Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Odd but Very Good!!
I loved "A fever you can't sweat out" to a point where I drove everyone mad constantly playing it, my 7yo groans everytime he hears a certain song from the album.
After considering it for a few months I decided to get "Pretty odd", now I knew it was going to be alot different to their debut album but I wasnt sure how different.
More playing & less electonics,...
Published on 21 Jan 2009 by Jay Doubleyoo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Emu Than Emo
With 2006' 'A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" Panic at the Disco produced a strong debut of racey, witty, knockabout
rock songs spiced with occasional vaudevillian twists which had me tapping my toes and singing along (....ok, tapping my paws and howling along). With songs like 'The Only Difference Between Marytrdom and Suicide Is Press Coverage' and
(deep...
Published on 22 Mar 2008 by The Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Odd but Very Good!!, 21 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
I loved "A fever you can't sweat out" to a point where I drove everyone mad constantly playing it, my 7yo groans everytime he hears a certain song from the album.
After considering it for a few months I decided to get "Pretty odd", now I knew it was going to be alot different to their debut album but I wasnt sure how different.
More playing & less electonics, great!! The fellas seem alot calmer, less angry in this second outing.
Odd does'nt always have to be a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure talent!, 27 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. Eales "chriseales" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
I was really surprised to see so many negative reviews here on amazon. I love this album. Yes it has a very different sound to "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" but all the ingredients that make them such a great band are still there. The creativity is there, the melodies, the intelligent lyrics, the humour, Brendon's strange but great vocals, and the songs are just as complex and original (although I think they may have been spending a fair amount of time listening to the Beatles, which is no bad thing). There are plenty of horns, strings, harmony vocals, and the songs are fantastic and just like the first album they have a tendency to grow on you as you listen to them again. Great second album from one of the most talented bands around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well. It's different., 24 Jan 2009
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
Yes, it's a 180-degree turn-around from the first album. But nobody can say that Panic have sold out or gone mainstream. How many bands are releasing classic rock albums right now? This is, in my opinion, even more unique than their debut, which sounded different than what other bands like them we doing at the time (like Fall Out Boy), but not as different as this is. You can't ask a band to write songs that they don't like and don't want to write just so that they can produce an album exactly like their first one. Besides, they couldn't produce another Fever, because it was too unique to be done twice. They knew with this album that they might alienate a lot of their huge fan base. And they decided to do it anyway, because the music is more important to them than being famous. That should be something to be admired for.
Their lyrics have also changed. In my opinion, Ryan Ross is one of the most creative lyricists that has ever lived. Who else could think of the lyrics in Behind the Sea? You can listen to that song and just step into the world that they've created. But they've gone from writing angsty songs about everything to happy songs about nothing. About half of Pretty. Odd. is about whimsical stories that they made up or the weather. But who says that all songs have to be about something? Time to Dance, a favorite from Fever, is about a book.
You aren't going to like this album on the first listen. I've never met anybody who has. But most people didn't like A Fever You Can't Sweat Out on the first listen, either. Give it a chance and you'll start to realize that it's an amazing album. Sure, there will always be fans that only like Fever because this just isn't a genre they enjoy. And yes there are some things that I miss from Fever (like the fact that the huge instrumentals draw attention away from Brendon Urie's amazing voice). But a lot of people will like this as well if they listen a few times.
It's also nice to hear
Best songs:
Nine in the Afternoon
That Green Gentleman
Northern Downpour
When the Day Met the Night
Folkin' Around (despite the title)
Mad as Rabbits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 14 July 2009
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
`We're still the same band' sing Panic at the Disco on the opening track of this album. Well, they are the same people but the music couldn't be more different. Same band? Not at all really. As the ratio of one star/five star reviews attests, this has split people down the middle.

I'm firmly on the `good times' side of the fence. The first album was a good and solid emo/indie album with a higher than average success rate but Panic have subsequently torn up the past and released `Pretty Odd' - an album as far removed from their debut as can be. I personally believe it is a far superior album as well.

Heavily influenced by the late 60's albums of The Beatles, Beach Boys, Who etc this album blends pop nous and melody with traditional (American) folk stylings. That they pull it off rather well is a strong testament to the abilities of the band. A lot of the songs are well crafted and incessantly catchy (I have had the `Waves of Wooden Legs' refrain stuck in my head for what feels like an eternity!). Lyrically it is witty and intelligent and evocative. All in all, it is a bold, fresh album - one eye on the past another on the future. A big risk for a second album certainly, but one I am very glad they took.

Stand out tracks: Pas De Cheval, That Green Gentleman, Nine in the Afternoon, Folkin' Around & Dou You Know What I'm Seeing. In fairness though, this is an album devoid of obvious filler - all the songs here are worth listening to. Kudos to the band for doing something so unexpected.

At the time of writing this album is less than £3.00 - so now is the time to take the punt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty....Odd Return For Panic, 1 April 2008
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
Well it's been a while for P@td and so much has changed for them over the past few years, selling their massive debut, 'A Fever You Can't Sweat Out' and then out of the wordwork comes 'Pretty. Odd.' The new sound which needless to say is VERY odd as panic splinter off defiantly casting the shackles of the emo and showing there love for the sixties....you think im kiddin right? Nope I'm not! This album sounds like something like The Beach Boys and The Beatles which might be a scary concept however dont fret, as this album is scarily very good!

Lyrically its more creative and very imaginative but tends to lack a clear idea of what Ryan trying to say. However this aside musically...in my opinion (this wont suit everyones tastes THAT is a guarantee) it is musically compelling and a very brave return from the quartet.

'We're So Starving' is the first offering as the band proclaims 'You don't have to worry, because we're still the same band'.....(considering, they removed the !, musically and lyrically changed but still know how to make an impact), however that aside its a bold start to the album which leads onto the hit single 'Nine In The Afternoon' which is so damn catchy and bouncy!

'That Green Gentleman' where the album title came from is very addictive and boisterous and catchy as hell, with Brendon and Ryan harmonising too which works well as they both have amazing voices! Other little gems on the album 'She's A Handsome Woman' and 'From A Mountain In The Middle Of The Cabins' are as catchy as hell and will so remind you of the sixties quite easily.

But the ones which do it for me are 'Pas De Cheval' and 'Mad As Rabbits' as they are so positive and music is simply a delight to listen to, beautiful guitar riffs and solos and probably the highlights on the album as well as a beautifully sung 'Behind The Sea' which will bedazzle you with Ryan's amazing voice and vocal range. As well as 'Northern Downpour' a beautiful ballad to throw in the mix

However some other songs may be comical such as 'I Have Friends In Holy Places' and 'Folkin Around' are good but miss the mark unfortunately which is one of the major letdowns of the album.

All in all, a pretty......odd return for the quartet! Some will love this new sound and some will absolutely loathe it, but give it a chance cause it's worth a listen =]

Best Tracks: 'Pas De Cheval', 'Mad As Rabbits', 'Behind The Sea'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Emu Than Emo, 22 Mar 2008
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
With 2006' 'A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" Panic at the Disco produced a strong debut of racey, witty, knockabout
rock songs spiced with occasional vaudevillian twists which had me tapping my toes and singing along (....ok, tapping my paws and howling along). With songs like 'The Only Difference Between Marytrdom and Suicide Is Press Coverage' and
(deep breath!)'There's A Good Reason These Tables Are Numbered Honey. You Just Haven't Thought Of It Yet' it
immediately became apparent that PATD had both chutzpah and musical imagination aplenty.

Two years later and their second offering 'Pretty Odd', The Wolf is sad to report, is a distinctly shabby affair.
It's a Magical Mystery Tour without the magic or the mystery. Bland melodies, lame lyrics, shoddy musicianship, and poorly integrated orchestral arrangements stand in as testament to a lost muse.

The half-decent single 'Nine in the Afternoon' is slim pickings when compared with the car crash atrocities of 'Middle of Summer', 'Northern Downpour', 'Pas De Cheval' and 'Mad as Rabbits' and the Sesame Street banality of 'She Had the World' and 'From a Mountain in the Middle of the Cabins'.

If they have a third album in them I hope that Panic at the Disco can find their way back to the inspiration and energy which propelled their fine first offering.

Somehow, however, I'm doubting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Odd and Pretty Good., 5 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. J. E. Green "Music Fiend" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
I can see why fans of A Fever You Cant Sweat Out have rejected this, at first i was not keen and only liked a few tracks but after some more listens i thought the melodies and musicianship were great! My favourite track is "Behind The Sea". I really do think that if you're going to purchase an album no matter who writes it, sings on it or plays on it you should definitely check it out beforehand on iTunes or search on Youtube to see if anybody has uploaded every song, what with the cost of CD's now this is a better way to buy something you really will like and cherish. I think Panic at the Disco went in a good direction, casting off all stereotyping of the annoying "Emo" label, but that might be just because they wore make-up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo relaxing., 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
This album is literally one of the most pleasant things I have ever listened to - it's a world away from all of Panic!'s other albums as all of the tracks have a much calmer vibe to them. This is one of my favourite albums by Panic!, though it is quite different to all the others. Bit reminiscent of the Beatles.
Loaded onto iTunes perfectly fine - it's now on my iPod.
My favourite track is probably "Do You Know What I'm Seeing?".
I'd recommend this album to anyone who enjoys music - just not as an introduction to Panic! At The Disco as a whole, this album is just a part of what they can do.
Thanks for reading. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grows on you, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. Charlotte Harley (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
I have to admit when i first heard this album i thought it was a load of rubbish but i think that's because of how different it is from their first album. However after listening to it for some time, i couldn't live without it. It calms me down, cheers me up and makes me think. I love it and i can only urge you to give it a chance and not to be put off by the differences between this and "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty. Different., 3 Oct 2008
By 
C. Boyes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pretty. Odd. (Audio CD)
This is not 'A Fever You Can't Sweat Out'. That's the point. If you are expecting the same album reproduced then you may as well stop now.
If you are willing to give something new a try then pick this up. If you like the 60s sort of sounds that are starting to become quite popular again then this is worth a listen.

It takes a few listens to realise how good this actually is, but its worth it when you get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty. Odd.
Pretty. Odd. by Panic! at the Disco (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews