Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a moment too soon.
At last, after years of wrangling with the estate of Tim Maia, Luaka Bop have finally been able to release this compilation. My hard-to-find promo copy (minus front cover) was issued in 2008, but the issue ran into licensing difficulties with Tim's heir, Marcelo. The resentment from the estate about David Byrne & Luaka Bop's attempts to release this album (see the...
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by C. Slater

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like stuff like this, you'll love this.
I was totally fascinated by Tim Maia's story. It's sounded like something to file under 'crazy musicians life's' alongside Yahowha13 and Les Rallizes Denudes.
Unfortunately for me though, I was expecting the music to be as far out to match this backdrop.
What we have us a very high quality soul/groove album. Don't get me wrong, some of the tracks are great but...
Published 9 months ago by John J. Nicol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a moment too soon., 12 Oct 2012
By 
C. Slater "Chris Slater" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Psychedelic Classics 4: The Existential Soul of Tim Maia (Audio CD)
At last, after years of wrangling with the estate of Tim Maia, Luaka Bop have finally been able to release this compilation. My hard-to-find promo copy (minus front cover) was issued in 2008, but the issue ran into licensing difficulties with Tim's heir, Marcelo. The resentment from the estate about David Byrne & Luaka Bop's attempts to release this album (see the comments in Racional Vol 3 of the Abril edition headed "gringo cara dura") appear to have been finally sorted out.

It's been worth the wait, however. Featuring tunes from Maia's classic 70s period, including tracks from the Racional phase, this is an excellent introduction to one of the giants of Brazilian Soul. This is great music in any language, with a line-up of fantastic players, including Paulinho Guittara, Oberdan Magalhaes, and the sadly under-appreciated Robson Jorge on keyboards. The Racional stuff is truly wonderful, and the other tracks are a well-chosen selection of his best work from the early to mid 70s. My only quibble is with the version of Do Leme ao Pontal, which appears to have been remixed to edit out the singalong chant "tomo guarana, suco de caju, goiabada para sobremesa" It's such a integral part of the song, I can't imagine why they did that.

The packaging echoes the format of the recently released Tim Maia box-set from Brazil's Edicoes Abril - a gatefold sleeve containing a booklet with lyrics and other information. Typos & mistakes apart, it's really well presented. I don't know if this CD is being released in jewel case format as well, but the cover of my gatefold version differs slightly from the image in the advert. Maybe there are going to be variations to tantalise the collectors. Count me in!

In an ideal world Tim Maia would have the recognition outside of Brazil that he truly deserves. He stands amongst the greats of Soul. Hopefully this compilation will open a few more minds to his crazy, glorious music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Major Brazilian Artist is remembered., 18 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Psychedelic Classics 4: The Existential Soul of Tim Maia (Audio CD)
A beautifully presented retrospective of the neglected Tim Maia containing fifteen varied pieces of music representing Maia's obsession with love, sex and spirituality. It might be wise to add drugs to this list because some of the longer cuts such as 'Rational Culture' are essentially psychedelic in feel and composition. The departed Maia apparently lived life to excess and some of the music here is extravagant, joyous and life fulfilling. In most cases Latin and Brazilian grooves pertain and I defy anyone to keep their feet still listening to 'Do Leme Ao Pontal' and 'Que Beleza'. Great as these are though there's greater depth of feeling in the beautiful ballad 'Ela Partui' and the deeply moving deep soul of 'I Don't Care'. Maia was heavily influenced by American funk and soul and half the cuts here are sung in English with the rest in his native Portuguese. The CD is packaged lovingly in a lovely strong booklet that comes with full lyrics and an essay. This release was a joy from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 27 Sep 2013
By 
S. Williams (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Psychedelic Classics 4: The Existential Soul of Tim Maia (Audio CD)
Track 14 is just the best and most cheerful 12minutes of sound that has vibrated my tympanic membranes for many a year. The last couple of weeks I've been driving round with this on maximum volume, and it has had a good effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic album i just wish there was more from the great man on vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 21 Feb 2014
By 
G. Smith "mr.smith" (Den Haag Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Psychedelic Classics 4: The Existential Soul of Tim Maia (Audio CD)
A gem of a release and thanks Luka Bop for the perserverance and getting this to market. Love the music and the sentiment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like stuff like this, you'll love this., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Psychedelic Classics 4: The Existential Soul of Tim Maia (Audio CD)
I was totally fascinated by Tim Maia's story. It's sounded like something to file under 'crazy musicians life's' alongside Yahowha13 and Les Rallizes Denudes.
Unfortunately for me though, I was expecting the music to be as far out to match this backdrop.
What we have us a very high quality soul/groove album. Don't get me wrong, some of the tracks are great but the whole thing didn't lift off like I somehow hoped. And a few tracks go too far into the whole pop vibe. The whole soul thing isn't an area I venture into often/ever. My wife loves it though so thats a good thing.
As with all these reviews, all this says more about me that Tim Maia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews