Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More QI goodness
Hurrah Series 2, us QI fans have been waiting a jolly long time for this to appear and finally it has arrived.

QI is the sort of show that makes you proud to be British, it is practically Victorian in its straddling of the line between the sublime and the ridiculous. If you have never seen this show before here is the basic premise. Steven Fry (bless his Gieves...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by LettyBIRD

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are too bloody expensive
Love QI but they are taking the p**s - some of these volumes are years old now - no DVD is worth nearly 20 quid You'd expect to pay 2 or 3 quid for this stuff from about five years ago. The guests carry it, (Alan sits there like a drunk cat) and quite well in fairness a lot of he time. ITS TOO BLOODY EXPENSIVE.
Published on 9 April 2012 by Barry Wom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More QI goodness, 18 Mar 2008
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Hurrah Series 2, us QI fans have been waiting a jolly long time for this to appear and finally it has arrived.

QI is the sort of show that makes you proud to be British, it is practically Victorian in its straddling of the line between the sublime and the ridiculous. If you have never seen this show before here is the basic premise. Steven Fry (bless his Gieves and Hawkes socks) asks questions about... well practically anything (each series is linked to a letter of the alphabet, series one unsurprisingly is the letter A) Alan Davies + 3 other panelists try to answer those questions not only correctly; but interestingly, avoiding the pitfalls of urban myth (for example: no centipede has ever been found to have 100 legs the closest is 96)

The great thing about Qi is that those taking part are of a higher calibre than the usual panel game, they never appear to be there just because they have a book to flog or have just left the Big Brother house and are tenuously clinging to the dying seconds of their fame.

Each episode brings some new delight to amuse and amaze your friends.

Buy this DVD if for no other reason than it will make you are more interesting person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These are too bloody expensive, 9 April 2012
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Love QI but they are taking the p**s - some of these volumes are years old now - no DVD is worth nearly 20 quid You'd expect to pay 2 or 3 quid for this stuff from about five years ago. The guests carry it, (Alan sits there like a drunk cat) and quite well in fairness a lot of he time. ITS TOO BLOODY EXPENSIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real comic gem, 15 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
How wonderful to see the BBC finally giving up complete season box sets. At least with QI. (Now just do the same, Auntie, with Mock The Week and I'll be your fan for life).

QI is one of my favourite comedy shows. It lacks the smugness and sometimes unpleasant undertang of meanness that comes with Paul Merton and Ian Hislop in Have I Got News For You (I enjoy HIGNFY but prefer the sight of panellists just having sheer fun with each other and obviously loving every minute that you get with QI and MTW). And watching Stephen Fry - the walking encyclopedia - expound on fascinating facts is a wonder. His sheer love of language and facts sweeps you up in his enthusiasm every time.

Alan Davies plays the patsy and foil to Fry very well and is often very amusing. He's never been my favourite comedian, but in this he shines. I love the way the panellists banter with Fry and each other, especially when they tease Fry about his upper crust manners and drive him to exasperation at times, like a frustrated schoolmaster.

I'm delighted to finally see season two arrive. Here's hoping the Beeb brings out the others, post haste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real Grower!, 1 April 2009
By 
Matthew Critchlow (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The format of the panel quiz show is rather tired, but this is almost irrelevant to the success of this program (who the hell keeps count of the scores anyway?), it's the running jokes, the sparring, and the crossover or sometimes lack thereof, of the panelists, which keeps you watching.
So on that level this series is better than the first, and I hope it continues to grow on me, but for the whole 26 years?!
It will be fun finding out...
One note - the titles and credits are awful (both visually and musically! - very early 90's) - come on chaps, even the DVD menu was classier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry has done a brillant job, again., 16 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This show is just brilliant, it has the best comedians on it and as always Steven Fry shares his intelligence with no trace of being condescending. Alan is great in it too but for his boyishness.

As for the one bad review on here, I looked at that persons other reviews and it's clear that that person is a troll just looking for attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blazingly brilliant but.........., 18 May 2008
By 
N. J. Littler "Nickster" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The DVD packaging has changed from series 'A' which had the letter on the spine. I was expecting the 'B' series to follow suit keeping a nice uniform row for the 26 DVD series........ or perhaps I have been watching too much QI !
Mr Fry, Mr Davies and crew are all on tip top form in the actual shows so worry not about the content, but the DVD menu is not as classy as series A.
Roll on C, D and E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "QI is a Queer Idea", 1 April 2008
By 
Gareth Franklin "Monsieur Ugine" (Ugine, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I recently bought this to while away the time whilst I'm in France...and I haven't been able to stop watching it! The whole series is sheer brilliance, with the guests being better than ever (especially Bill Bailey) and Alan being just as stupid as ever (thinking Dara O'Briain's name was an anagram of diarrhoea). Add to that Stephen's put-downs (usually aimed at Alan), and you get one of the finest DVDs available on DVD...buy it now and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love QI, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Without a doubt the most interesting quiz show on TV. I only wish they'd put the other series out on dvd, I'd like to have more than the first 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a very funny DVD. I only wish they would release the remaining series so I can watch them also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The wittiest and most knowledgable people I ever "meet" on TV, and they make me laugh out loud every time and often through the whole program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008]
QI: The B Series [DVD] [2008] by Stephen Fry (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £6.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews