daily paper. It's about as much use too! It suffers from the same fault as do all attempts to classify personality types. Namely that humans are too complex to be pidgeon-holed into neat little categories.

Her version uses the Greek Gods as archetypes and attempts to convince us that their behaviours are a model for our own. This involves selecting those behaviours that support the model and ignoring those that don't. Just one example among many, Jim Morrison of the Doors is compared to Dionysus because they both embraced hedonism and excess and had a retinue of female admirers. Trouble is Dionysus was also faithful to his only wife, something the notoriously promiscuous Morrison failed to emulate.

As I see it, a person may be described as having a power complex, or having activated a dictator archetype or simply being a bossy boots. Take your pick, all of these are just metaphors to describe a person's particular set of behaviours. This book reverses the process by describing a bunch of metaphors and then looking for ways a person might fit them. But because people are not one-dimensional, it also adds that you are likely to have more than one archetype activated at any time. Yes...but what does this prove? Gods are metaphors and people aren't.

I could classify humans as being either Fee, Fie, Fo or Fum types. Ascribing attributes of my choosing, just like she does. So Fee is logical and ordered. Fie is emotional and spontaneous, etc, etc. If though you're both ordered and emotional then you'd be a Fee-Fie type. And if you're a well-rounded individual with many facets to your character you might be a Fee-Fie-Fo-Fum type. But so what? It's a meaningless exercise.

Shinoda Bolen, an esteemed Jungian analyst, has evidently spent too long amongst Californian New Age, Feminist circles to notice that she has embarked on a flight of fancy that resembles fiction in places. It's not a worthless book, she knows what makes people tick but the concept is totally flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gods in Everyman
Gods in Everyman by Jean Shinoda Bolen M.D.
7.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews