Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAaaaggggghhhh
The game Warhammer 40000 Dawn of War is excellent as is the add on Winter Assault, but I found that the newer games Dark Crusade and Soulstorm take it to new heights. Not only do you get the chance to play new races but the new campaign system in both games is OUTSTANDING. I think that anyone who enjoys real time strategy games will almost certainly enjoy these four.
Published on 13 Aug 2009 by Brian Gilliland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad
The condition it arrived in was not very good the box was cracked in several places. I also had trouble making my online account and had to download two patches to make it work. I am also having trouble dowloading the soulstorm part for some unknown reason, so i am only able to play the first three; tried to get some help but the phone line they give you doesn't seem to...
Published 18 months ago by Loreny


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAaaaggggghhhh, 13 Aug 2009
By 
Brian Gilliland (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game Warhammer 40000 Dawn of War is excellent as is the add on Winter Assault, but I found that the newer games Dark Crusade and Soulstorm take it to new heights. Not only do you get the chance to play new races but the new campaign system in both games is OUTSTANDING. I think that anyone who enjoys real time strategy games will almost certainly enjoy these four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good fun...apart from Soulstorm., 19 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Firstly,I'll say that I love Dawn of War. I've only played it single player though, so I can't comment on the multi player side of things. The gameplay is fantastic and I love the gory close combat fighting when infantry clash with Dreadnoughts or other big nasties.

Winter Assault is a good buy for the Imperial Guard (Banblade heavy tank!) and the extra one player missions. A good little expansion.

Dark Crusade is a good buy for the the Tau and Necrons but I have to say I wasn't overly impressed with the one player campaign which is just a map based campaign without much story. And where are the cut scenes? Gone unfortunately.

Soulstorm promises a lot and just doesn't deliver. The campaign map is very similar to the Dark Crusade one, I was hoping for more frankly. The air units are lame and very similar to land speeders and there's still no cut scenes or real story to it. Also the loading times take an eternity (I'm talking well over 5 min to get back to the campaign map after a battle) on my PC, which matches the recommended requirements (yes I know it's old). Only pay money for Soulstorm if you desperately want Sisters of Battle or Dark Eldar to play with, or the new maps of course.

Overall the Dawn of War series is great fun. Just don't get overexcited about Soulstorm. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War: The Complete Collection, 22 Feb 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is just fantastic! it will keep you going for weeks if not months! i came across this game in a gold pack with company of heroes which is also awesome:) and i said im stuck on COH i might as well see what this is about and it is just amazing! WAY ahead of its time! 4/5 Stars

P.S. if your thinking of getting dawn of war 2 it isnt as addictive as the first as they took away many of the awesome game elements, whether your a mighty space marine, member of the imperial guard, traitor of the chaos legion, Fire warrior of the tau, heartless marauder of the necrons, Invisible guardian of the eldar, one of "Da Boyz" of the orks, A Warrior canoness of the sisters of battle or Dark Alien of the dark eldar! GET IT if your a strategy fan of Warhammer fan You will Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DoW pbuy, 16 Sep 2008
By 
James Minahan (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have bought every Dawn of War game they have released over the years and this one is by far the best. The reason to me it is the best as the older ones i own had lots of troubles running on vista but this game bundle installs and runs without any problems

Anyone who enjoys these games should buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars war, 11 Jun 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Glad it was what I expected like this a lot, good value getting all expansions for this price. And they all seem to run ok on windows 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10! Classic!, 19 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Amazing game! If you have never played it pick it up now! You don't know what your missing! The soul sisters expansion is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crackin game!, 6 Jun 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
A great pack, with all the races! Fantastic. Shame dawn of war 2 goes bananas and strays from the RTS basics :-(. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars space marines, 10 May 2011
By 
Haraga Georgeta (romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
one game, one expansion
and 2 free for alls expansions

you can fight and conquer with nearly all races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 25 Aug 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
When DOW first came out, it wasnt much of a game, but as the expansions have been added, particulary dark crusade and soulstorm this has grown into a truly great game, great fun for both fans of warhammer and for people who just love RTS games. This collection is brilliant contains the original game and the three expansions, winter assault, dark crusade and soulstorm. there is plenty in the box set to keep you occupied for days on end, great if you dont own any of the games and want them at a fair price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The DAWN OF WAR, 18 Mar 2009
By 
S. FORGAN (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
There have been a few attempts to recreate the tabletop game
Warhammer 40,000. Some have been ok,like the Chaos Gate.Others
have suffered like Epic 40k.Dawn of war has succeeded beyond
expectations. It captures the atmosphere perfectly and has won
awards for the gameplay. So if you have the urge to charge into
war in the far future with your battle brothers,buy this!
FOR THE EMPEROR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD)
Used & New from: £49.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews