Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAaaaggggghhhh
The game Warhammer 40000 Dawn of War is excellent as is the add on Winter Assault, but I found that the newer games Dark Crusade and Soulstorm take it to new heights. Not only do you get the chance to play new races but the new campaign system in both games is OUTSTANDING. I think that anyone who enjoys real time strategy games will almost certainly enjoy these four.
Published on 13 Aug. 2009 by Brian Gilliland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad
The condition it arrived in was not very good the box was cracked in several places. I also had trouble making my online account and had to download two patches to make it work. I am also having trouble dowloading the soulstorm part for some unknown reason, so i am only able to play the first three; tried to get some help but the phone line they give you doesn't seem to...
Published on 15 May 2013 by Loreny


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAAAAaaaggggghhhh, 13 Aug. 2009
By 
Brian Gilliland (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The game Warhammer 40000 Dawn of War is excellent as is the add on Winter Assault, but I found that the newer games Dark Crusade and Soulstorm take it to new heights. Not only do you get the chance to play new races but the new campaign system in both games is OUTSTANDING. I think that anyone who enjoys real time strategy games will almost certainly enjoy these four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good fun...apart from Soulstorm., 19 Aug. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Firstly,I'll say that I love Dawn of War. I've only played it single player though, so I can't comment on the multi player side of things. The gameplay is fantastic and I love the gory close combat fighting when infantry clash with Dreadnoughts or other big nasties.

Winter Assault is a good buy for the Imperial Guard (Banblade heavy tank!) and the extra one player missions. A good little expansion.

Dark Crusade is a good buy for the the Tau and Necrons but I have to say I wasn't overly impressed with the one player campaign which is just a map based campaign without much story. And where are the cut scenes? Gone unfortunately.

Soulstorm promises a lot and just doesn't deliver. The campaign map is very similar to the Dark Crusade one, I was hoping for more frankly. The air units are lame and very similar to land speeders and there's still no cut scenes or real story to it. Also the loading times take an eternity (I'm talking well over 5 min to get back to the campaign map after a battle) on my PC, which matches the recommended requirements (yes I know it's old). Only pay money for Soulstorm if you desperately want Sisters of Battle or Dark Eldar to play with, or the new maps of course.

Overall the Dawn of War series is great fun. Just don't get overexcited about Soulstorm. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War: The Complete Collection, 22 Feb. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is just fantastic! it will keep you going for weeks if not months! i came across this game in a gold pack with company of heroes which is also awesome:) and i said im stuck on COH i might as well see what this is about and it is just amazing! WAY ahead of its time! 4/5 Stars

P.S. if your thinking of getting dawn of war 2 it isnt as addictive as the first as they took away many of the awesome game elements, whether your a mighty space marine, member of the imperial guard, traitor of the chaos legion, Fire warrior of the tau, heartless marauder of the necrons, Invisible guardian of the eldar, one of "Da Boyz" of the orks, A Warrior canoness of the sisters of battle or Dark Alien of the dark eldar! GET IT if your a strategy fan of Warhammer fan You will Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DoW pbuy, 16 Sept. 2008
By 
James Minahan (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have bought every Dawn of War game they have released over the years and this one is by far the best. The reason to me it is the best as the older ones i own had lots of troubles running on vista but this game bundle installs and runs without any problems

Anyone who enjoys these games should buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 4 Oct. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
As this is really 4 games in one I will review one by one.

Dawn of War - I think is probably one of the best single player campaigns i have played , the variety of missions , everything was great the storyline was amzing a really good game !

Dawn of War : Winter assault - Didnt spend much time on this , playing as the imperial guard or the orks and neither did much for me , story not as good and frankly the missions at times just seemed unwinnable and took an age to complete

Dawn of War : Dark Crusade - Only played briefly as soulstorm had more races , introduces the campaign map type approach quite good fun but there are issues with the weighting of races which i will cover further down.

Dawn of War : Soulstorm - Spent a lot of time on this the campaign map has been expanded to be a mini solar system which you can spread through , the issue is the races again have all been changed in terms of weighting of units so you can only feasably win with one or two races.

Criticisms

The race weighting changes over the course of the games , what i mean by this is that some races have a huge advantage over others in the number of quality units they can recruit and deploy at any one time. Dark crusade is particularly frustrating for this as you simply cannot win against the imperial guard you come up against an army and there are 100's of guardsman backed up by 5+ lemon russ tanks and about 20 walkers , the tau who can outshoot most races on the game can't even cope with that kind of heat !

It does kind of ruin soulstorm a little aswell as the only races you can actually win with in my opinion following the resizing of unit allocations are the tau and the space marines , the issue is one of ability to destroy buildings i will appraise whats wrong with each of the races below

Imperial guard - following the reshuffle are really limited in the amount of tanks they can put in the field and this really hampers there offensive capabilites

Eldar - Unit costs (in terms of allocations) are high and the troops die easily , lack any real building killers

Orks - Units die way to easily and have very little access to any real building killers as they have no heavy tanks etc

Dark Eldar - Units die really easily , the ravager which is your only real anti building tank is very easily destroyed and your base troops dont have much in terms of powerups to assist

Chaos - A little more promising and i suppose if you changed the way you played the game you might be able to pull it off with chaos , the big issue for chaos is that the dark predators are very expensive (i think they are 4 or 5 unit points out of a total 20) and the defilers are great at blowing up troops and causing general havoc but they dont do much against the buildings. You are blessed with some mean looking assault troops and a staggering access to heavy bolters but the issue remains that you dont fight that many pitched battles in dawn of war so you need units that can destroy bases.

Necrons - Troops are really expensive , you will also die of boredom as a necron commandor as your only chance of success is to power up your monolith and hop it over to the enemy base and kick some ass this takes an absolute age to do.

Sisters of Battle - Their special weapons options are basically flamers or meltas , neither are that affective against buildings.

Space Marines - Limited in your unit choices however lots of access to missile launchers which do the damage against buildings , the space marines have progressively made worse over the course of the games , in dark crusade they are savage as you can field about 5 predators every time !

Tau - By a long and a far the best race on the game , the only negative is you have no access to defensive towers , this is generally not a problem as when you strike against the enemy you smash them to pieces. My standard Tau army is 3 crisis battle suits with missle launchers , 5 squads of tau troups with two commandors in each , 2 hammerhead tanks , 4 missle tanks. There is nothing on the game that can stand up against that fire power it is epic , the missle tanks in particulary are awesome their range and firepower is great and they have an upgrade which allows you to fire a missle burst if you have 3 or 4 of these tanks and do the missle burst against a group of enemies there doesnt tend to be much left.

Anyway i have rambled on a lot here but the game is well worth a buy because it gives the pleasure of warhammer in a much more accessible visual format !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
When DOW first came out, it wasnt much of a game, but as the expansions have been added, particulary dark crusade and soulstorm this has grown into a truly great game, great fun for both fans of warhammer and for people who just love RTS games. This collection is brilliant contains the original game and the three expansions, winter assault, dark crusade and soulstorm. there is plenty in the box set to keep you occupied for days on end, great if you dont own any of the games and want them at a fair price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like LOTR BFME 2 OR WARHAMMER YOU'LL LOVE IT, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I loved warhammer growing up but never took time to learn 40K just played LOTR, I had been playing LOTR battle for middle earth 2 and rise of the witchking for ages and loved them so thought i'd take a gamble on this.

Easy enough to install , after you install all the games when you load up SOULSTROM the last expansion it lets you use the armies from all the other ones, You can paint your armies , play a campaign or skirmish. IMO you should install ALL the games then play SOULSTORM as this has the most features

PROS

loved the visuals , warhammer fans will be in their glory
Easy enough to learn how to play
With Space marines, IG,Eldar,Dark Eldar,Chaos,Tau,Necrons,Sisters of battle theirs plenty of choice

Cons

Campaign is crap , its slightly better on soulstorm but overall a wasn't that excited playing it.
Its not the games fault but i wish there were either buy on packs for more armies etc , similar to call of duty or more mods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
When playing the first one for the first time i loved it, then i thought i may aswell buy the whole collection and they didn't disappoint well...

When opening the product i first started installing all 4 games onto my PC, It took a little while but never the less they were installed fine. Then i tried all of the add ons apart from Soulstorm and the Dawn Of War worked perfectly, Winter Assault worked perfectly, Dark Crusade worked perfectly and then i went onto Soulstorm and that's when i was dissapointed.

When wanting to open and try out Soulstorm I get a notification saying " This version is incompatible, upgrade to windows 2000 " something along those lines and i was very dissapointed because im not going to downgrade a few windows just to play it.

Apart from the dissapointment from Soulstorm, the games are fantastic, great campaigns to last you a long time, good graphics when put on high, and overall great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, hours of gameplay., 23 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is the full package, has hours of gameplay, plenty of races, and does not need to have a supercomputer to run it.

I have installed these games onto my hp g62 laptop and they work fine, but the frame rate dips when there are loads of units on screen.

The two expansion packs make the game feel more impressive adding 5 new races to the original 4 races in the first game, making 9 in total.

The campaigns are long but this just adds to the value for money but with the skirmish and multiplayer modes these games will keep you going for hours.

If your a fan of the Warhammer 40k universe or just a fan of real time strategy games, this is the most complete seris of an rts and should not be missed, great value for money and plenty of hours worth of gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War : The Complete Collection, 25 Oct. 2011
By 
N. Graham "Nick - Kolya" (U.K. / R.U.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD) is a very good buy as Dawn of war is a great game although make sure you have a reasonably good computer otherwise you may have issues with running Dark Crusade and Soulstorm. The games can get a bit boring because it is generally rather repetitive and the air combat advertised for Soulstorm really is not that impressive although the bringing in of The sisters of battle and Dark Eldar make up for this. Overall this product is well worth the money and is a fun game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawn of War: The Complete Collection (PC DVD)
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews