Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the girls
Finding that a book is listed as 'Paranormal Romance' and has a half naked man on the cover (or should that be half a naked man?) could be off putting for some men, the idea of Tolkien writing for Mills and Boon comes to mind with all the revulsion that that brings. Please, do not let it put you off of this book, this is the start of what promises to be a darn fine...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by B. G. Biddle

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Stop living through your heroines
I liked the storyline - i thought it was great idea for a book,and then bought it! i liked the heroine in it until she started to become politically minded- this is when it was almost as if you were sitting with the author while she gives you her opinion on how to put the world to right! It was extermly offputting and distracted from the whole idea and romance of the...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the girls, 7 Feb 2007
By 
B. G. Biddle "Willibald" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finding that a book is listed as 'Paranormal Romance' and has a half naked man on the cover (or should that be half a naked man?) could be off putting for some men, the idea of Tolkien writing for Mills and Boon comes to mind with all the revulsion that that brings. Please, do not let it put you off of this book, this is the start of what promises to be a darn fine fantasy series.

The story revolves around eight brothers, all powerful mages who, fitting an ancient prophecy of doom and gloom have been exiled to a lonely existence on Nightfall Isle from which women are forbidden on pain of death. For if Saber, the oldest of the brothers, falls in love disaster will follow...

No prizes for guessing that a woman is magically transported from another world into the brother's midst to set the prophecy in motion.

The book has a strong cast of main characters and some interesting ideas on the use of magic. Throw in some very original creatures and Ms Johnson's careful story weaving and we get a vision of how the brother's lives in exile are turned around by the clash of cultures - magical and non-magical and the greater divide of male and female. When the inevitable happens the disaster that follows is not what you would expect were this an average fantasy - but you'll get no spoilers from me.

This book is set to be the first in an octology, each book detailing one of the brothers fulfillment of their verse in the prophecy. I know many people will want to get book two to see how the teaser at the end of this first book develops, but personally I want to see how other events are resolved which will probably be in book three.

If you still don't think you can justify buying a 'romance' story then get a copy for your wife or girlfriend and read it when she's not looking. I'm not ashamed to say that I read my wife's copy, but there might be a fight as to who gets future instalments first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book one of the "Sons of Destiny" series, 1 April 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the eight brothers of the Corvis line appear to fulfil the "Song of the Sons of Destiny" prophecy, they find themselves exiled to Nightfall; an isolated island, by the King of Katan and his Council of Mages. Knowing that it may be impossible to contain such eight powerful mages, the Council also decree that any woman found on Nightfall will be punished by death, as the prophecy will only come true as each brother finds his destined wife.

This book centres on the eldest son Saber "The Sword" and his battle to fight his growing feelings for Kelly Doyle, a sassy human transported from her own dimension when Morganen the youngest yet most powerful brother witnesses her dying when her house is set on fire. With the skills of another brother Koranen, they manage to heal the badly burned Kelly, yet if she is the prophesised wife of Saber, disaster will strike should they consummate their relationship.

This book has an almost overwhelming amount of characters as JJ introduces each of the eight brothers; describing their different appearances, magical abilities, personalities and how the prophesy will affect them.

Saber the Sword (exiled Count of Corvis)
A mage of weaponry, he is destined to bring disaster to Katan if he falls in love.
His twin Wolfer the Wolf
Mage of hunting and shape shifting, he already loves someone but was separated from her when exiled.
Dominor the Master
A great mage in all areas, his future wife will match him in will and mind. Dominor is the brother destined to control his own fate.
His twin Evanor the Voice
Mage of song, Evanor is destined to meet a lonely heart.
Trevan the Cat
Able to shift into any animal form, Trevan is destined to hunt and capture his future wife.
His twin Rydan the Storm
A mage of night and weather destined to fall at dawn to the woman he loves.
Koranen the Flame
A master of all things associated with fire, his destined wife will control him with water.
His twin Morganen the Mage
Master of all magic, he is more powerful than even his brothers realise. Morganen is destined to set in motion the events of the Curse and of course does so by matching Kelly with Saber. Only after his seven brothers are matched will he be able to claim his own destined wife.

I thought this book was great, with plenty of action, magic, nasty beasties and romance. OK it is a little convenient that Kelly was in a Middle Age Society back on Earth and therefore able to adapt quickly and easily to a Mediaeval world full of magic, and she does become somewhat obsessed with her self appointed role as alpha female; spending a large amount of time in this book verbally sparring with and bullying the eight brothers. Despite this, I still found Kelly a likeable character and am certainly eager to find out how she will adjust when the next brother claims his destined wife. Hopefully the presence of another female will calm her down.

I've just ordered "The Wolf", the second book in the "Sons of Destiny" series and eagerly await the third book making it into print, "The Master" due for pub Sept 07. This book was a great find and I hope the remaining brothers' stories make it into print soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the sword, 4 Jun 2008
By 
C. East "ce345" (plymouth,devon,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When i started reading this book i was skeptical and didnt know what to expect from it. As i continued to read it i became glued to the story of the eight corvis brothers exiled on nightfall isle and i felt as if i was part of the story and there lives, living,loving,fighting and feeling that anything is possible if you just try. i cant wait to read the last four books of the Sons Of Destiny i am thouroly griped and i have to say it is a must read for anyone who feels that true love is dwindling in there hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...worth a look, 15 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and I think it's a great premise for a paranormal romance series. Personally I'm getting bored of all the 'hard ass female meets sexy, dangerous vampire' ilk so this was quite refreshing. It has a nice mix of romance, magic and suspense. The eight brothers are all...well, delicious, each mage with a destiny to be fulfilled in every book. I really loved the brotherly interactions, sometimes they had me laughing out loud.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars was I wasn't too keen on Kelly. I think the character was over the top and bossy. It just annoyed me when she kept saying 'a Doyle does not ...blah blah' She was basically the 'all singing and dancing' female. Not only did she happen to have vast sewing and embroidery skills, she was an amazing cleaner, she could do martial arts, she could use weapons...yeah, there is more.

Aside from that I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of the series especially Dominor and Rhydan....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The first stone is cast in this top-notch Fantasy-Romance series, 27 Aug 2008
Quote website Jean Johnson:
Eight brothers, born in four sets of twins, two years apart to the day-they fulfill the Curse of Eight Prophecy. To avoid tempting their destiny, the brothers are exiled to Nightfall Island, a land where women are strictly forbidden. But, when the youngest of the mage-brothers rescues a woman from another universe, their world is altered forever.

Jean Johnson takes me on a journey across the universes and I descended on Nightfall Island where I met eight utterly seductive Mages. Four sets of twins that have one prophecy to fulfill. The Song Of Destiny is written by the Seer Draganna over a thousand years ago and is about to complicate the life of the eldest Mage, Saber.

With Morganen rescuing Kelly from Earth there is a female on Nightfall Island now, something that is strictly forbidden and Saber isn't a happy camper about it. A woman on the Isle sets the prophecy in motion and he will fight it every step of the way. It is safe to say that Kelly and Saber didn't hit it off right away. Nevertheless, how can one fight his own Destiny?

THE SWORD casts the first stone in this new series from Jean Johnson and it contains the caliber of top notch Fantasy-Romance. It will keep many a reader fascinated with the presented overall story arc as the individual romance story of each twin is told. Not only are their eight distinctive different Mages to get to know, there is also an Island with a castle that holds an exuberance in magical details to explore. For me as the reader it felt like standing in front of a display window full of the most enticing chocolates, and I was almost unable to avert my gaze from what was put in front of my eyes!!

Saber, as the eldest, is a gruff and stubborn man that refuses to start the fulfillment of their Prophecy. So subsequently he tries to resist the pull that Kelly has on everything that is man in him. Their encounters are hot headed ones, full of invigorating discussions where - in the end - there is no true winner and where passion flares. Do not make the mistake to hold Kelly for a petite damsel in distress and though she needs help, she will do anything within her strength to pull her own weight around the castle. She has a whole new world to discover and through her eyes I got a spectacular view of the rooms, the furniture and the Island outside. In this I can only celebrate the vast talent of Jean Johnson's imagination. I heartily feasted on every page and before I knew it I was wholly absorbed in a new world.

Saber and Kelly continue to bicker, circle around each other and it turns into the realization that deeper feelings are hidden by the fast retorts and flammable discussions. I enjoyed the romance and my heart soared at a ceremony where Saber was on the receiving end of all my appreciative feminine sighs. Though I do feel the romance had a hick up here and there concerning the development of feelings it is but a minor thing in the grand scheme of the story!

If there was one thing that was a bit "off" for me it was Kelly's attitude at times. It is one thing to be headstrong but I felt it was almost like "my way or the highway" with Kelly regarding certain things and the twins gave very little resistance save Dominor, who in turn got to "eat dirt" for his effort. In the beginning - as I got to know Kelly - it gave friction between her and me but in the end she was the right woman for the right Mage. Kelly also intertwines a feministic point of view to the story regarding the position of women on Earth and compares it to the treatment of women in this new universe. It adds to the true nature of her and I wonder what she will do once she meets the leaders of Katani.

Though Kelly and Saber are quite the couple there are also seven brothers who will demand your attention. From the meddling Morganen, to the competitive Dominor, to the brooding - night bound -Rydan and all brothers in between it will almost give you an overdose of highly alluring men...almost. Jean Johnson hit the right note in character and plot development where the atmosphere of magic, evil and romance is just about in a perfect balance and will do nothing short of giving you an astonishing read. With the climactic ending the author ensures to keep me succumbed to the last page and clinging to every word. As I closed this book I'm already thirsting for more and I'm glad THE WOLF can be found on my bookshelves giving me a one-way-ticket back to Nightfall Island.

The evocative voice of Jean Johnson delivers an impressive debut novel in her Sons Of Destiny series.

Quote:
Kelly - "Diplomacy is the art of saying, `Nice doggy,' while reaching for a big stick.

Saber to Kelly - "All that I have, I give into your hands. All that I am, I lay at your feet, for I am yours, Kelly, and yours from this day forth."

Reviewed by Leontine
Courtesy of Realms On Our Bookshelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stop living through your heroines, 3 Feb 2009
I liked the storyline - i thought it was great idea for a book,and then bought it! i liked the heroine in it until she started to become politically minded- this is when it was almost as if you were sitting with the author while she gives you her opinion on how to put the world to right! It was extermly offputting and distracted from the whole idea and romance of the book. It was i believe the author expressing how she would like to be herself through her writting, this is backed up by the rest of her books as the next 2 books have a more fiction like heroines as it should be, yet still a large part of the future books are deicated on the authors dream of herself "Queen Kelly" ruler of everyone on the Island, "Queen Kelly" whose ideas and opinions are better than all the natives regardless of religion and culture, "Queen Kelly" self-elected head to all of the other women. If i had to live with "Queen Kelly" i would definately be calling for the right to exercise my vote.

This is for people who like debates and may agree with her opinions, such as the sterotipical veggies who you meet at a party and then want to bore you with it all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More than 3 stars, less than 4, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I normally devour books in 24 hrs. This one im still battling with. It was good at start, 8 brothers with a curse hanging above their heads, each one finding their fated bride, the first one summoned from Earth and destined for bro number 1...all good till it approached the "crescendo" battle. Then the 8 brothers of destiny and bossy 1st lady of the castle, started sweeping and tidying instead of prepearing for battle. It took ages to distringuish the 8 brothers who are 4 sets of twins with different powers.
I felt that the characters lacked contradictions and conflicts. Despite the very attractive chest on the cover, it is not as sexy and hot as i expected it to be. Neither did it have mad action, fast paced scenes and suspense. It reminded me of a less dark version of the first C. Feehan carpathian book i never managed to finish, and the first of the Nightwalkers books I never managed to finish either.
Shame for the chest....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sword? BORED, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. C. M. Hughes (shropshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I feel I must first apologise as I love reading and it truly pains me to say a bad word about a book. However everything about this book is a lesson in deception from the beautiful buff body on the cover to the 'could have been great' storyline. The characters seem 2D and grossly underdeveloped. Any trial or tribulation is swiftly solved by the brothers magic as they seem to be able to do everything. As does the ever annoying Kelly- she can sew, clean and drop kick a buff 6ft magician in the face*. Again makes the story a little too handy and easy. Boring. Also tiresome is the amount of blushing that goes on. Seriously. If you do go on to buy this book enjoy the adonis on the cover but give the pages a miss- you have been warned...

*slight exaggeration. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing the entire Sons of Destiny series - warning for minor spoilers, 15 Jun 2010
By 
E. R. Welsby (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite the somewhat corny premise (eight brothers are all prophecied to fall in love and marry, in order from eldest to youngest no less, bringing disaster along with their brides) this is a gripping series which is every bit as enjoyable for its plot and worldbuilding as for the romances.

The stories aren't just about people falling in love - there is an arc taking place over all eight books, showing the formation of a new nation and the foreign threats endangering it. Johnson has covered as much of the detail of the work involved in creating the new society as she could without detracting from the plot or boring her readers - the creation of new laws and social customs, the building of a new city, trade with other nations, and efforts to gain a new Patron Deity for the kingdom. There's plenty of drama too; invasions, kidnappings, murders, and various other attacks from the enemies of Nightfall and its inhabitants.

The romances themselves are well written - each character has a distinct and individual identity, and the couples get together in a variety of different and interesting ways. The dynamics also avoid the usual romance-novel sterotypes. There are no submissive women here, not even in the bedroom; even the often timid Alys is capable of asserting herself and definitely doesn't let her lover rule her. Likewise, the men are not alpha dominants - well, Dominor arguably comes close (his book is entitled "The Master") but he is paired with his equal who masters him as easily as he does her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 10 Aug 2007
Emerging new series. Masterpiece. Remains to be seen if following books in the series keeps up to expectations, either way this one is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews