Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forty Years Gigging And They've Saved The Best Till Last
NAZARETH The Newz
Edel Records
Nearly ten years on from "Boogaloo" Scotland's premier rock band come blasting back with a brand new collection of thirteen songs. I am completely justified in reviewing this album from a Blues perspective because "The Newz" is shot through with influences that stretch back through time. Make no mistake though this is a very...
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by Graeme A. G. Scott

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Newz
Im a huge fan of Nazareth and own all there albums in digital remaster formart.The production on this album is excellent as with all there albums,sound quality top notch.If your looking for another Hair Of The Dog you may be somewhat dissapointed with this latest offering from the band.There are a couple of blistering crackers on this album but all in all I found some of...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by AJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Guyz can still cut the mustard, 16 April 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
Superb, proper Rock 'n' roll. Sure it's old fashioned but when it's done this well then it just puts some of the younger competition in their place. Dan McCafferty's voice is a thing of wonder and is probably better with age than in the band's seventies heyday, and the production emphasises the excellent musicianship of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Lord - How I missed them !, 8 April 2008
By 
M.M.J. (Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
Last week, I could have sworn to be 48 years old. After buying this record, I`m 18 again. Believe me, this is what rock should do to you. Dance around your tipi and sing. Hell-Yeah !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Newz Nazareth, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
After all these years and line up changes and Nazareth can still cut it.They have proved that after 3O years they still can deliver the goods and rock with the best of them.With the renaissance of heavy rock this is definetely one to add to your collectin.Goin Loco opens and it doesn't let up through out. Stand out tracks are Liar , Enough Love .Road Trip and Keep on Travellin . Definetely one to add .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second only to "Hair of the Dog", 12 May 2011
By 
Mr. J. J. Tracey (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
I LOVED this album. I was lucky enough to go to the re-formation gig at the Alhambra Theatre in Dunfirmline (start of the Gathering tour) and it was magic. There are some really great rockers on here, together with some really good heavy metal tracks, and a couple of excellent rock ballads: Dan McCafferty is a genuine wordsmith. Particular favourite is 'Enough Love', which after a VERY difficult couple of years brought me (I'm not ashamed to admit it!) to tears, and I always like to play it for my wife, who helped me through those hard months.

Be warned, though, if you are a Manny Charlton fan, he does NOT appear on this album. I hear that Charlton also toured under the name of Nazareth for a while, but he and McCafferty / Agnew have gone their separate ways, and this album is the latters' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good effort., 15 May 2009
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
A good effort from a band well past their prime. The new blood shines through! Lets hope we don't have to wait 10 years for another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great comeback!, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Newz (MP3 Download)
Nazareth like old wine, year by year only better! New sound, young blood! Recommended for every Real Hard rock fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good News!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
Absolutely a positive surprise! Very good News from Nazareth Just like in good old time
this album best album from last 20 years. If your fan of Nazareth i recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Surprising Really...., 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
I bought this because I own a few of the old(er) vinyl albums which are superb. Thought I'd give the newer stuff a try.
I wasn't disappointed. Even though Dans voice isn't all it used to be he can still make a sound worth listening to and could still show a few of the young pups up. The guitars and drums are still just as strong and spine tingling as they used to be even if the line up isn't as recognisable. And The Gathering is a brilliant track and would have been at any time in their careers.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newz' [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Fine quality audio and video
I recommend everyone who enjoys a heavy sound

Otima qualidade de audio e video
recomendo a todos que curtem um som pesado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 years to long, 11 April 2008
This review is from: THE NEWZ (Audio CD)
love it track 3 liar wow ive seen these guys over 20 times hope to see them in usa or canada back to the NEWZ dont get track 13 but the whole thing is put together great some really hard sound on 5 numbers some are soft but over all GREAT lets hope its not 10 years till the next one keep rocking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE NEWZ
THE NEWZ by Nazareth (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews