Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value advanced mobile phone
The LG Viewty has been available of a while now and this re-branded version from Vodafone has been named Viewty Lite. Mine came from Prepaymania within two days and I was very pleased with the service I received from them. The package is light on a couple of accessories, namely the stylus and the PC connectivity software CD and it appears too have been re-configured to...
Published on 30 Jun 2009 by K. J. Ruxton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LG Viewty
The phone itself is very good, but when I ordered it I did not realise it was locked, hence the expense of unlocking it. It also did not come with the stylus, so I have had to buy this separately and most phone shops do not sell them separately. So I did not really save anything by buying from this company. Hence the three stars.
Published on 6 Jun 2009 by Joan Downes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value advanced mobile phone, 30 Jun 2009
By 
K. J. Ruxton (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
The LG Viewty has been available of a while now and this re-branded version from Vodafone has been named Viewty Lite. Mine came from Prepaymania within two days and I was very pleased with the service I received from them. The package is light on a couple of accessories, namely the stylus and the PC connectivity software CD and it appears too have been re-configured to mainly use Vodafone's over-the-air services. Fortunately, if you want to download and synchronize your own files, music and outlook information, the software is available for download from the LG UK website. Connecting to the PC software greatly extends the usefulness of this phone. Contacts can contain very detailed information (including photos) but, unfortunately, Calendar events are limited to 100 entries (although, usefully, it can be synchronized to show events six months ahead and two months past) and it's not possible to display any attached notes. Tapping the Music icon displays your music tracks in the usual Artist, Album, and Track order. The music player itself, activated by selecting an individual track, was a bit disappointing with its limited play options. This was a shame as the audio quality through the supplied earphones was some of the best I've heard on a small portable device. The speaker output was positively room filling. Call quality was fine and Video calls (if you're in a 3g area) appeared very stable.

The display is very bright and works well in strong sunlight. The touch screen is very positive to use with its vibrating feedback. I found the menu layout, after initially being a bit confusing, became surprisingly easy to navigate. The phone allows various input methods for messaging and memo writing, including handwriting recognition (stylus required). The best method I found was the virtual QWERTY keyboard which, considering its size on the display, was surprisingly large finger friendly.

All the usual facilities (Calculator, Converter, FM Radio, etc.) are included but this phone is all about the Camera (or maybe it's this Camera is all about the built-in phone). At 5mp, with a multiple digital zoom, and a myriad of features, it's very versatile and the image quality is excellent. All the settings and option buttons are located on the touch screen display making it less confusing to set-up that special shot than many dedicated cameras. What's even better is that images can be edited to an amazing degree on-board before downloading or sending them. The same is true of the Camcorder with its own movie editing program built-in.

Although this phone has been superseded by the `Viewty smart', I think for the low price it still provides all of the essentials required for daily use. It still looks fantastic and, as well as being able to store copious amounts of personal data, comes with a very high end camera instantly ready for use.

However, it does seem a bit mean not to include the PC connectivity software (especially as a USB cable has been supplied) so 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy me! i am brill!, 27 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
after buying this brill phone from the carphone warehouse, i sort of was expecting it to break. after reading other reviews, who wouldnt? after getting used to the touchscreen, i explored. i could change the settings easily, and customize it brilliantly. after a couple of days, i was happy for it not to have broken like everyone had said. i have had it for quite a while now, and love my phone! buyitbuyitbuyit! (P.S. the battery is really good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the money, if a little thick, 30 Sep 2009
By 
SAP (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
This is an excellent phone. But you pay a price in battery life for all the features you get on it. I used to have a very low-tech Nokia that basically just had phone and text functions and you could go three weeks without a charge! With this beast you have to charge it about once every eight days with moderate use. The most impressive features for my money are the five mega pixel stills camera, video camera, mp3 player and mp4 player. It does some "blue tooth" and internet access stuff too but I don't use those features. It also has a second VGA camera that faces the user so you can use it as a sort of mirror or to make video calls! Cool! However once you've (usually accidentally) switched to this camera all the settings for the main camera switch to lowest resolution and size. So that's an inconvenience.

I like the panoramic and slow-motion modes for the stills camera and video camera respectively. They are really excellent features. With panoramic you take three photos lining them up roughly with one another and then the camera stitches them together for you. It works roughly. They never seem to stitch together EXACTLY, but it works nearly enough. The slow-motion video camera does exactly what it says it does. I took some really fun photos of jumps into swimming pools and birds eating at a garden bird table and nut bag. Obviously there's no zoom facility; that would make the handset too cumbersome. But it DOES have a Schneider KREUZNACH lens, which is supposed to be good, and it has a shutter speed of ISO 800 and an image stabiliser.

Only slight problem I found with the camera is that in hot weather (in the summer) the whole phone seems to crash (or freeze) after you've taken a photo which means that you have to pry open the casing and remove and replace the battery to boot her up again! Another irritating thing is that when you switch on the mp3 player for the first time each day and try to select an album or a track you see that there is NOTHING in the memory and you get this message: "Music file was downloaded. Will you update track list?" You accept and then have to wait about 60 seconds as a progress bar zips back and forth. Presumably it is transferring the files from the memory card (2GB, which is the maximum it will take) to the phone? But why does it want to do this each time? It is irritating.

Transferring files between the handset and your computer is simple enough once you've done it once, but there are some pitfalls. You have to go deep into menus and sub-menus and sub-sub-menus to find "USB connection mode" and then select either "mass storage" for everyday use and "data service" to transfer things. Or is it t'other way round? One of them works. Also you have to fiddle about with mp3 file types or sizes as it won't accept some from your computer. The software package for your computer isn't very user friendly either. It takes some tinkering around to get to grasps with it. Apart from that this phone has all the other basic features and you can listen to songs in loud speaker too! Apparently that's important for some people. Though it does sound tinny then. Your songs are also grouped into albums and artists, too, which is handy and not just randomly. Also like the touch screen and the keyboard you can use to write texts! The stylus is a bit girly, though. I have the black version.

As with all touch-screen phones it is quite a challenge to use them in strong sunlight, but I'm sure wherever you are it wouldn't be too much trouble to find a bit of shade to use the phone. The touch screen is also very accurate and sensitive. You really only have to touch the screen, not press it at all, to get it to work and even for fine finger work like when you bring the keyboard up for typing a text it is still perfectly acceptable to use your finger instead of the ungainly stylus. Talking of texts it is a bit unintuitive that the delete button is the physical cancel button on the phone and not one on the touch screen. That does take some getting used to. The handset isn't exactly slim either.

Buy it without delay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LG Viewty, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The phone itself is very good, but when I ordered it I did not realise it was locked, hence the expense of unlocking it. It also did not come with the stylus, so I have had to buy this separately and most phone shops do not sell them separately. So I did not really save anything by buying from this company. Hence the three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 29 May 2014
By 
S. Clifton "Sam Clifton" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
This is probably the best phone I have ever owned! It was reliable, I never had any issues with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill Phone., 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
This phone as been out years now but i did have it when it first came out. It is simple to use, can use the internet on it as well, very basic, camera is pretty good. only problem i had with this phone was that the side bar was very small so it was hard to drag up and down without clicking on a file. Overall it is a great phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basic touchscreen phone, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
After owning this phone for a while now, I can say that its about as basic as smartphones go. No wifi means you have to rely on a 3g connection for browsing/email, which isnt too good when you are on payg. Severe lack of apps or any decent download. MP3 player is ok. Camera and video are good, the quality from the 5mp lens is excellent with lots of options/menus to play around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Functional, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
The phone itself is functional but awkward to set basic functions. The contact list is overly complicated with no search function.

The seller did not clear the phone of content as it was delivered with full memory, contacts and even soft porn photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lg ku990, 27 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
every one keeps forgeting to mention the lg ku990's best points for a start let me tell you that its the best phone ever made as you can also plug it into your pc and its able to transfer the internet onto your pc i screamed the house down in shock then i called my land line service provider to disconnect and now all i do is get a five pound internet top up that lasts a month on 3 net work and never have to ever again buy broad band for my pc and never ever get bills love my ku990 to bits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LG Viewty 990i, 16 Jan 2010
This review is from: LG KU990 Viewty KU990 (Electronics)
New LG Viewty Lite Silver Camera Phone on Vodafone PAYG

I think that the LG Viewty is an excellent phone. Because of its steel outter shell it feels very high quality, like an expensive camera..

I think the touch screen - my first ever - is very good and works well though some of the media you can access such as BBc news does kind of overwhelm the little screen a bit!

If it has any downside at all for me it has to be the camera. I cannot understand why all the fuss about the SK lens - I thinks its rubbish im afraid. I have had 1 and 2mp phone cams that take better pictures - talk about soft focus! Little detail and very soft images, especially in low light and artificial light situations.

Things do improve in natural daylight however. Its still not as good as my first samsung slide phone from yonks ago which only had a 1.3mp lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews