Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic album
Here Die So Fluid have crafted a marvellous second album that matches their early verve demonstrated so capably on their first effort, the superb Spawn Of Dysfunction. But it goes beyond that, to explore new ideas and styles that impose themselves more with each listen. From the ear-rattling early riffs of Gang Of One to the the classic singles like Existential Baby (what...
Published on 28 Feb. 2008 by James

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but a bit samey
There are some quite decent tracks on this album, with a lot of energy, but it gets a bit dull when listened from start to end, with a lack of variation, which can be tiring. There is a strong base, and very wordy lyrics. Sometimes I yearned for a decent melody, or chorus with a few well chosen words rather than a seemingly endless stream of words. I would also have liked...
Published on 13 Mar. 2013 by Dr. L. Goodwin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic album, 28 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
Here Die So Fluid have crafted a marvellous second album that matches their early verve demonstrated so capably on their first effort, the superb Spawn Of Dysfunction. But it goes beyond that, to explore new ideas and styles that impose themselves more with each listen. From the ear-rattling early riffs of Gang Of One to the the classic singles like Existential Baby (what a great song that is), from the aural punch that is The Kiss And Then The Kick (The Circus Of Sin for this album) to the throwaway punk of Something To Say, through to the epic closing tracks like Throw You Away and the title track, this rarely disappoints. Regardless of the subject matter, DSF always provide fantastic, thoughtful lyrics which are also, perhaps just as surprisingly, clean. No bad language here.

Of course they're still massively under-rated by most people. It's nice to hear a British band like this that can actually hold a candle to some of the better names from across the Atlantic, unlike most of the dross that plays on our radios these days. This is an early candidate for my album of the year, and if you like any kind of hard rock, emo or metal in the slightest, you really have to hear this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but a bit samey, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
There are some quite decent tracks on this album, with a lot of energy, but it gets a bit dull when listened from start to end, with a lack of variation, which can be tiring. There is a strong base, and very wordy lyrics. Sometimes I yearned for a decent melody, or chorus with a few well chosen words rather than a seemingly endless stream of words. I would also have liked more lead guitar, as I have the sense that the bass and words dominate. Even Motorhead had a strong lead guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had heard of them sooner, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Free Spirit "shilo115" (North Wales, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
I came across Die So Fluid when Killing for Company supported them and actually will be supporting them early 2011. They are such a great band, I wished I had heard of them previously. The lead singer is classically trained and you can tell by her strong vocals. Their last band "Feline" was equally good although I find the Die So Fluid albums rather more punky.

Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
Don't normally listen to women singing heavy rock, but this just works. Especially the signature track "Not everybody gets a happy ending" And the first track "Gang of one". Found this band on spotify and bought the three albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I DID!, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
P. Cowen "metalig" (gateshead,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
yep the title song is awesome! very happy with it! there a re some very creative elements to some of the songs on here which take a bit of getting used to if you've only heard the first album but it is still an awesome album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Desperately Disappointing Predict-A-Thon', 17 Aug. 2009
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending (Audio CD)
Having heard 'Test Confessional' and the excellent, powerful-if familiar sounding (can't quite place what it reminds me of but...) 'Existential Baby', I was suitably impressed to buy this album. Sadly however, 'Die So Fluid' turn out to be very much a 'one trick pony' and 'Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending' soon gets tedious and predictable in the extreme.

A LOT of the tracks run to the same formula...start with a moody softly sung bit, break out into a feedback guitar driven fest and a shouty vocal and then quieten it down again only to repeat the dose. Yeah, its fine for a few tracks and you can rock out to the first three songs but the quality of the songs goes down hill anyway from there on and, unless you are a dedicated head banger, you will soon get bored.

I do feel though, that the title track COULD have been something quite special with a bit more thought. Lyrically it is quite strong but, after a refreshing beginning with kids singing in the background and a bit more of a subtle touch, the band can't resist turning up the volume again and we head back to predictable land.

I would definitely advise you to have a good listen to this before you purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending
Not Everybody Gets A Happy Ending by Die So Fluid (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews