Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend the RAC750 - Mains Powered Tyre Inflator
After having bought other tyre inflaters that run off the car 12v supply over the years and realised they are a waste of money ,RAC750 - Mains Powered Tyre InflatorI decided to buy the "Which Best Buy", and WOW was I NOT dissapointed. I went out and checked/inflated the tyres on both our people carriers in no time at all.
The only small fault I would say is the...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Birdy

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but inaccurate, badly designed and poorly made
As other reviewers have stated, you will have great difficulty simply getting the air hose on and off the tyre valves, a task made worse by the fact the hose is far too short. On a cold day with what feels like someone else's hands, it is simply not possible to pull the connector off a valve without losing two or more seconds of air. This is because the connector is of...
Published on 9 Nov 2012 by 10,000 Angry Vegans


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but inaccurate, badly designed and poorly made, 9 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
As other reviewers have stated, you will have great difficulty simply getting the air hose on and off the tyre valves, a task made worse by the fact the hose is far too short. On a cold day with what feels like someone else's hands, it is simply not possible to pull the connector off a valve without losing two or more seconds of air. This is because the connector is of very poor quality, and is very poorly finished as well. It is not metal like you might find on your local forecourt but cheap feeling plastic.

The gauge on the unit reaches to a stratospheric pressure nobody in the real world wants (300 psi) meaning the more ordinary numbers you do (20-40 psi) are crammed together at the start of the dial and are impossible to read accurately. A twitch of the needle covers a huge range of pressures and the unit over-reads by 10 psi when the pump is running, making it a game of switching the thing on/off to see when the pressure is right.

On that subject, pumping the rear tyre on my wife's car to 32 psi and then checking with an external digital gauge showed it had been over-inflated by almost 6 psi, and others here on Amazon alone have reported even wilder discrepancies. So it's outright dangerous too.

While it does do the job of inflating tyres very well, and being 240V - the main reason I chose it - you have no fear of draining your car battery, and while the pressure stays good, strong and constant throughout, it is dangerously inaccurate and broadly worthless because of that.

Ring is a British company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 23 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
This does what it says on the tin, but for the money, I think it could have had a pressure gauge, which you preset to whatever pressure you need and then it cuts off when it gets to it. The dial on the pressure gauge covers such a wide range that it's next to useless, as it's difficult to get an accurate read. Consequently, you need a separate pressure gauge, and need to keep taking the nozzle off to check it's the right pressure. Needless to say, every time you do this, you lose pressure trying to get the nozzle off and back on, and from the pressure gauge aswell. It's good at blowing up tyres, but so it should be for a mains compressor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


150 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend the RAC750 - Mains Powered Tyre Inflator, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Birdy (Derbyshire,England.UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
After having bought other tyre inflaters that run off the car 12v supply over the years and realised they are a waste of money ,RAC750 - Mains Powered Tyre InflatorI decided to buy the "Which Best Buy", and WOW was I NOT dissapointed. I went out and checked/inflated the tyres on both our people carriers in no time at all.
The only small fault I would say is the inflater pipe could be a little longer. It has a handy bag to carry it in also.. A great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by the fittings, otherwise OK, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
I bought this recently, partly on the strength of the Amazon reviews, so there were no surprises. The pump seems effective, reasonably robust and quite quiet. Beyond that, the gauge is almost useless: mine jumps to 80 psi as soon as it gets going then slowly edges up. This means inflating by guesswork, removing the hose and checking with a separate gauge. The hose and adaptor could be better. I expect that pushing them back in the storage compartment after every use may eventually cause fraying. It looks as though fitting a replacement would involve dismantling the whole unit as the hose mounting is through the back of the storage compartment. The storage compartment for the flex is also too small (probably designed somewhere where they use smaller plugs than ours.) Struggling to get the flex back inside is likely to loosen the connections over time, but again, it's mounted through the back of the compartment with no obvious access to tighten the connections or fit a replacement.

Although the RAC (Royal Automobile Club) does sell its own range of car stuff, the RAC in RAC750 stands for Ring Automotive Company. Nothing wrong with Ring - I can see their premises from my house - but it's worth knowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ring RAC750 Mains powerd tyre inflator, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
Whist it can and does pump up tyres etc quickly it has drawbacks
The pressure gauge is erratic, inaccurate, and cannot be preset, an accurate separate pressure gauge is essential
a long extension mains lead is required to connect it to the car tyres
it is difficult to put away the mains lead and plug back into its storage space
a metal tyre connecter would be preferable to the plastic one provided which appears flimsy
in use, the grey back cover keeps falling off but clicks back easily
tilting the machine whilst in use to read the pressure gauge affects it running smoothly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!, 28 Oct 2009
I was very disappointed with this product. For a start I had great difficulty getting the thing on and off the tyre valves and the air hose is ridiculously short. The pressure gauge is calibrated up to 300psi so the graduations are very close together and hard to see. After inflating a tyre to what was 35 psi on the built-in gauge I checked it with a digital pressure gauge (accurate to +/- .5psi) and the tyre was shown to be 9 psi over inflated. I also tried it out on my wife's car with similar results. Trying to pack the thing back in its case to return to the retailer for a refund was a right fiddle - there's not enough room for the power cord and plug to be stowed away easily.
A tyre inflator should at least be accurate and this one was wildly out.
I really wanted this tyre inflator to work as I detest going to the garage to check my tyres.
Oh well - back to the drawing board I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 27 May 2010
By 
Mark Crook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
It pumps air into things.... and that's it, really.

It's not terribly exciting, it's quite expensive for what it is, and you certainly wouldn't get any brownie points from your missus for buying one for her Christmas present, but the good news is it does what it's supposed to do very much better than the generally worse-than-useless array of 12v DC "plug it into the cigarette lighter socket" pumps.

Other observations:

1. I'd expected it to be quicker than it is, having read all the guff about inflating tyres in seconds, but it's not bad.
2. The inflation hose would ideally be about 30cm longer.
3. You can skin the back of your finger very handily while cramming the hose or mains cable back into the storage "holes". Don't ask me how I know this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
I bought Ring Automotive RAC750 because it had a good "WHICH" review. The compressor seems fine and it's neat and comes with its own carry case. I connected it to the mains and proceeded to inflate the first tyre on my car successfully ,however when I attempted to secure the airline fitting to the valve on the second tyre it fell apart splitting the plastic hole that held the spindle securing the valve to the air line. This part of the product is not fit for purpose and I am surprised it was made of plastic. My old foot pump has the same fitting made in alloy which has survived for 15 years. This product has been spoiled because of a cheap fitting, which brings me to question the reliability of the which report, I would have thought that they would have picked up something as plainly obvious as this. Looks like it's back to my old foot pump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but a handy tool, 6 Jun 2011
By 
R. J. Noy (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
Some of the previous reviews have been a bit harsh. It's true that the pressure guage is not accurate but you'll soon work out what adjustment to make. The carry-case is neat and ensures the machine stays clean and protected. The cable is NOT long enough so you'll need an extension lead to run out to the car from the nearest power point ... but we've all got one of those, haven't we?! I liked using it and it's compact, light and robust enough to even carry with you if you need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but a little bit fiddley, 1 April 2011
By 
FastHand (Harefield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC750 Rapid Air Compressor, Incl. Storage Bag 230 V Mains-Powered (Automotive)
I have never owned a tyre compressor but was fed up queueing at the petrol stations to fill up with air and also looking for an air machine that worked. I first checked out the Which report on tyre pumps and they recommended the ring rac 750 as they gave it an 80% rating. Also the the Amazon customer reviews were quite good.
I found that the cable is easy to connect to the tyre but once it has reached the desired pressure it is a litte difficult to remove and some air is lost when doing so. I found it easier to put a little more air in than required and with a separate pressure guage let a little air out to the required pressure. Also the guage would have been more useful on the top of the compressor as you have to get down on your knees and turn the compressor on its' side to be able to read it properly. The guage is only a guide as to how much air is going in and you do have to check the pressure with a separate guage after you have removed the compressor cable. The mains cable is difficult to restow as the stowage space is a little small so I have not bothered to restow it.
It does pump air in quickly and once you have got used to the idea of putting in a little extra air and then removing it with a separate pressure guage it should'nt take too long. I'm pleased I purchased it even if it is a little fiddley and no doubt I will get better at using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews